We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveler rating
376
59
8
10
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
59
8
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrowniegranola barshomemade breadyogurtin townpastaza riverriver viewmassage therapistthe kitchentaxis are cheaprooms are largehome away from homea short taxi ridethe perfect place to stayevery morningbreakfast was deliciousincredible views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 454 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Three of us arrived from Quito after spending several nights at a hostel in Mindo that was misrepresented by the photos and information on line (enough said). So, we were primed for another low end hostel when we drove into Banos. However, La Casa Verde Ecolodge was the antithesis of our earlier experience. The place lives up to its name in that the owners have gone out of their way to accomplish sustainable development. The lodge is set on the outskirts of Banos and is somewhat difficult to find. But, the place is a dream. The room (triple) was immaculate and nicely decorated. The breakfasts were amazing...fresh baked bread, homemade granola, tasty fruits, coffee, juice. Wow! The best part of the place was Doug, Rebecca and their son John, who were so warm and welcoming. We even got a hug and kiss on the cheek upon our departure. Suffice it to say that most of the places we´ve stayed over the past month in Ecuador and Peru don´t come close to providing the warmth, comfort, and services of La Casa Verde. When you consider the cost, its a true bargain and a delightful stay.
Mark and Tammie Colwell

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tambo1Arcata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our 5 day reservation at Casa Verde turned into 11 days, and even then we didn't want to leave. It was, without a doubt, our favourite hostel in all of South America and definitely excllent value for money! Clean rooms, comfortable beds, hot, powerful showers, lovely kitchen facilities and the breakfast was delicious and easily extended into a long brunch. Rebecca and Doug, the ownners, really made us feel at home and they are also very well informed about everthing to do in the local area, especially in regards to less touristy walks near the hostel. We loved the fact that Casa Verde is practically next door to Spa Resort El Refugio which offers a selection of very relaxing treatments at cheaper prices than the places in town. Casa Verde is a gorgeous house, with stunning views and we totally enjoyed drinking glasses of wine and munching Rebecca's brownies as we watched DVD's from their vast collection in the evenings. It was also refreshing to find a place which takes care of the environment. The fact that it is slightly outside of town adds to the overall charm of the location, and getting in and out of town is easy. I cannot recommend Casa Verde enough, we're definitely going back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offoffandaway027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

La Casa Verde is a comfortable, clean eco hostal. Breakfast is full of delicious home made breads, granola, fresh juice, yogurt and assorted teas/coffee (great brownies!). Rooms are spacious and have lovely views of the mountains and river. The future patio will be a great addition. Located outside of town which is nice, however need for taxi is recommended when going into town, esp at night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emm828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

If you care about our planet and get frustrated while traveling at the ability to stay green, stay at La Casa Verde in Banos, Ecuador. Their recycling and compost efforts help travelers stay green while the amazing owners cook organic, local foods in their cozy abode with little carbon footprint. Not to mention the fabulous location along the river with lush plants enveloping your sense of nature. A+++

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
Thank sheebe823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

This was a great place to stay. Homemade granola bars and brownies. Fresh fruit and granola made for a killer breakfast. We had so much fun here. I'll definitely be back! Thank you so much for the information about things to do in and around Banos and the great hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarisaandCompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews