We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here 5 nights last week and it was the perfect ending to my 3 week holiday. I will definitely return!

The scenery is stunning and I get the sense that every room has a great view; mine definitely did. My room was very well appointed - a comfortable bed, plenty of space to put my luggage/gear, a spacious tiled bathroom with hot water (yay!), and a number of small thoughtful details that make a room comfortable. I also enjoyed the local art used to decorate my room and the common rooms. Breakfast is included; each morning there was a good selection of items from which to choose, and all were freshly baked, squeezed, cut, brewed, etc (yum!). Other meals are also offered for a very reasonable price and I thoroughly enjoyed the dinner I ordered. The common spaces, both inside and out, are inviting, comfy, and great places to meet other travelers or just chill out with a book while enjoying the scenery. The owners/hosts are a lovely, very friendly family. They know alot about the area and things to do and are happy to share that with guests. And they accomplish all of the above with an inspiring commitment to ecological sustainability which they put into practice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suep71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    56
    7
    9
    1
See reviews for
78
187
47
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Banos is great and this place makes it even better. The outside may look a bit confusing at first, but this is a lovely hotel/hostel for solo travellers, couples, families and basically anyone. Well-equipped for a nice stay (great beds and you can have your own balcony and hammock to catch up on your reading; lovely owners - they really go the extra mile to make you feel at home, very relaxed atmosphere and they have a great breakfast with all sorts of lovely stuff). You can also enjoy their large collection of movies in the living room. It's situated on the outskirts of Banos but that's a good thing: it's quiet, the view over the river is great and you can walk or take a cab to the burstling town in no-time. Surroundings are great. You'll want to stay forever: we spent a couple of additional nights. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: River side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diederik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We totally loved staying in this B & B. We only stayed for one night but will definitly return. The views out of our room were awesome, the bed large and comfy, breakfast was great and the hosts supurb. Plus it was walking distance to town plus hiking distance to some of the spectacular water falls.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra_uwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed two nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. The lodge is very spacious and inviting. The rooms are nicely sized, very clean and the shower has HOT water. Best of all you can flush your toilet paper! ( Not the norm in Ecuador) The folks that run it maintain a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. We enjoyed chatting over breakfast as if we were just staying with relatives. They provided all the necessary information on the area, and as insignificant as it may sound the first person I encountered in town was the Laundrymat owner that she recommended. He made quite an impression with his promise of speedy service, and clued us in on a local festival we may have missed. There is safe parking in front of the lodge. If driving yourself it is tricky to find. We stopped at the bus stattion and paid $2 to have a taxi guide us in. It is about 2 km out of town which was nice, but in easy distance to the waterfalls and other sites. They appear to take the eco part of their lodge seriously providing home made soap, and an atmosphere of tastefully simple decor that can be purchased from local artists. Any future visits to Banos will definitely include a stay here.

Room Tip: Just ask if they have a better room available. We were offered one but had shown up so late, we dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saudi2Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Casa Verde for three nights on our honeymoon, following the recommendation of fellow travelers we met elsewhere in Ecuador. It is a dream spot—the owners, Doug and Rebecca, have built a beautiful and welcoming travel oasis. Our room was clean, very comfortable, and peaceful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the sense of community among travelers very nice. Doug and Rebecca were generous in their travel advice and help. The in-house masseuse was wonderful. And the reasonable prices made for the best value of any stop we made as we traveled around the world. Many thanks, Casa Verde! We can’t wait to come back….

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Great location above huge roaring river which our beautiful room overlooked, as well as up to the green lush mountains surrounding the valley. Doug was really helpful & we had two great days out with their recommended guides & horse riding contacts. Lovely home baked bread, granola & fresh fruit + able to make hot drinks anytime. Home made snacks came in handy for walks etc.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If I ever return to Banos, and I sure hope I do, without a doubt I will again stay at La Casa Verde. Clean, very comfortable, and friendly. If there is any small issue, it's that it's a good distance outside of town. But that could also be considered a plus as it is very quiet and with a beautiful view. Taxis are cheap, and fairly readily available... but sometimes we also just enjoyed the walk. The owners have good advice for enjoying the area, and I will always remember this as the place where I learned to love vegemite. Vegemite on homemade bread with butter and thin sliced hard cheese. Yum! While you're in town, don't miss your chance to take the amazing downhill bike ride, and be sure to try taking a plunge straight out of the hot springs and into the ice cold pool. Simply exhilerating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quentinnnnnnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 28 in Banos
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
373 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#5 of 28 in Banos
308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House

Property: La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Address: Camino Real, Santa Ana, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banos
#2 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
your eco-friendly haven in beautiful and tranquil baños. la casa verde offers the perfect place to rest, relax and enjoy baños, in the safe area of town and in a sustainable and comfortable environment with amazing views from every room. included is: free drinking water, tea, coffee and chocolate, use of the fully equipped kitchen and an organic, buffet breakfast with fresh homemade sourdough bread, granola, fruit, juice and organic fair trade arabica coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Verde- Eco Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing