We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overprized and spoiled juice”
Review of Cafe Ali Cumba

Cafe Ali Cumba
Ranked #5 of 5 Dessert in Banos
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overprized and spoiled juice”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went in because of the inviting exterior and nice decoration inside. The chatty owner told a lot about the food but she'd better not. Because now we knew what to expect and it was nothing of that. (Not a warm sandwich out of the oven and no good white cheese). And my fresh juice was of rotten oranges so had to returned it. They 3 of us ordered a different sandwich and all of us didn't really like it

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    43
    28
    32
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you're into cafes, stop into Cafe Ali Cumba. It's an adorable little café in Banos that seems both quiet and leisurely. The first time my boyfriend and I walked into the place, we saw an Ecuadorian family celebrating a birthday--what a wonderful sight to behold! The next time we went in, we were greeted by the owner, who very much wanted to make us sandwiches even though we insisted on only ordering drinks. Regarding the owner: she seems very proud of her little café, and who could blame her? She's got a wonderful little business in a wonderful little city (I'm jealous!). Anyway, I ordered a chai tea . . . it wasn't the best chai tea I ever had and it didn't even come with a lid, but I certainly wouldn't hesitate to go back and order it again (or maybe even try something else). Perhaps next time I'll order a sandwich, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPsRECs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great relaxing atmosphere for a cup of coffee or tea”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place has a really nice relaxing feel. The entire cafe was SUPER clean and there was a super comfy sectional couch to sit at when we sipped our coffee an used their Wifi. Totally recommend this place on a rainy day (like today).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kublaishive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best lunch/breakfast in ecuador!! The one you are desperately looking for.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

While 4 weeks traveling with our kids, It was pretty hard to find a good lunch bar with sandwiches. Well: This is the best place in ecuador!! Fresh baked warm good smelling baguettes, tastefull warm melted cheese or other filling and a topping of guacemole, tomado and cucumber. The smoothies with fresh fruit are delicious. All vegetables, fruits and smoothies are washed with mineral water (I am pretty scared of eating/drinking those things in ecuador with kids, but I looked into the kitchen and it was very clean inside).
Portions are very big, so it is worth the price It takes some time to get your food because all is made fresh.
In the afternoon we came back for the banananut muffin, the chocolate cake and carrot cake with an delicious cappuccino.
We came back Three times, all 3 times I ate something different and all 3 times it was excellent.
For me it is location nr 1 in ecuador for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Floor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banos
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Owner should change her demeanor”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great sandwiches and a good atmosphere, however the owner has NO conception of suitable customer service. If she were nice and hospitable it would change her business around for the better. A bit of advice on catering to tourists:
- Don't throw the customers' change down on the table
- Try not to be so mundane and negative towards us (remember, the customer is always right)
- Keep language and negativity to a minimum
- Smile and be hospitable, otherwise it is uncomfortable for the customers to enjoy their experience
- Don't fish for praise. Everyone has their own opinion, and it is uncomfortable/overbearing
We won't be visiting again, even with good food and internet, not worth feeling overwhelmed and not comfortable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ali Cumba also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Cafe Ali Cumba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing