We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful accomodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful accomodations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This place was beautiful. Situated right on the river and about a 20 minute walk to town. Doug suggested a hike close by and it was amazing! Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was awesome. I am still thinking of the tomato and basil soup we had for dinner and the garlic bread was to die for. Thank you Doug and Rebecca for your helpfulness. You have a beautiful family. Also Aude thankyou for finding our bike rental place again for us. There was a masseuse onsite and she managed to give a massage to 5 of the 6 of us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacque52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    55
    6
    9
    1
See reviews for
74
183
46
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pine mountain, ga
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

It was so good, we extended our stay to 4 nights! Yes, the breakfast is fantastic and healthful! The first floor room with river view was very large, full of light, and the beds were comfortable! The couple who are running the place for the owners are fun, helpful, and available at all times.(Cyril and Aude) Yes, it is a 20 - 25 minute hike into town, but it is only $1.50 for the taxi, and you avoid the noise of town by staying in this peaceful and welcoming environment. There is an amazing library of dvds to watch at night, so we spent two nights watching movies with Cyril and Aude .... great fun! They can arrange for a fabulous $25 massage right on the premise, and if you wish, you can arrange for a very delicious dinner there as well. At under $50 per night, one could not ask for more!!! Be sure to arrange for Adolfo, the taxi driver, to take you to Luna Runtun for the "bath and lunch" package .... it was fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodmigrations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I spent three nights at La Casa Verde and agree with the majority of reviewers that it is a fantastic place to stay in Banos. Doug and Rebecca, the owners, are delightful and helpful. As for the property, there are many positives....the free breakfast is to die for, my room was beautiful, clean and comfortable, the hot shower excellent, wifi adequate and the constant hum of the river intoxicating. I stayed in the ground floor room facing the river, and although I didn't see any other rooms, would imagine that the river facing rooms are the best ones. The only thing to be aware of is that La Casa Verde is a good 25 minute walk (uphill) to Banos town. Such is the trade off for peace and quiet. This is not a party place in the center of the action. My only minor suggestion would be this....the appeal of the location is the view of the river and across the valley to the mountains, yet from the beautiful indoor and outdoor common areas the view is blocked by vegetation. I'd love to see the vegetation trimmed so you can enjoy the views while eating breakfast or relaxing outside. Overall though, La Casa Verde is a top notch guesthouse and highly recommended!

Room Tip: A river facing room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertioga Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We recently stayed 6 nights at La Casa Verde. We had a wonder room with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was wonderful! Everything was homemade and fresh. The French couple who managed the hotel because the owners had just had a baby were a delight to talk to. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return. We booked based on trip advisor recommendations and we were not disappointed. I highly recommend La Casa Verde!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelerBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here before and it was absolutely excellent, but as we were on our way to Argentina via bus and had a flight out of Quito, we decided to stop over for one night. As was expected, our room was bright, clean and had a great view of the river and mountains. This time we got to meet the owner Rebecca who was delightful. She even helped us with a bank transaction in town. But the icing on the cake was that Cyril, half of a French couple currently managing the place, ran to the bus station the next day with our Mac computer in hand, which we had unintentionally forgot to take with us. Thankfully our bus was still at the station. I mean who does that? We would have left Ecuador and our computer behind. What a guy. Needless to say, we had another memorable experience at La Casa Verde. Everyone who visits Baños should stay here.

Note: My husband really appreciated the changes they made with regards to how the rooms are cleaned because his allergies didn't act up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Co
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We have no previous experience staying in a hostel, so this was all new to us. Looking back, I would liken it to staying at my brothers house, plus breakfast, plus good local information, plus the beds were made each day. So maybe not just like staying at my brothers house, but not roughing it, or luxurious either. There are some house rules that are reasonable: shoes off at the door, pick up after yourself in the kitchen outside of breakfast or dinner. Breakfast is included, dinner would be extra. Plastic bottles are frowned upon, but the family that owns this property is very nice if you have the opportunity to meet them. We did, but only because they covered a day their managers had off for a tour.

Tips: To see the volcano, head for the restaurant located just before you get to los antennas where the man that owns this spot guides locally and was inside the crater just 5 days before last week's eruption! He will show you the pictures. He sells cold drinks and his wife cooks later in the day. It's a beautiful, uncrowded view with an well informed source of info. 2nd tip: Take the 3hr horseback ride that Doug (Casa Verde owner) recommends. It was $20 each for the 3 hours, and well worth it, with the volcano rumbling beneath us! Don't ask too many questions about this horse ride and enjoy the surprises! 3rd, rent bikes in town and ride downhill, mostly, to Rio Verde, and the big waterfall. Eat empenadas at the end of the road. Bikes were $12 ea for the day, waterfall access $1.50ea, lunch for 3 was $20 with a huge tip, truck ride back up to Banos was $2 for bike & rider. You will be tired but remarkably satisfied at the end of the day.

All in all, we would return to Casa Verde again and would recommend it. Clean, safe and friendly.

PS, pay close attention to the top step going upstairs inside Casa Verde, it's an inch higher than the rest and you will stub your toe at least once.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank bestestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at La Casa Verde for 3 nights in January 2014. A french couple was helping to run the place since the main owners had a new born baby. The place is a cool spot that is low key. The only down fall I would say is it is about a 30 minute walk into town to the restaurants or you can always take a cheap taxi. That makes it quieter because it is away from the bar scene but also a commitment when you want to make that trek. Also, our room was nice but I would recommend trying to ask for a room on the river side cause it seemed to get a better breeze and more river sounds and less dog barking sounds.
The food that they served seemed to be more "organic" and vegetarian based which was very refreshing after eating so much fatty food on the traveling circuit. The french couple (whom speak fluent spanish) also were extremely helpful due to the fact that our bags were lost by the airline for a week and they helped us out tremendously and without them who knows if we ever would have received our bags.
All in all, a really nice laid back chill eco hotel that I would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacker1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#15 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House

Property: La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Address: Camino Real, Santa Ana, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banos
#2 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
your eco-friendly haven in beautiful and tranquil baños. la casa verde offers the perfect place to rest, relax and enjoy baños, in the safe area of town and in a sustainable and comfortable environment with amazing views from every room. included is: free drinking water, tea, coffee and chocolate, use of the fully equipped kitchen and an organic, buffet breakfast with fresh homemade sourdough bread, granola, fruit, juice and organic fair trade arabica coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Verde- Eco Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing