We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience!!”
Review of Cafe Ali Cumba

Cafe Ali Cumba
Ranked #5 of 5 Dessert in Banos
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An experience!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Highly recommend this place! Lovely sandwiches and tapas....service is a little slow but worth it, wholesome and good food! The owner is a real character!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Murr-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    41
    28
    31
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee and food”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great homemade bread for breakfast and excellent coffee (expresso, chai tea, latte, etc...). Would definitely be back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You want to eat here but the owner makes it impossible.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This cute cafe makes their own bread, muffins and grounds their own coffee! When we first arrived to banos we were super excited to eat here, however that all changed. Our group stopped in the cafe two days in a row to get chai lattes. Though the product was good we were constantly badgered by the owner to buy more, especially the sandwiches. We honestly would have returned and eaten because the muffins and lattes were great but her constant nagging and pressuring for us to eat there was uncomfortable. It was to the point where she would stop us on the streets asking if we were coming to eat the sandwiches. If you don't mind being bothered while eating it's worth the stop, otherwise stay far away!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeaceLoveTravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place to relax in Baños”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent a rainy day at this cafe. The food was delicious with fresh baguette and veggie sandwiches. The muffins were hot and also delicious. Best chai and mochachino in Baños too! The owner was witty and charming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro
2 reviews
“Here's the thing.”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Okay. Here's the thing. Ali Cumba does have good food. No one is disputing that. But, at least the female owner of the restaurant (because we did not visit the now-defunct 2nd place and did not encounter the husband) ruins the experience of visiting this restaurant. Ironically, the owner hijacked us and spent our entire breakfast experience moaning about the fact that people complain about her in this review site. Honey, face the facts: Business IS personal. When you saunter over to us and invade our space and moan about your employees and the reviews you receive on TripAdvisor, why don't you take a nanosecond of your 14-hour day to REFLECT on the fact that you are losing business DAILY by alienating your customers with your moaning? Dear god, this particular spiritual issue is so painfully obvious that it is annoying to have to waste your time in posting.
Lady. You serve good food. Now shut up and serve it! Just give people good customer service, lower your prices a bit, and stop over-watering them with your menu every time they walk through the door. If you do all that, your great food will sell itself. Meanwhile, you are grabbing the wheel and steering this ship directly into the depths of hell.
My 2 cents.
p.s. Great coffee.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelyeehaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ali Cumba also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Cafe Ali Cumba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing