We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Floresta - a top pick.”
Review of La Floresta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Floresta Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“La Floresta - a top pick.”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is one of the better hotels in Ecuador and it is centrally located: we walked from the Banos bus station to the hotel which is a 10 minute stroll through the downtown and got acquainted with the streets. Other wise a taxi should cost about $1. Quick access to restaurants, shopping, activities, laundry, and thermal baths. It's a $1.50 taxi ride up to Piscinas El Salado, one of the baths where, on a clear morning you have a clear view of the active volcano Tungarahua; you can take a taxi back to the hotel, but it is an easy 30 minute downhill walk back into town.

The rooms are spacious, contemporary, clean, comfy and cozy and the hotel is tastefully decorated. While the hotel looks newer, it retains a traditional look with rooms positioned around a lush garden. Breakfast is ample with the regular local fare plus great percolated coffee! Staff were consistently helpful and friendly. It is obviously well managed and I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    103
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
60
123
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Raised and traveled with 4 sons, travelling with teenage girls very different - need amenities that boys would not consider important. La Floresta was an excellent choice, large well decorated rooms, lots of hot water, great breakfasts, good internet and wonderful gardens and great fireplace in the lounge. Staff were friendly and helpful (extra towels). They arranged tours for us and taxis when needed. They made our stay most welcoming.
Highly recommend and will stay there next time for sure!!

Room Tip: All the rooms open onto a common court yard and those that back onto road might be a little noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

La Floresta was lovely. Room was beautiful, with a little balcony overlooking a courtyard with plants. Bathroom was clean, service was great. They even allowed us to use their laundry service on the day we were checking out and allowed us to pick it up afterward.

The breakfast that is included was delicious. And they have a cute little gift shop. The wifi worked great for me, but was patchy for my boyfriend.

Best hotel we stayed at in Ecuador, hands down.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noeliasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

After traveling in Ecuador for over a month, I stayed at La Floresta with my teenaged son for two nights...it was one of the best hotels I've stayed at. Beautifully decorated with native textiles and art, warm and clean rooms and hot showers, delicious breakfast, and super helpful, friendly staff. They went above and beyond; as in storing and retrieving our luggage before and after we checked out but didn't want to have our bags, making reservations for us, bringing me a drink from their bar after we'd already checked out, and more. - Michele, USA

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at La Floresta while adventuring in Baños. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel was excellent for accessing everything in the town - including the hot springs which are just along the road. The courtyard area and hammocks were a lovely bonus for relaxing at the end of a busy day!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elleenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel was recommended by a friend and it lived up to its expectations. Location is less than 10 minutes safe walking from the parque in the centre and from the bus terminal. The location is quiet and safe, just around the corner from the Mariane mediteranean restaurant. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and the bathroom is spacious. Good supply of hot water. A very good buffet breakfast with lots of fresh fruits, eggs, cereal etc. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Yes, internet is sometimes a bit variable. Altogether, great value and I will definitely come back here at my next visit!

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel was very clean and beautiful with gardens and hammocks. The location was splendid. It is walkable to the bus station, most of the restaurants and tour agencies. We felt very safe, I had deposited my cash, credit cards and Passports in their safe locker facility when we went out for the Jungle and other activities. It was returned safe. The breakfast Buffet in the morning is repetitive but really good. You have croissants, scrambled eggs, butter and cheese everyday. Coffee too. The down side was the internet connection. which was ok on my mobile but very slow or sometimes no connection on my Macbook.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickzyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
1.3 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
1.1 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Floresta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Floresta Hotel

Property: La Floresta Hotel
Address: Montalvo & Thomas Halflants, Banos 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Floresta Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME to La Floresta Hotel, a quiet place near the mountains which has a family-like environment. Here you can enjoy a stay that combines traditional architecture with nature. The rooms are located around a beautiful courtyard - a garden with wide corridors that will allow you to be transported to an atmosphere of peace and relaxation along with the spectacular view of the mountains that surround us. It will be a pleasure to have the opportunity to be your hosts during your stay at LA FLORESTA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your La Floresta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing