We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further for five star service with a friendly touch”
Review of Posada del Abuelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada del Abuelo
Ranked #25 of 48 Banos B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
“Look no further for five star service with a friendly touch”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

It really is as good as all the other reviews say. The stylish mansion, the lovely breakfast, the food... But most of all it's the young owners entousiasm and willingness to help you enjoy your stay that sets this place apart. We had friends stay at a very posh [and expensive!] hotel in the area who were very dissapointed with what they got, especially wen they heard us rave about our stay in Casa del Abuelo. It really is a small gem and staying here will make your stay in Banos unforgettable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    19
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
38
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I had a great weekend staying here. Rodrigo's food is fantastic! It must be the best food in Baños and a welcome change. A wonderful way to spend time here in the evening with a fire in the garden and watch your food being prepared. It was wonderfully cosy place and only a stone's throw from the thermal baths with good views of the volcano. Lovely place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakleyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

If you're looking for a cozy, very friendly and relaxing atmosphere then La Casa del Abuelo is the place for you. The owners really go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and at home. The food is excellent (prepared by a chef) and freshly prepared every day and the vibe in the evenings is very pleasant and friendly. This hotel is excellent for a romantic weekend away or even a great place to hang out with friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuidoPicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san fran
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Rodrigo Pacheco, chef at the hotel who comes with sous chefs that worked around the grill/bbq in the front yard of this cute hotel. The meal was the most fantastic meal we had in all of Ecuador. The garden in the back of the hotel yielded the freshest ingredients used in our 3 course meal. We watched as he and his team grilled vegetables, potatoes, stuffed pork and then creatively and artistically plated these foods into the most beautiful presentations. Their heart and sole goes into everything they do and made us feel like we were family. I highly recommend checking this place out before the big chains catch on!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranCat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My husband and I were traveling around Ecuador and stopped in here for a few nights in Banos. It was the best decision we made on our entire 4 week trip! This place was absolutely amazing and gave us an experience like non-other. The staff is just awesome. They speak English and are able to give great suggestions for fun stuff to do in the area...that is if you are able to leave the hotel! The food and drinks were so great and the atmosphere so comfortable, we ended up hanging out in their patio a lot of the time. The owners are always close-by and so professional with their service and attention. I really couldn't believe that we found such a place for the price. It was incredible! I really recommend visiting this place soon as I think it is going to be extremely popular very soon. I signed up for their notifications on Facebook and I got a notice that this weekend they have this deal of a massage, accommodation, dinner and breakfast for $50 a person. I am so sad I can not be there!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epacheco14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2010

greate hotel, with excelent food and wines, nice architecture, music and art.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed for two nights over Easter weekend. The house is located in a corner of town, nowhere near as loud and bustling as a lot of the other areas of town, and is a beautiful two story colonial home lovingly and simply restored. Our reservation had not been received (some mixup with hostel bookers), but the owner had a room cleaned and ready for us very quickly, and was apologetic and concerned for the mistake. We felt welcomed and relaxed the moment we arrived, which says a lot because we had been traveling for over 24 hours at that point.

The room was simple, and the bed very comfortable. The decoration is spare, which allows the natural beauty of the house to speak for itself. The owners are a young couple with two young children, and they seem to relish being in the business of hospitality, and a love for their work, the hotel and the country shows in everything they do.

The most unexpected thing was the food, which was also done with the same level of care and service. The meals were fresh and exquisite and served outside in the front of the hotel close to an open-air bar and around a bonfire that was lit nightly. Such beautiful ambience and delicious meals!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyNewYork_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.8 mi away
Samari Spa Resort
Samari Spa Resort
#2 of 27 in Banos
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 27 in Banos
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal El Recreo
Hostal El Recreo
#9 of 48 in Banos
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Abuelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Abuelo

Property: Posada del Abuelo
Address: Montalvo y Vieira | A 50 Mts. De la Cascada de la Virgen, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable & cozy small art hotel next to the waterfall, located in an antique house in a quiet neighbourhood, just few blocks away from downtown. Easy access, relaxed atmosphere, clean facilities and bedrooms with private bathroom. Friendly service, attention to detail. Dinner is cooked on the grill. Art exhibition from Ecuadorian artists. WIFI Nightly fire and bbq. Garden with hammocks and organic fruit & vegetable juice bar. NEW AREA OF CAMPING ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing