We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
155
3
0
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
3
0
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 161 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2014 via mobile

Great stay at this lovely guest house. Owners very friendly and helpful, and the bread made for breakfast was delicious! If you get chance go to Casa De La Abuela...it's a great walk up if you are hikers (alternatively get a taxi) and remember to take your camera for some great shots swinging over the valley! Also Santa Ana thermal baths are great...it was just us and the locals.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank TurtleTravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2014

If you want excellent hosts, super clean rooms and bath, comfy beds,good value, pleasant surroundings, and easy walk to town, stay here! We had a wonderful stay for three nights last week. It is easily the best B&B in Ecuador and probably my most favorite stay in any B& B anywhere. The prices are extremely reasonable (they are usually quoted as per person so confirm room total for your own awareness). Make sure you purchase the breakfast with homemade breads and crepes. Delicious! This B&B truly deserves the number one spot in Banos for reasons stated above. Thank you Aase and Ove! Our stay was wonderful.

Room tip: There are only two rooms in a quaint little casita behind the main house. One room has two beds and the other room has one bed. Both are decorated nicely and has everything you need for a comfortable stay.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank geebee1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2014

We loved our stay at Magic Stone in Banos. Ove and Aase are magical hosts. They accommodated our family of four in the Red Room. The rate was very reasonable and Aase made us excellent breakfasts each morning and even arranged for our taxi pickup on our departure day. We would love to stay there again on our next trip to Banos.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

After three days at Magic Stone, we did not want to leave. The hosts are fantastic and do everything in their power to make you feel at home. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. But the best thing is the breakfast. Everything is homemade and the quality of the food is superb. Order everything you crave for, pluss a bit. You won't regret it!

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank simenakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Magic Stone and it was great. It is literally 5 minutes walk from the center of Banos- a safe walk also at night. It is clean, spacious, quiet, cute and I felt very safe. It is also in the safe part of town from the volcano :-) The breakfast is the best. Everything is home made and organic (as much as possible) - try the dark bread - the very best version of the Danish "rugbrød" - Rye bread but here without rye! Aase and Ove are really sweet! We went on a great hike in the highland jungle (a secret place with no other tourists and almost no other people either) for 20 dollars per person which is half of what other tours we are going on costs. We saw a rare bird that bird inthusiasts go to Mindo to see and only see there if they are lucky. After the hike Aase served the best cake ever. Aase and Ove lived really interesting lives and have great stories! They know a lot about things to do around Banos too - like a great viewpoint.

Other tips to Banos:

Great cheap mexican food: A lo mero mero, corner of oriente & alfaro. Try the beer Biela (the ecuadorian beer that is not the pilsner)

Casa hood: martinez & halflants across from the vegetarian place. Really nice people and the best veggie lasagne - even my meat loving boyfriend loved it. Cheap.The half ecuadorian half american daughter of the owners runs around with her pet duck.

Arte cafe & te: pancakes & really good coffee. Oriente & 12 de noviembre.

Tours: waterfall pailon del diablo. Bus from alfaro & martinez goes strait there. Or rent a bike and go - 18km downhill (bus back up)

El salado - best hot springs!

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claudialt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews