We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesnt get much better than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2009

La Casa Verde is definitly the best hostel I have stayed in. The rooms were spacious with a fantastic view. The bathrooms were a decent size with hot water and a toilet you could flush your toilet paper down! (Not often found in Equador). The breakfast was a gourmet of fresh and homemade products and the proprietors - Doug and Rebecca could not do enough for us on our stay. If you are going to Banos, then you definitly want to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwilivinginGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 450 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2009

La Casa Verde is one of the loveliest hostels I have stayed in. Rebecca and Doug who run this wonderful eco hostel are the hosts with the most and make you feel at right at home. The breakfasts are amazing and the rooms beautifully decorated. It is just outside of Banos which means a quiet and peaceful nights sleep with a great view of the river. I cannot recommend this hostel enough!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23,232,323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

This eco-friendly hostel was one of my favorite places we stayed in Ecuador.
The hostel is still being constructed on the top floors, but the bottom floor
is beutifully finished. There is a view of the river below and of the mountainous green
terrain surrounding the area. You can walk to Banos (which takes about 15-20 minutes)
or hop on the bus for 17 cents. Taxis are also easy to find. If you opt to stay in, pick from some of Rebeccas delicious frozen organic homemade meals in the freezer.
The owners are very friendly and helpful with questions, information, etc...The breakfast in the morning is great! This is a new hostel which I would love to return to!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Our group loved the La Casa Verde! We ended up staying 2 additional nights. Not only is it economical but clean and beautifully done. The owners have thought of everything and are so incredibly accomadating. The price includes a great breakfast which was complete with fresh fruit & juice, yogurt, breads, and yes real coffee! (amazingly a hard to find in Ecuador). There is a fridge stocked with beer and homemade stews, soups, garlic bread.
Also they have focused on green sustainable building! Which is incredible. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a beautiful spot and a great night sleep.(great mattresses) If you get there by bus I recommend taking a taxi to the hotel. once you are there it is easy to catch the bus into town but a little tricky to find the first time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G0Bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

This is one of the most comfortable hostels I've ever stayed in. It's ultra-clean and has a sunny, open shared space with a kitchen. The owners are helpful, kind and courteous. Plus, Rebecca makes the best breakfast EVER! La Casa Verde is a great value for an exceptional stay, and it's got a sustainable business model, so you can feel good about where your dollars go.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprzybylski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I couldn't think of staying anywhere else in Banos. Bec and Doug are so helpful, genuine and I loved being able to chat about the environment and associated issues. The place is in a beautiful location, not far from town on the river, very peaceful. Bec's bagels and brownies just added to the enjoyment!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clazzaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Baños is a very touristy town, with many hostel choices in the middle of the town. Most offer the same services; a decent bed, and a breakfast. What sets La Casa Verde apart from this is Rebecca, Doug and John, the wonderful hosts and owners of La Casa Verde. From the start we were welcomed as family, given free range of the downstairs house and fed like kings for breakfast. Rebecca wakes up super early and prepares a wonderful breakfast, so much more than what we are used to getting at other hostels, and spends the morning talking, giving advice and information. Their goal, to make a backpacker eco lodge is incorporated in every decision and their efforts to help the community to become more ecologically friendly obviously speaks about their commitment to their project. I highly recommend experiencing the La Casa Verde!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonenespana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
322 reviews
1 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 27 in Banos
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
235 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#13 of 27 in Banos
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House

Address: Camino Real, Santa Ana, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banos
#2 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range: $54 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Eco-friendly Haven In Beautiful And Tranquil Baños. La Casa Verde Offers The Perfect Place To Rest, Relax And Enjoy Baños, In The Safe Area Of Town And In A Sustainable And Comfortable Environment With Amazing Views From Every Room. Included Is: Free Drinking Water, Tea, Coffee And Chocolate, Use Of The Fully Equipped Kitchen And An Organic, Buffet Breakfast With Fresh Homemade Sourdough Bread, Granola, Fruit, Juice And Organic Fair Trade Arabica Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Verde- Eco Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing