We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ditto to everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Stone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magic Stone
Ranked #4 of 42 Banos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ditto to everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We arrived in Baños with one of the famous Ecuadorian stomach bugs and we so relieved to be at the Mgic Stone. As soon as Aast and Ove found out they bent over backwards to help us get better taking us to doctors, bringing food to our room and generally being our surrogate parents.

The room was amazing, comfy bed, AMAZING bathroom with the best water pressure in 7 months and yes, you can flush the TP. It got better in the morning when we walked across the yard for breakfast of freshly baked breads, amazing crepes and fresh fruit and juices. You will not get better value anywhere in South America and definitely won't find friendlier hosts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
96
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at the Magic Stone for 6 nights over the Christmas period. We were greeted by our wonderful hosts Aast and Ove and immediately felt like we were home. We stayed in the gorgeous red room that is tastefully decorated with fine furnishings, art and quality fixtures and fittings..the best we've found in our 5 week stay in Ecuador thus far. After our first night's sleep on the orthepeidic mattress and under the Danish dooners, we woke refreshed and ready to spring into our Banos adventures.

Magic Stone represents great value at $30 p/n and for a little extra, you don't want to miss the yummy breakfasts. The crepes, danish rolls, and freshly brewed coffee are the best you will find in Ecuador.

Apart from the fine lodging and quality breakfasts, my husband and I agree that it is the hosts themselves that make Magic Stone an incredible place to stay. They have been in Banos for 25 years and are a wealth of information on the best places to visit and the best tour operators to use. We took their recommendations for horse riding and taxi service to the waterfalls and monkey refuge and were delighted with the service. We also spent an interesting day in the jungle with Ove who shared his wealth of knowledge and love of Indian culture..this is a must do experience.

Magic Stone is perfectly positioned just out of the main town, yet only a 5 min walk to all the restaurants, shops and nightlife of Banos. You are guaranteed a peaceful night's sleep and will be delighted to wake up every morning and look toward the jungle to see what the weather is going to be like for the day (something we learn't from Ove). It is also a comfort to be opposite the city evacuation centre, should Vulcan Tungurhua decide to get nasty!

Thanks Aast and Ove for your exceptional hospitality,
Tracey and Mark Slocum.

Room Tip: The Red room has a loft with an extra double bed, handy if you have kids or just want to stretch out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaleHoiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

My Wife and I stayed here in Sept 2011 for 7 nights. Magic Stone is truly a magical place to stay - a place full of love and harmony. One of the accommodation highlights of our trip in South America. Ove and Aase are truly inspiring people who have many interesting stories to tell. There are only 2 rooms which have been beautifully decorated with plenty of space and very comfortable. It is on the edge of town and so escapes from much of the noise of Banos but still only a short walk to the center. The little touches made it even more special - like bringing us Popcorn on a rainy day :-) The breakfasts are amazing, particularly the home made Danish breads. We went on a trek with Ove into the jungle which was great fun. We would stay here again for sure. If they could do anything at all to make it better for travelers like us - it would be to install a wireless internet connection.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeepeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed 5 nights at Magic Stone and had a brilliant time. The room was clean and tasteful. The owners Ove and Aase really looked after me, providing with me advice on tours and hikes, but also on many aspects of Ecuador in general.
The guest house is at the edge of town, very quiet. It can get quite busy and noisy in Banos, especially on weekends so I enjoyed the quiet.
Breakfast is good (all home made) but can get pricey if you choose too many of their tasty options. There are also good breakfasts in town so try both.
I would definitely stay in Magic Stone again.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. Both good choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hardy_Schw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We happened upon Magic Stone thanks to our wonderful Ecuadorian guide, Juan Cevallos. What a joy it was to spend two nights in the pristine and comfortable rooms offered by Ove and Aase in what amounts to a guest house across the walled-in courtyard from their home. Magic Stone is located on a very quiet road at the edge of Banos but within walking distance of downtown.

This little inn offers breakfast for an extremely reasonable per item fee that allows you to build your own meal. Our two couple group had breakfast there both mornings we stayed and found the fare generous and delicious. Breads and pastries are homemade, coffee is fresh-brewed and excellent, eggs are prepared to your liking, an array of cheeses is available, orange juice is fresh squeezed, and the fresh fruit salad is a meal in itself. Best of all, breakfast is served in Ove's and Aase's charming and sparkling home and is accompanied by lots of great conversation.

Aase and Ove (who hail from Denmark, but have been in Ecuador for many years) couldn't have been more welcoming. Ove is very knowledgeable of the local flora, fauna, and culture and served as our guide on a delightful morning-long jungle hike for a nominal $15 per person. During the ride to and from the trail head, he provided detailed information about local culture and geography.

We found Magic Stone to be an exceptional value and an experience that left us with warm feelings and a desire to return.

Room Tip: Magic Stone has only two rooms. Our two couple group rented both and found them clean and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I spend a couple of days in the luxurous red room of Magic Stone. Although the weather wasn't good (rain rain rain) I had a really good time in Baños thanks to Aase and Ove. They created a great place and are just great themselves: warm-hearted and welcoming they made me feel home from the very first moment. If you get the chance take the opportunity to adventure the nature around Baños with them. And you should definitly try the breakfast with home-made bread, juice and pan-cakes. Theres no better breakfast in Ecuador!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

It was total luck finding this amazing place! We happened to call the night before and they had just gotten a cancellation so they said it was open. When I realized that there were only 2 cabins (and we needed both) I felt blessed. But when we got there and saw just how amazing this place was... and for the same we were paying for a total dive in Riobamba, we were thrilled. The couple is Danish and speak great english (not a requisite for me, but it was a nice break!) The rooms are really great with one room having a loft with a second bed. The bathrooms are of the quality you would expect from a Danish couple.... super clean and with georgious fixtures. Shower was not... though sometimes the water temp would fluctuate. A small flaw in what was otherwise a perfect gem. Will definitely stay again and recommend early reservations as this place should become popular quite fast. We also took the bike ride down the mountain toward Puyo, which I highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quesoviejo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
7.3 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Donde Ivan
Hotel Donde Ivan
#17 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#3 of 42 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Stone

Property: Magic Stone
Address: Calle Ambato | El Campamento de los Pinos, Banos 0059, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place is located in the far end of the main street, towards the waterfall. Ask for: "Campamento Los Pinos" Magic Stone is a great place to relax, with hammocks in the garden and amazing views. If you need information about tours in the area etc, we are here to help and you can order our famous breakfast with homemade bread and jam, fresh pressed orange-juice,crepes, fresh ground coffee/tea,scrambled egg ect. everything in best quality.Magic stone make day-trips only for our guests to a special place in the highland jungle where nobody else are coming, and to a very low price.We look forward to see you here in Magic Stone. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing