We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
111
17
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
111
17
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house sound of running water coolest hotel awe inspiring german family rustic furniture unique architecture cascading waterfalls trees growing falling asleep big balcony tranquil setting stunning scenery memorable stay spent two nights magical place trout
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 134 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

The lodge is beautiful with each room different and every aspect taken care to the final detail. Beautiful architecture with perfect functionality.
Food is exceptionally good.
The owners run the lodge and do a great job on this.
Best option in Baños without a doubt.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 2010rubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019

We were two couples traveling for a month in Ecuador and we spent two nights here.
This hotel is set in a lovely, secluded area at the foot of the Chamanapamba waterfalls – hence the name of the hotel. Although it is situated outside of Banos – a taxi costs anywhere from $2-$3.

We ate dinner here on our first night after spending the day touring the Ruta De Cascades, zip lining, and viewing the Pastaza Valley and River from cable cars – our energy level was too low to hunt for a restaurant. The service was attentive and our meals were very tasting – and the beer was cold.

Our room was comfortable, but I found the lighting poor – a few light bulbs did not work. Additionally, it was very difficult to maintain the same water temperature in the shower. Although it did not bother me, it may others – we found several large bugs in the room.

Since we arrived when it was dark, we were anxious to view the area in the morning, so we left the curtains undrawn on the window facing the cloud forest. We were rewarded with a splendid view when we woke.

There is also a well maintained trail just outside the grounds that we followed to the top of the Chamanapamba waterfalls, and we saw numerous hummingbirds as we hiked up - but spray yourself liberally with bug spray.

If you are looking to “get away” from all the action in Banos – then consider this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatharineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

We spent two nights here with our kids in the apartment and the location and accommodation were perfect. The German family who built and run the inn are terrific - very friendly and helpful. Food was good, and the ingenuity behind the whole enterprise is so impressive.

Regine helped us hook up with a great driver who took us around the area. We ultimately used him for transport to Cotopaxi.

Highly recommended place to stay in Banos.

Bill

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoulderBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

This place was the best. The owners were great. The food was delicious. They even made us ‘to go’ lunches since we were missing breakfast to go on an excursion. And, this place looks like something straight out of The Hobbit or LOTR!!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank meredithw260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

This place is fab. Family run hotel built in the mountains with a waterfall backdrop. Stunning. Our “patio” (that word doesn’t do it justice) overlooked stunning scenery. And the hotel is really quirky. Big big showers, excellent shower water pressure, lots of space. The rooms (we had a two bed suite - one room with a double bed and the other two singles) were heavenly. Comfy beds, good pillows which is just what we needed after staying in the Amazon.
There’s good food and wine served in the main building.The brekkie is good too.
Would recommend staying at this hotel. If you’re driving like we were, there’s parking on site. Banos is a taxi ride away. Great town, lovely spas and bars!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 999Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews