We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place at an amazing price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was a great place to stay in Banos as long as being slightly out of town didn't bother you. It was worth it for the river and mountain views and the hammocks to relax in. They helped us organize all our activities and even offered to help us out when our bank cards stopped working for a day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 446 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

...Loved it. Had the perfect view from the room - complete with balcony overlooking the river, a hammock and table and chairs. The breakfast was healthy and not too heavy (great for the amount of hiking you should do while you're there!)....spotlessly clean, gracious hosts, lots of hot water, and I think I had the best hike ever.... Hike up the ridge and get directions from the owners so you can have lunch at the top at Luna Runtun...If you're lucky, you'll get a great view of the volcano if you hike high enough. Banos is a great spot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Laurie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in December. The place is very nice and really clean. Our room's view was the river in front of la casa verde. There is balcony that the guests can use to sit outside and contemplate the great view. The best thing is the breakfast. Homemade jelly, yoghurt, granola, and bread. It is all delicious.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MFGC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Clean, nice big rooms, friendly and helpful staff,great breakfast, it is a perfect place to relax and recharge. Ask for a room at the back to listen to the river at night. The dog next door can be a bit loud at times.The owners filter their own water. There is a small kitchen to use should you want to cook. Large eating area where the guest gather and share their experience. It was truly a nice experience. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone.

And for $25 I got one of the best massage I've ever had.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the river and listen to its relaxing sound! large private balconies, super com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmenOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Was turned on to this place by our friend Alberto in Cuenca at Casa Ordonez. Did the drive from cuenca the back way thru Rio Bamba and Penida. (Last part a dirt track along the river). This hostel is highly recommended - i can see why it is popular amongst TA reviewers. The owners are Kiwis, and strive to make a difference in their town. They practice what they preach - no rainforest woods used in the well-planned property they built on the Rio Pastaza about 1 km out of the centro - (an easy walk or $2 taxi ride). They strive to eliminate the omnipresent plastic bottles by offering/loaning their own refillable water bottles, filled from their purified rainwater catchment system. The rooms are spacious, the beds good, the bathrooms clean, and the beer is cold. Large, covered patio is a great place to chat with folks over the rumble of the river below - although the view of the river is pretty obstructed from this patio (view is better on the upstairs patios). What more does one need? The owners are great, friendly, and informative. The proprietor recommended a hike that was just 1/10th a mile from their front door, which took us UP and UP, then up along a ridgeline over town to Punta Mirador then we went to Cafe de Cielo at Runtun. After this grind of a hike (we are pretty out-of-shape, and it was about 2-3 miles pretty much straight up hill) we felt we earned the cold beer on top, and the $5 taxi ride down.

This place is popular, so book ahead if it is a weekend. We would for sure stay here again, and we will!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here , because I care about the environment. Some rooms have private balconies, but the common deck area with chairs outside was enough for me. I had trouble sleeping, because the curtains did not block out the light.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
4  Thank Ostat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We found this hotel at the last minute and couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms were quaint and comfortable with a great view of the surrounding hills. The hotel is very eco-friendly with genuine and helpful staff. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
315 reviews
1 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 27 in Banos
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#10 of 27 in Banos
227 reviews
1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
382 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#13 of 27 in Banos
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House

Address: Camino Real, Santa Ana, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banos
#2 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range: $34 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Eco-friendly Haven In Beautiful And Tranquil Baños. La Casa Verde Offers The Perfect Place To Rest, Relax And Enjoy Baños, In The Safe Area Of Town And In A Sustainable And Comfortable Environment With Amazing Views From Every Room. Included Is: Free Drinking Water, Tea, Coffee And Chocolate, Use Of The Fully Equipped Kitchen And An Organic, Buffet Breakfast With Fresh Homemade Sourdough Bread, Granola, Fruit, Juice And Organic Fair Trade Arabica Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Verde- Eco Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing