We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Cafe Hood

Cafe Hood
Ranked #4 of 132 Restaurants in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: CAFE HOOD will always strive to have interesting, thoughtful food. Our menu is innovative with a fresh look for lunch and dinner. We offer cocktail drinks, coffee and many amazing deserts. Our restaurant atmosphere was created to give peace and great memories to travelers in a cozy environment. It is our goal to provide Baños with a restaurant that showcases international food, using high quality and sustainable ingredients combined with innovative cooking. If you are look for something healthy, a good price and delicious you found it!
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

During my 4 days in Banos I had breakfast here everyday. I only went for dinner once, which was a pity because my other restaurant experiences in Banos where poor. The service is great and the guy who served us each time gave us a good tip about where to rent a bike. Highly recommended. O yeah, they served Brahma beer!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyuss_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    195
    53
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great arty decor, food and staff.”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I ate here a few times while I was in Baños. I dug the arty decor and the place wasn't pretentious at all. It's a place where you can just hang out and reflect on the beautiful town you're in. The staff were friendly and even took the time to help me with my Spanish when I ordered. The food was a good value with large portions. Maybe the only thing that could be better would be if they opened earlier, so I could eat there sooner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kurtljh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nontron, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxed place with good food and great vibe”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We ended up eating here four days in a row as the staff were so friendly and the food was great value. They have a backpacker option which includes a drink, starter and main for around $3.50, although the other dishes are also excellent, particularly the Indonesian steak!

My girlfriend is vegetarian, which can be a challenge in Ecuador, but here they have lots of vegetarian options, all of which can have meat or fish added for a small fee. The brownies are a must!

Overall, very friendly service, relaxed vibe and good food. What more could you want :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just as it appears, a relaxed and worthwhile artsy café”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Welcoming staff, great location, and tasty food with a wide variety of options. A good portion of the diverse (not typically Ecuadorian) menu caters to vegetarian tastes, but these delightful options can be amended for the carnivores among us. With a bustling Saturday afternoon outside, Café Hood was a bit calmer and inviting. I had the burrito con carne, and while not mind-blowing, it certainly hit the spot after a day of traveling. The laid back feel, good food, and creative art work makes this a solid starting point before further investigating the town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Read loads of great reviews, including lonely planet. Great location and great art inside.

Visited on a Sunday afternoon for coffee and snacks. Place was not very busy but waiter seemed pretty stressed. Was also wanting to use wifi to catch up on emails, given complicated password by waiter that didn't work and dismissively told me to check password on router that was pretty high up on the counter.
Coffee was ok, my partner enjoyed the juice and his ice cream sundae. I had seasonal fruit with cream and honey that was pretty standard but in fairness was pretty cheap in price.

Here for a couple of days but would not be going back for standard food and dismissive service

Helpful?
Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hood also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Cafe Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing