We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down. The best service in Ecuador!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here before and it was absolutely excellent, but as we were on our way to Argentina via bus and had a flight out of Quito, we decided to stop over for one night. As was expected, our room was bright, clean and had a great view of the river and mountains. This time we got to meet the owner Rebecca who was delightful. She even helped us with a bank transaction in town. But the icing on the cake was that Cyril, half of a French couple currently managing the place, ran to the bus station the next day with our Mac computer in hand, which we had unintentionally forgot to take with us. Thankfully our bus was still at the station. I mean who does that? We would have left Ecuador and our computer behind. What a guy. Needless to say, we had another memorable experience at La Casa Verde. Everyone who visits Baños should stay here.

Note: My husband really appreciated the changes they made with regards to how the rooms are cleaned because his allergies didn't act up.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 446 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We have no previous experience staying in a hostel, so this was all new to us. Looking back, I would liken it to staying at my brothers house, plus breakfast, plus good local information, plus the beds were made each day. So maybe not just like staying at my brothers house, but not roughing it, or luxurious either. There are some house rules that are reasonable: shoes off at the door, pick up after yourself in the kitchen outside of breakfast or dinner. Breakfast is included, dinner would be extra. Plastic bottles are frowned upon, but the family that owns this property is very nice if you have the opportunity to meet them. We did, but only because they covered a day their managers had off for a tour.

Tips: To see the volcano, head for the restaurant located just before you get to los antennas where the man that owns this spot guides locally and was inside the crater just 5 days before last week's eruption! He will show you the pictures. He sells cold drinks and his wife cooks later in the day. It's a beautiful, uncrowded view with an well informed source of info. 2nd tip: Take the 3hr horseback ride that Doug (Casa Verde owner) recommends. It was $20 each for the 3 hours, and well worth it, with the volcano rumbling beneath us! Don't ask too many questions about this horse ride and enjoy the surprises! 3rd, rent bikes in town and ride downhill, mostly, to Rio Verde, and the big waterfall. Eat empenadas at the end of the road. Bikes were $12 ea for the day, waterfall access $1.50ea, lunch for 3 was $20 with a huge tip, truck ride back up to Banos was $2 for bike & rider. You will be tired but remarkably satisfied at the end of the day.

All in all, we would return to Casa Verde again and would recommend it. Clean, safe and friendly.

PS, pay close attention to the top step going upstairs inside Casa Verde, it's an inch higher than the rest and you will stub your toe at least once.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank bestestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at La Casa Verde for 3 nights in January 2014. A french couple was helping to run the place since the main owners had a new born baby. The place is a cool spot that is low key. The only down fall I would say is it is about a 30 minute walk into town to the restaurants or you can always take a cheap taxi. That makes it quieter because it is away from the bar scene but also a commitment when you want to make that trek. Also, our room was nice but I would recommend trying to ask for a room on the river side cause it seemed to get a better breeze and more river sounds and less dog barking sounds.
The food that they served seemed to be more "organic" and vegetarian based which was very refreshing after eating so much fatty food on the traveling circuit. The french couple (whom speak fluent spanish) also were extremely helpful due to the fact that our bags were lost by the airline for a week and they helped us out tremendously and without them who knows if we ever would have received our bags.
All in all, a really nice laid back chill eco hotel that I would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backpacker1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This place was wonderful - Doug and Rebecca are great people offering good value. The breakfast was good (yogurt with no sugar!!!! Yay!), our room was clean and Doug was very helpful in arranging taxis, tours, Spanish lessons etc! We had a great time overlooking the flowing river from our balcony and would not stay anywhere else in Banos! Rebecca's brownies are to die for!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailing_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was a great place to stay in Banos as long as being slightly out of town didn't bother you. It was worth it for the river and mountain views and the hammocks to relax in. They helped us organize all our activities and even offered to help us out when our bank cards stopped working for a day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

...Loved it. Had the perfect view from the room - complete with balcony overlooking the river, a hammock and table and chairs. The breakfast was healthy and not too heavy (great for the amount of hiking you should do while you're there!)....spotlessly clean, gracious hosts, lots of hot water, and I think I had the best hike ever.... Hike up the ridge and get directions from the owners so you can have lunch at the top at Luna Runtun...If you're lucky, you'll get a great view of the volcano if you hike high enough. Banos is a great spot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Laurie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in December. The place is very nice and really clean. Our room's view was the river in front of la casa verde. There is balcony that the guests can use to sit outside and contemplate the great view. The best thing is the breakfast. Homemade jelly, yoghurt, granola, and bread. It is all delicious.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MFGC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#10 of 27 in Banos
223 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#12 of 27 in Banos
41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House

Address: Camino Real, Santa Ana, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banos
#2 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range: $49 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
your eco-friendly haven in beautiful and tranquil baños. la casa verde offers the perfect place to rest, relax and enjoy baños, in the safe area of town and in a sustainable and comfortable environment with amazing views from every room. included is: free drinking water, tea, coffee and chocolate, use of the fully equipped kitchen and an organic, buffet breakfast with fresh homemade sourdough bread, granola, fruit, juice and organic fair trade arabica coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Verde- Eco Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing