We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nose picking waiter at Swiss Bistro, Baños” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Bistro Banos

Swiss Bistro Banos
Ranked #7 of 132 Restaurants in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Swiss Bistro Banos, your gastronomic meeting point at the entrance of the amazonian rain forest. Since 2008 we offer Swiss & European specialties in a unique and authentic atmosphere. This year we added a terrasse lounge to enjoy the same dishes in a peacefull and relaxing garden in the center of Banos. Our professional Team will welcome you like at home to enjoy: - Swiss cheese fondue - Meat fondue - Selection of roestis - Meat & fish specialties - Deserts, hot chocolates and delicious coffees - Quality wines & spirits Bon appetit!
Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
1 review
“Nose picking waiter at Swiss Bistro, Baños”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We ate here on Carnival Sunday (11/02/2013). We enjoyed the food, but found the service somewhat lacking. Our waiter forgot to give us place mats and the free appetizers that he handed out, as a 'gift from the kitchen', to other clients. What surprised us most was seeing him pick his nose in the middle of the roof terrace where we were sat, before handing cutlery to other clients without washing his hands. Needless to say, we didn't leave a tip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GarethEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    186
    51
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I decided to stop in for dinner at the Swiss Bistro while we were staying in town and were absolutely blown away by the food there. We had hoped for a good dinner but had no idea what was in store when we walked through their doors. The atmosphere was lovely and candlelit, the waiter was attentive and friendly, and the food was decadent. We both had beef medallions in mushroom cream sauce that was possibly the best beef I've ever had (which is a big deal considering beef in Ecuador is generally quite tough). It came with scalloped potatoes, delicious carrots and green beans, and a European red cabbage side. We spent the entire meal savoring our food and grinning as each bite was better than the last! We splurged on dessert as well and I had the most incredible pears in a red wine reduction with vanilla ice cream. All in all, it wouldn't be beyond us to choose Banos as a weekend getaway largely so that we can return to this restaurant again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

As far as getting a really good western style meal this place is the place to go, I ate here on a regular basis and it was one of my favourite places to go for dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 117Sarah2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average food, high price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

the food's okay, but nothing to write home about. The sauce for the spaghetti pomodoro was sweet - quite possibly it came out of a packet. The cost was $5.90, which I consider to be pretty expensive for a plate of pasta with some pureed tomatoes and little or nothing else. Maybe try using some garlic, onion, herbs or even olive oil to add some flavour to thesauce.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mbwatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

A little pricey, but worth it. Their steak was melt-in-your-mouth good. Delicious pumpkin soup and my favorite--chocolate fondue. Great ambiance, very romantic for dinner

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1Karin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Bistro Banos also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Swiss Bistro Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing