We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveler rating
219
148
32
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
219
148
32
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool hot springs roof terrace nice pool per night clean rooms private room breakfast not included pancakes de la thermal baths quiet place double bed steam room cleaned daily staff was very friendly and helpful stayed here for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 430 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were able to walk into this hostal last minute without a reservation. We only paid $7.50 a night per person in a dorm style room. They provided towels for free and the rooms were really neat and cute. The pool area was amazing complete with hammocks. There was a wonderful view from the rooftop cafe where the breakfast is cheap and tasty. The wifi is high quality in the lobby but you can't get it from your room. It's a little off the main stretch so it isn't too noisy either. I definitely recommend this spot in banos

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a clean and comfortable place to stay, without paying a high price. it is located close to the hot spring, with a nice beautiful view of the city from our balcony. We did not try the rooftop terrace restaurant, but the employees were busy preparing breakfast in the morning. You can even use their stoves to do some light cooking in the evening, if you so desire. You are just a few blocks away from the main square , very convenient and quiet. Don't expect this to be a first class hotel, but you'll get the best bang for your bucks right here.

Room tip: north facing room on the top floor at the end of the hallway can see both the city and waterfall
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was my second stay with Chimenea and I liked it even better this time. Banos is so nice,friendly,and easy to get around and you couldn't find a better place to stay.We got to know many of the other guests,the ability to cook is so welcome. The food in Banos will not disappoint.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copitka6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The best hostel I stayed in while traveling in Ecuador (Quito > Banos > Mindo). The place was cute and charming, rates were very reasonable (almost too inexpensive, tbh), laid-back / social atmosphere, ample space in rooms, the rooms and grounds were very clean, the shower had great pressure and quick hot water. My biggest complaint was the lack of WiFi reception in the room - apparently some rooms have WiFi but mine did not. WiFi and computers were available in the "lobby" but they have quiet hours after midnight so don't try to access a computer too late. The hostel offers great mountain/waterfalls views but my room did not have a window looking on them despite selecting "Mountain View" - not a huge disappointment as I was barely in the hostel during the daylight. Great cafe onsite for inexpensive and quality breakfast. The hostel offers a variety of other services (massages, hot baths, etc.) that I didn't take advantage of but I heard they were great. Any physical location in Banos is pretty decent as the city was small but I appreciated the hostel's proximity to Cafe Hood (great gringo-run restaurant with inexpensive happy hour and good food), the town square, and tour operators.

In short: definitely recommended!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend Hostel Chimenea. The rooms are very clean, staff is wonderful, and a private room was only $8.50 a person. The breakfast is good, although not included, but it makes up for it being rather cheap and you have a beautiful view of the waterfall. I recommend the steam baths for only $4.

It is not right in the middle of town, but it is more than close enough to everything. Internet is also very good.

I always stay here when I am in Banos. Have never stayed in a cleaner hostel.

Date of stay: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoFootCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews