We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful oasis”
Review of Samari Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samari Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful oasis”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The massages are the best - we did couple massages! The pool is great! Service is great. Food is ok. The beds are hard but they the romance of the setting made up for it. We stayed 3 days and didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: The rooms by the road can be noisy but otherwise all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Godaloneis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    93
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
301
216
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Perfect room, Incredible Staff, great food, safe, secure and the view is fabulous. We have stayed there at least 5 times and will go back again. I can't imagine anyone not being very pleased. We have used the facilities for Business and Family getaways.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was in this hotel with the wife two years ago - an excellent place, this building of the former monastery is converted now under hotel a little.
Wonderful romantic place, I recommend. Here very affable and kind personnel, many of which say on ангийском that gives the chance free dialogue with them if necessary.
Round hotel находяться mountains that does a landscape around very remembered and attracting.
We cannot forget till now this place and intend to visit him again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJEK1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level Contributor
285 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed at this Hotel during the last weekend , it was an excellent choice I have been there for food, but staying at the Hotel was excellent. I was going to put a very good, because the first day
service at the restaurant was slow, but they came to apologized to us, After that everything was fabulous. We even saw the eruption of "Volcan Tungurahua", and the mushroom of ashes was fantastic, we were in the swinmingpool, and to see the 12 kilometer around 9 miles mushroom of ashes was terrific.
The spa and the massages were very good. The food excellent but above all I was on the town of Baños, and I rented an small car with my wife and grand children, and forgot at the renting agency, my drivers license, and my ID , when I returned to Quito I had to called the Hotel for some help, and the person of reception Mrs. Mayra Montoya, went out of his duty to help me, and went to the renting company, obtained the documents for me, and sent me by express mail.
This is what I call service. Besides that the place is fabulous you can walk in the gardens, see the mountains , and the place is very quite. Ask for a room not near the highway. Top Service.
this is the best a Hotel can give you

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not near the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We loved this hotel which is a converted monastery however we were one of only two rooms occupied and it was like a ghost town. There was only a skeleton staff and the spa closed early at 6pm even though they told us it was due to close at 7pm. Despite this however we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Not for those who don't like steps though as there are loads of steps up and down to get to the rooms. Also safety is a bit of an issue with a dangerous candle holder which has sharp edges and which you knock every time you stand up from the toilet seat. Also bathroom was not as clean as we would expect from an upmarket boutique hotel of this nature. Lower cleanliness than its competitors in Ecuador.

Room Tip: Watch out for the steps and be careful in the bathroom when you move around
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acadaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I recently stayed here and found everything to my liking. The staff were curtious, they had enough english speaking staff to accomodate me and they left me feeling cared for but yet they gave me my privacy. The grounds are stunning (kind of like Central Park in the middle of New York City) and the food was top shelf.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesliesz1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you're looking to relax for a bit in Banos as you trek into the Ecuadorian rainforest or into the Andean mountains, Samari Spa Resort is the place to go. We stayed there for just one night and can't wait to go back for more. Everything from the silverware to the lighting was arranged in a way that spelled out comfort and tranquility. The afternoon views of the green mountainside and the adjacent fog were breathtaking. There was soft, instrumental music playing all around the grounds, and it only amplified the sense of serenity as you waited for your meals at Samari's neat restaurant. The food was of high quality and delicious. The locro and ceviches are highly recommended. The staff was very helpful and kind. We were also able to squeeze in massage sessions at the spa for everybody in my group. The rooms: spacious yet very cozy, with everything from a complimentary basket of native fruits and sweets to cable TV.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.1 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samari Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samari Spa Resort

Property: Samari Spa Resort
Address: Av. de las Amazonas | Km 1 via al Puyo, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banos
#2 Spa Hotel in Banos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samari Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Samari Spa Resort - Where Luxury & Serenity Meet! An oasis of luxury & tranquility amidst the vibrant energy of Banos, Ecuador. A true marvel and jewel among Ecuador's luxury hotels. In Quechua Samari means "relax and feel at home". Samari Spa Resort is the result of 10 years of hard work with a vision and purpose: taking into consideration thousands of details to offer to every single guest an exceptional destination, with a unique style and outstanding experiences of relaxation, well-being and amazement. Our mission statement is to embody a new point of reference for Ecuador's luxury hotels & Tourism, offering high-quality products & services with an outstanding level of care. We are the first 5 stars luxury hotel in central Ecuador, and together with our 40 partners we share and live by these 5 values: • Professionalism • Responsibility • Honesty • Transparency • Creativity We are stronger together and we all strive to reach a common purpose: To be the best luxury hotet, Spa & Resort in the Ecuador. And we succeeded as we reached our milestone: we have been awarded the "Travelers' Choice™ 2017" by TripAdvisor! Welcome to Samari Spa Resort, the new and best way to enjoy the pleasures of life in Banos de Agua Santa, in beautiful Ecuador! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Samari Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samari Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing