We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but nobody was there and spa closed early”
Review of Samari Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samari Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel but nobody was there and spa closed early”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We loved this hotel which is a converted monastery however we were one of only two rooms occupied and it was like a ghost town. There was only a skeleton staff and the spa closed early at 6pm even though they told us it was due to close at 7pm. Despite this however we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Not for those who don't like steps though as there are loads of steps up and down to get to the rooms. Also safety is a bit of an issue with a dangerous candle holder which has sharp edges and which you knock every time you stand up from the toilet seat. Also bathroom was not as clean as we would expect from an upmarket boutique hotel of this nature. Lower cleanliness than its competitors in Ecuador.

Room Tip: Watch out for the steps and be careful in the bathroom when you move around
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acadaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    93
    36
    7
    11
See reviews for
301
216
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I recently stayed here and found everything to my liking. The staff were curtious, they had enough english speaking staff to accomodate me and they left me feeling cared for but yet they gave me my privacy. The grounds are stunning (kind of like Central Park in the middle of New York City) and the food was top shelf.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesliesz1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you're looking to relax for a bit in Banos as you trek into the Ecuadorian rainforest or into the Andean mountains, Samari Spa Resort is the place to go. We stayed there for just one night and can't wait to go back for more. Everything from the silverware to the lighting was arranged in a way that spelled out comfort and tranquility. The afternoon views of the green mountainside and the adjacent fog were breathtaking. There was soft, instrumental music playing all around the grounds, and it only amplified the sense of serenity as you waited for your meals at Samari's neat restaurant. The food was of high quality and delicious. The locro and ceviches are highly recommended. The staff was very helpful and kind. We were also able to squeeze in massage sessions at the spa for everybody in my group. The rooms: spacious yet very cozy, with everything from a complimentary basket of native fruits and sweets to cable TV.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at Samari in December 2013 and were very happy. The setting is beautiful and quiet, the rooms are like little houses set in a lush garden with views on the surrounding mountains. The staff was warm, professional and diligent. The food was good, with a very varied offer. Although this is not what I prefer, portions are huge. You get complimentary ‘canelazo’ when you arrive at the restaurant at night, and amenities in the room such as fresh fruit and toffees (on top of the rose petals on the beds!). There is soft music and nice essential oil smells leading you to the spa, in an old convent-like renovated building, where you can also enjoy an interior pool beneath a spectacular glass roof. We were happy with the way we felt they welcomed our two small kids, aged 2 and 5 (which was not the case for another well-known rival establishment in Baños). Samari is not the cheapest place, but you definitely don’t feel robbed and it offers a small haven of peace if you wish to disconnect from everyday life. We live in Quito and would definitely recommend the place/go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieMaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you have thought of a break in a place surrounded by mountains and with all the comforts of a good SPA and the budget is not limited, it is the right place. It has a beautiful pool of warm water, massage, hydro therapy etc.. Just do not expect the same sensory experience is reflected in the supply of food, which although adequate, not actually represents the name of the dishes offered, the Caesar salad is anything but steadily, the pasta sauces not correspond to its name, is really good dish that is offered on a volcanic rock to be cooked to your desire.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvaro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

If you are visiting Baños you must stay at Samari! Very well located with helpful staff. Large rooms, very clean and comfortable. The food was great and it really was good value for money. Make sure to hike into the park to check out the beautiful waterfalls.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have been lucky enough to travel to different countries and stayed in many hotels and I have to say, this resort is amazing! The pictures don't do much justice, Banos is a beautiful city and this hotel made my vacation so much better. The spa packages are worth it, after having a facial done my skin has improved and I highly recommend the "bano de cajon" box-bath, never did something like that. The food is phenomenal, every thing we ate, breakfast/lunch/dinner was excellent! The staff is so friendly, I went with my two kids and they were very accommodating. The rooms were so clean. I definitely recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Talk directly with the receptionist and she will accommodate you and your family to the best room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.1 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samari Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samari Spa Resort

Property: Samari Spa Resort
Address: Av. de las Amazonas | Km 1 via al Puyo, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banos
#2 Spa Hotel in Banos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samari Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Samari Spa Resort - Where Luxury & Serenity Meet! An oasis of luxury & tranquility amidst the vibrant energy of Banos, Ecuador. A true marvel and jewel among Ecuador's luxury hotels. In Quechua Samari means "relax and feel at home". Samari Spa Resort is the result of 10 years of hard work with a vision and purpose: taking into consideration thousands of details to offer to every single guest an exceptional destination, with a unique style and outstanding experiences of relaxation, well-being and amazement. Our mission statement is to embody a new point of reference for Ecuador's luxury hotels & Tourism, offering high-quality products & services with an outstanding level of care. We are the first 5 stars luxury hotel in central Ecuador, and together with our 40 partners we share and live by these 5 values: • Professionalism • Responsibility • Honesty • Transparency • Creativity We are stronger together and we all strive to reach a common purpose: To be the best luxury hotet, Spa & Resort in the Ecuador. And we succeeded as we reached our milestone: we have been awarded the "Travelers' Choice™ 2017" by TripAdvisor! Welcome to Samari Spa Resort, the new and best way to enjoy the pleasures of life in Banos de Agua Santa, in beautiful Ecuador! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Samari Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samari Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing