We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, rustic mountain retreat”
Review of Hacienda Leito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Leito
Ranked #15 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cosy, rustic mountain retreat”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were not lucky enough to catch the volcano erupting but the large sitting room and bar was still interesting to sit in since there are all sorts of antiques and other items to look at. We were on a tour so cannot comment on value (and did not have a drink). The rooms are rustic but were quite comfortable with the fires lit and the hot water bottles warming the beds. The food was good with large portions for dinner and enough at breakfast too. I especially enjoyed walking around the grounds in the morning seeing the fog lift from the mountains (alas still no volcanic stuff!) and seeing the valley wake up. It is a lovely place for a day or two.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvmovielover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I visited this hacienda 3 years ago and was not impressed. I don't know what happened, but it was very different this time. Staff was excellent, responding to every request with a smile. The food was much improved as well. The rooms are lovely, with the fireplace being the centerpiece-and much needed, with the chilly nights. The location, of course, is spectacular, volcano views being predominant. A great visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardengoddess54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We had one night here and I'd have liked to stay for more. An amazing drive in of the volcano and a superb view of it from the hacienda.
Rooms were basic and rustic but spacious and clean. A double and single.
Lovely sitting room area in the main house with bar and the fire lit as well as in the dining room.
Limited dinner options for veggies - only 2 but a great breakfast of fresh fruit, juice, bread and jam and boiled egg.
Each bedroom had a fire which they lit for us and put hot water bottles in the bed.
Overall very nice and one of my best night sleeps.
Only trouble is walls are quite thin and I could even hear my neighbours cleaning their teeth...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSquaredEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed one night with the Gate one tour at this place. The Valley where this hotel is located is breathtaking, completely magical.

The rooms are rustic, with a fireplace. We loved them. In addition to lighting the fire, the staff also provides water bottles for comfort.

The food was very very good, the rare filet mignon was superb. Some people from our group complained that the owner charged 19 dollars for a single White Russian, and he could only do it following the directions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tr128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Unfortunately, I could only stay one night in this beautiful hacienda. It's exactly like how an hacienda should look like. BUild in an "U" shape with spacious rooms, clean and new bathrooms, a fireplace (that the light up while you are having dinner so your room is nice and warm when you come back). The social area is packed with old stuff like LP players, old sofas etc what gives is a pleasant ambiance.

The food in the restaurant is good with an high level of service.
The hacienda even has some sort of spa with a big swimming pool and a few instruments to work out. On request, a massage can be arranged as well. As I could see, they are building a few saunas there as well and a jacuzzi. I don't know when that will be ready.

In the back yard, you can see volcano Tungurahua that was, while we were there, erupting. Don't worry, it's far enough for not giving any danger for the hacienda.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Heading south from Quito, this was the first stop. A delightful place to spend some time. Unfortunately we were only there the night. At this altitude the ovens were lit and, despite reservations, proved to be welcome! Food was excellent.

Room Tip: Turn up for christ's sake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwilym_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Talk about a beautiful place, this is such a surprise, in the middle of no where. Would I come back, yes! Reminds me of an estancia in Argentina.
There was a fireplace in every room and after dinner, the ladies come and light it for you as there is no heat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WantToSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banos
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#16 of 110 in Quito
742 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Abraspungo
Hacienda Abraspungo
#2 of 19 in Riobamba
362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria La Andaluza
Hosteria La Andaluza
#1 of 19 in Riobamba
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Manteles
Hacienda Manteles
#1 of 48 in Banos
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Termas de Papallacta
Termas de Papallacta
#1 of 1 in Papallacta
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Leito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Leito

Property: Hacienda Leito
Address: Km.8 Via ecologica, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Leito 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Leito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Leito Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing