We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice in Banos with really friendly staff”
Review of Hostal Chimenea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Chimenea
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were booked into the Magic Stone but left after one night because the wifi wasn't working for us. We tried breakfast at this place the next morning and were impressed by the friendly and very efficient breakfast staff in the rooftop dining room. Our room on the second floor was nicely decorated with murals and plants strung along the ceiling and we had plenty of hot water and good pressure in the shower, a rarity in Ecuador to get both. Wifi was again a bit slow and intermittent but I suspect that is the Baños telecoms infrastructure.

The Hostal was very close to the main baths which was a bonus as we were getting up at dawn every day to go there and also just two minutes walk to the centre. Soundproofing is always a problem, particularly so as our room was just below the rooftop dining room when some people decided to have a few beers late at night, but other than that, a great place to stay for $19 per night for a largish ensuite room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crellston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 385 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here. Cheap at $7.50 pp for a bed in a 6 bed dorm with private bathroom. No lockers which was okay for us as although all solo travellers, we travelled here as a group and so could lock the door. Don't stay here if you are solo though as although the pool is nice, there is no great comfy social area and the lack of locker would be a serious issue. Good breakfast and very fast laundry. Happy overall but wouldn't recommend it for solos.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank DublinGirl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Unfriendly and inactive staff. Stayed in a dormitory that was very stuffy, smelly and damp. Apparently the ceiling had been painted recently but it would still be a very badly ventilated room. None of us slept well.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cel279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had a nice private room and ensuite next to the pool for just a little more than I was paying for a 4 person dorm in another hostel which wasn't as nice in Baños.

I visited friends at numerous other hostels in town, and I think this was easily the nicest. Not the cheapest, but it really was worth paying a bit more.

Very clean and comfy, a nice pool, great rooftop views, and a social crowd of slightly older backpackers (ie, not gap years, rather mostly people like myself taking time out of their careers to travel, or going after grad school, etc.). So a very mellow mood, but always somebody to sit around and chat with over a beer.

Nice breakfasts too.

Room Tip: I'd recommend staying away from the pool. Woke up really early a couple of mornings with people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MapleHoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We paid 18 us dollars per night for a big room with bathroom and balcony. The room were very clean because they cleaned it every day. TV on the room as well with English speaking channels. Breakfast was not included but you canbuy a sstandard breakfast at the rooftop in the morning. You can then after breakfast use the kitchen to make your own meals. Not well equipped but clean. Great service downstairs with laundry, post service and Internet. Wifi is also available in the whole building. Not the greatest but still Okey. There are a pool there but we didn't use it. We would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hillihappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We found the hostel to be clean and our stay pleasant. The location is good, only a block or a few to just about anything (parque central, restaurants, hot springs). The owner/manager was friendly and accommodating, and check-in/out was easy.

Liked: One of the cleanest, more modern looking hostels we have stayed at. Clean hallways, and rooms, located right next to some of the hot spring bathing establishments and town square – although it is a small town. Balcony and view are nice, and management is easily accommodating. Easy walk to everything.

Disliked: Pillows were hard as bricks. One of us chose not to use a pillow and the other awoke with a headache. Bathroom window could not be closed, and the noise from the rooftop terrace, and music playing outside could not be closed out. With concrete walls and tile floors (typical of the entire region) the interior noise echoed as well. However once the terrace closed all was fine.

Room Tip: The majority of the noise seems to carry over from the rooftop terrace. Room views primarily face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelswithmiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hostel itself is fine. It's clean and the rooms are decent. The hotel has a jacuzzi, but it sits empty unless you find 4 people willing to pay $3 per person. Since I was only travelling with one other person, we were unable to make use of it. I was reasonably happy with everything here until checkout, when we were charged $6 for just a small amount of laundry (supposedly $1 per kilo). We definitely didn't have any more than 3 kilos done. I know it's a bit ridiculous to worry about such a small sum of money, but its actually a lot for Ecuador. Before coming to Chimenea, for the Jacuzzi, we stayed up the street at Princesa Maria, which was far better.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the stairs, because the hotel has the acoustics of a concert hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlhaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#23 of 27 in Banos
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Petite Auberge
La Petite Auberge
#12 of 27 in Banos
101 reviews
1 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 27 in Banos
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flor de Oriente
Hotel Flor de Oriente
#17 of 27 in Banos
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Chimenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Chimenea

Address: Luis A. Martinez y Rafael Vieira, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banos
#4 Spa Hotel in Banos
#4 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range: $18 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Chimenea is a comfortable, safe and modern hostel: we offer dorms and private rooms with ensuite bathrooms, balconies, hot water and excellent views of the surroundings. Our prices are 8.50 and 10.00 per person include internet and tax. Our hostel offers a panoramic terrace, private parking, restaurant/cafe, guest kitchen, book exchange, board games, luggage storage, free internet and Wi-Fi, steam health bath, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Chimenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Chimenea Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing