We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel in Baños-Ecuador” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada del Abuelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada del Abuelo
Ranked #22 of 42 Banos B&B and Inns
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
“best hotel in Baños-Ecuador”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

greate hotel, with excelent food and wines, nice architecture, music and art.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    18
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
37
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed for two nights over Easter weekend. The house is located in a corner of town, nowhere near as loud and bustling as a lot of the other areas of town, and is a beautiful two story colonial home lovingly and simply restored. Our reservation had not been received (some mixup with hostel bookers), but the owner had a room cleaned and ready for us very quickly, and was apologetic and concerned for the mistake. We felt welcomed and relaxed the moment we arrived, which says a lot because we had been traveling for over 24 hours at that point.

The room was simple, and the bed very comfortable. The decoration is spare, which allows the natural beauty of the house to speak for itself. The owners are a young couple with two young children, and they seem to relish being in the business of hospitality, and a love for their work, the hotel and the country shows in everything they do.

The most unexpected thing was the food, which was also done with the same level of care and service. The meals were fresh and exquisite and served outside in the front of the hotel close to an open-air bar and around a bonfire that was lit nightly. Such beautiful ambience and delicious meals!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyNewYork_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zipaquira, Colombia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

This is a lovely hotel located on Baños, an antique house converted on hotel were you have really good food and very comfortable restrooms. No TV, a place for relax in a real good location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groncios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

The " Casa del Abuelo " in Baños is a very impressive large home with original features from times gone by modernized in the most delicate way to blend in with the times...It has 6 large rooms that fit together comfortably, the attention to detail is amazing and the views are beautiful, you can see the cascade of the sacred virgin from many of the rooms, the gardens are filled with trees, hamocks and leisure space.

This place is great for when you want to forget everything for a moment, have a romatic night away or want to take the family to a safe and welcoming place where children are welcome and the smell of incense fills the air...

The food is made onsite and the tastes are very cosmopolitan and a fussion of old and new....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thehorsegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilcabamba, Ecuador
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

Found this beautiful place just a hundred meters from the hotspring and the waterfall in Banos. Stayed tree nights and didnt want to leave. The food was delicious and the owners very helpfull and creative. The price was right. The garden cozy and green.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Felajuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

La Casa del Abuelo - Grandfather's House - is run by an English speaking Ecuadorian/Swiss couple. The little boutique-like hotel is situated in the most quiet part of the wonderful town of Baños. It's surrounded by lush green hills and beautiful waterfalls just a few streets away.

We were actually on our way to one of the guidebook preferred hotels in the same area, but as we passed this newly re-opened picturesque red brick hotel, La Casa del Abuelo, well - we did not go any further.

The overall service and the "mi casa es su casa" feeling offered by the staff and managers just make this place a great place to stay while in Banos. The rooms are comfortable, breakfast is good - great coffee from Loja and fresh baked bread every morning. (You will probably wake up to the smell, when it comes crawling up the stairs and under your door.)

The restaurant. OMG!!! Who would think that you out here in the middle of far away in Ecuador would eat like in an upmarket Bocuse-nouvelle cuisine restaurant in Paris.

The food is awesome. Our best regards to the chef!!

Thumbs up for Grandfather!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumobabe-killmouski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing,China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

a charming old building which over 70 years, highly recommend for a lazy afternoon, sitting at patio while listening the waterfall nearby.the young boss who plant the vegetable in the afternoon and be the chef for your dinner is so friendly and i am 100% sure that all their staff put their best efforts to make this house be your dream home.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photoframe-beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.3 mi away
Cana Limena Hostal
Cana Limena Hostal
#20 of 66 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Carolina
Hostal Carolina
#2 of 42 in Banos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Santa Clara
Hotel Villa Santa Clara
#17 of 42 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal Leon
#30 of 42 in Banos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Real
Hostal Casa Real
#12 of 66 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huillacuna Casa del Arte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Abuelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Abuelo

Property: Posada del Abuelo
Address: Montalvo y Vieira | A 50 Mts. De la Cascada de la Virgen, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable & cozy small art hotel next to the waterfall, located in an antique house in a quiet neighbourhood, just few blocks away from downtown. Easy access, relaxed atmosphere, clean facilities and bedrooms with private bathroom. Friendly service, attention to detail. Dinner is cooked on the grill. Art exhibition from Ecuadorian artists. WIFI Nightly fire and bbq. Garden with hammocks and organic fruit & vegetable juice bar. NEW AREA OF CAMPING ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Posada del Abuelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing