We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, fine young owners”
Review of Posada del Abuelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada del Abuelo
Ranked #25 of 45 Banos B&B and Inns
Raymond
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, fine young owners”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Stayed for two nights which is enough to see Banos unless you plan outdoor adventure, ie. hiking, biking, horseback riding, bungee jumping, etc. The hotel itslelf is a 1940's vintage, former summer home. The owners are in the process of updating the rooms and baths. As is, the rooms are basic but comfortable. The room wall have been painted with interesting murals and there is art hanging in the common areas. Breakfast and dinner are included in the price and both meals are first class. The menues vary daily and they will accomodate special diets. Dinner is prepared in the outside dining area on an open wood fired grill as you wait and watch. (There is also an inside dining room). The four course meals are made with local food but prepared with the flair of a french chef.
The young owner speaks excellent english and is pleasant, knowledgable and always available. The owner and the meals make this place special. You couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    19
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
38
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We were booked into this hotel through our adventure tour (ROAM) it is a lovely budding boutique hotel filled with eclectic art and run by a hard working young couple. The outdoor kitchen served amazing food. Danielle recommended a local massage therapist and best times for the hot pools which are a block away. These local serves coupled with the multiple hammocks in the garden encourage a languidness that is hard to attain these days. We could retire here!

Brad, Frances, Jairus (15) and Wesley (12) Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Amazing hotel located in a historic colonial style mansion near the thermal baths. Great location with lots of charactor. The owners are young, friendly English speaking Ecuadorians who can provide valuable information about the area. They also serve the best food I have ever had, increadable five course meals for dinner and a real breakfast is included in the full price tariffs, but other options are also available for those who want to venture out for dinner. Extremely safe and friendly environment, can't say enough good things about the hotel, definatly worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samueltripp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We've stayed here for 2 day's. Lovely hotel, good food, verry nice staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We felt very welcome in this hotel. What makes it special is host, the great location, the perfect cuisine and te relaxed atmosphere. You can sit outside by the bar and enjoy a nice drink. We were not satisfied about the bathroom. It is old and the toilet had some problems flushing. When this is renewed it's is a perfect stay for the price that is asked for!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naunbriones, Manager at Posada del Abuelo, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Simone1980,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your critics. It help us find our strengths and keep focus on the right direction, but it also help us identifying the points where we need to work to improve our guest experience, which is our primal aim. We apologize for any inconvenient you had during your stay, regarding our infrastructure. We are continuously working to improve our grounds, little by little, as our business grows. All the property´s toilets will be renewed in 2011, as part of our annual grounds improvement program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranana israel
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We spent 4 months in Banos. We are two adults and a baby. We experienced many guesthouses and mini hotels in Banos and we can defiantly say that casa del abuelo is one of the most pleasant, beautiful and homey that we have seen. The owners speak excellent English (also Italian and French) and you will find there the most amazing dinner in the area!!!
Just go there! No doubt!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

This is definitely one of those place you feel like home and don't want to leave, breakfast and dinner were great, in the sunny garden or at the outdoor bar with chef cooking next to you, with high class products, so delicious!
The owners are very friendly and charming and we enjoyed a lot talking at the bar, and the mansion is a beautiful place and it's such a privilege to stay there, the rooms are very comfortable, so are the hammocks in the garden!
I was happy that the first place I chose was full so I got the chance to stay here...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knikidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Petite Auberge
La Petite Auberge
#15 of 28 in Banos
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#13 of 28 in Banos
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Real
Hostal Casa Real
#12 of 66 in Banos
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Abuelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Abuelo

Property: Posada del Abuelo
Address: Montalvo y Vieira | A 50 Mts. De la Cascada de la Virgen, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable & cozy small art hotel next to the waterfall, located in an antique house in a quiet neighbourhood, just few blocks away from downtown. Easy access, relaxed atmosphere, clean facilities and bedrooms with private bathroom. Friendly service, attention to detail. Dinner is cooked on the grill. Art exhibition from Ecuadorian artists. WIFI Nightly fire and bbq. Garden with hammocks and organic fruit & vegetable juice bar. NEW AREA OF CAMPING ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Posada del Abuelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing