We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostal 1 block from the Banos baths”
Review of Hostal Chimenea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Chimenea
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed in lovely Banos for 2 nights, and loved this hostal.

Pluses:
Super clean
Onsite massage & services
free internet
large rooms with balconies
quiet
right down the street from the baths!
lovely rooftop restaurant
hot water!
super friendly and helpful staff

Minuses:
breakfast not included (but cheap!)
the pool was never filled. we couldn't use it.

HIGHLY recommend this little place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 382 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

Couldn't ask for more, room cleaned and towels changed everyday, roof terrace cafe serving delicious breakfasts and the kitchen available for guests to cook from 11am onwards, cheap spa services ($3.50 steam baths and $30 massages!!!) however I don't recommend the chocolate massage, it's a little weird!. It was an oasis during Carnival when everybody in the town went crazy!

And it's located really close to the hot springs (about 2 blocks away).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emm0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Nice, clean hotel for a great price. We stayed here for several days and were amazed by the reasonable price. Banos is a fabulous spot for fun adventures, we enjoyed horseback riding, ATVs, bicycling to beautiful waterfalls, bridge jumping and soaking in the hot baths. The hotel was a perfect resting place for us in-between our outdoor activities. The area felt safe, breakfast was good, cold drinks available in the fridge and the balcony view of the nearby waterfall was delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This hostal is ideal for all kinds of travellers. Its central location is excellent, the rooms are so clean and well maintained and each room has a little balcony. We also had a private shower room. ($8.50 per person per night) There is a sun roof with a cafe and the views of the mountains are magnificent. There is also free internet access (3 computers) It is minutes away from the thermal baths.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hostal is very clean. In the first floor is dorms and the rest of hotel is double, triple rooms with private bathroom. Great location in the front of mountains. With pool, jacuzzi and steam bath (must pay). The rooms are not so big and the bed is very small. The family that runs the hostal are very very kind family. It has a very nice restaurant located in the 4. floor very nice view. The breakfast is good. The price of private rooms are 8,50 usd which is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I am an older guy who appreciates the eclectic mix of travelers who moved through and met to converse on the very welcoming roof top. Grab a beer from the stocked refrigerator (honor system) and use the facilities to cook your own food while mixing with fellow voyagers viewing the volcano, waterfall, and moon rise.
Free computers are showing wear but an hour in the towns internet cafes cost only a dollar and there is lots more to do in this town than use computer time.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
Thank wodowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Booked a room here and was very impressed. Rooms are nice and big with good showers. Breakfast is extra but pretty good. At $16 for a room it's a great price. Hope the price stays at this! Slightly out of town so reasonably quiet. Close to the hot springs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.1 mi away
La Petite Auberge
La Petite Auberge
#12 of 27 in Banos
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#20 of 27 in Banos
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#10 of 27 in Banos
226 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hosteria Agoyan Spa
Hosteria Agoyan Spa
#18 of 27 in Banos
27 reviews
8.2 mi away
Miramelindo Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Chimenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Chimenea

Address: Luis A. Martinez y Rafael Vieira, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banos
#4 Spa Hotel in Banos
#4 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range: $18 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Chimenea is a comfortable, safe and modern hostel: we offer dorms and private rooms with ensuite bathrooms, balconies, hot water and excellent views of the surroundings. Our prices are 8.50 and 10.00 per person include internet and tax. Our hostel offers a panoramic terrace, private parking, restaurant/cafe, guest kitchen, book exchange, board games, luggage storage, free internet and Wi-Fi, steam health bath, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Chimenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Chimenea Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing