We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!!!!!”
Review of Samari Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samari Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is a wonderful Resort with everything you need. The whole staff is friendly, helpfull and kindly.
Don´t miss it!!!!!!
It was more than we expected from the spa Resort.
Only the location is a little bit to far away from the city Banos.

Room Tip: Take a Superior room, it´s a big room with 2 beds (kingsize)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AnneNeerpelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 818 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

I can't handle mold of any type and our room was incredibly musty. No screens on the windows so airing it out brought in bugs. Gorgeous room but lacking a coffee/tea maker which with the distance from the lobby was an issue. Internet not working. For the dry season it would have been much better. I wish I had stayed at Luna Runtun since reading recent reviews they seem to have amped up their service and fixed there issues. I may check out today and do this. Food is very good but and pool is nice. If not for the mustiness of the room I'd rate this place 5 stars. The bed, amenities, room and location were great. Having stayed in many other tropical locations I know that it is possible to not have it this bad.

Room Tip: Ask to see a few of the rooms before choosing. There are differences in view and outside amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It is a beautiful resort with hacienda feeling, antiques allover, each room is spacious and with decorations from the XIX century, the beds are really warm, the pool is really nice and warm surrounded by the spa, services were great. I even took my baby and had a blast. Dinner was ok, but breakfast was really good.

Room Tip: If possible get the separate family town hoses with fireplace and a bit separated from the rest of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VerCit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This past December my husband and I as well as another couple friends of ours decided to splurge during our trip to Ecuador. Though the price was a little much compared to the level of service it was defintely an incredibly memoriable experience. The gardens and antiques give the hotel a uniqueness all it own. We did get a pretty good deal on our Jr. Suites - however the owner then tried to move us to double rooms in the back of the property. Though these rooms were more removed from the street and quiter we had our hearts set on the Suites. I'd worked in hospitality for nearly 10 years and know her reasoning was that due to it being low season she was consolidating rooms and had shut the hot water off to the building our Suites were in. She did however accept that we weren't moving and had the hot water restored to the building for just 3 occupied rooms. Gotta admit that was a cool gesture. The restaurant was decent. One of our friends got to cook his meat on a volcanic rock! The morning virtual breakfast buffet was good. We were the only guests in restaurant that morning and the waitress was attentive. We ordered almost everything on the menu :) and she was gracious the entire time. Service could have been a little more timely. Given the opportunity and if we get the same deal we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgrodriguez_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The nicest hotel in Banos, also the most expensive. It is conveniently located close to downtown Banos. We had a very good experience here. Just think that it could have been less pricey because the experience didn't equal the cost. There was something odd about this hotel. The concierge consistently gave us poor advice on what to do in Banos. Here we were in the finest, most expensive hotel in Banos, and the front desk kept giving us bad advice on things to do while in Banos. I do want to say that the staff was very attentive and polite.

The grounds are spectacular. The landscaping is a perfect example of the region. The hotel rooms are beautiful and the sheets and duvets were scrumptious high thread count. The meals were very good, and the dining room had gorgeous views. The spa was excellent by Ecuadorean standards, but not up to international standards. We had expensive facials and massages, and they were good, but not anything to write home about. The swimming pool and whirlpools were fabulous because they were filled with local mineral water.

Room Tip: All the casitas are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wonderful oasis in Banos. We had a wonderful experience at the Spa. The dinner was prepared to pefection with the finest and freshest ingredients. They had a robust wine and coctail list.

The staff was ttentive to all our needs.

I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Room 37 - beuatifully decorated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were fortunate to travel to Ecuador and visit many places around the country, but nothing compared to the time spent here. Not only did we have great food, with fine wine, but relaxing in the spa was a perfect way to end our vacation. Our first time in a Turkish bath was quite an experience. The gateway to the Amazon was incredible. The staff was great. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.7 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#10 of 27 in Banos
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#14 of 27 in Banos
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
0.2 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
1.1 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samari Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samari Spa Resort

Address: Av. de las Amazonas | Km 1 via al Puyo, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banos
#2 Spa Hotel in Banos
Price Range: $188 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samari Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Samari Spa Resort - Where Luxury & Serenity Meet! An oasis of luxury & tranquility amidst the vibrant energy of Banos, Ecuador. A true marvel and jewel among Ecuador's luxury hotels. In Quechua Samari means "relax and feel at home". Samari Spa Resort is the result of 10 years of hard work with a vision and purpose: taking into consideration thousands of details to offer to every single guest an exceptional destination, with a unique style and outstanding experiences of relaxation, well-being and amazement. Our mission statement is to embody a new point of reference for Ecuador's luxury hotels & Tourism, offering high-quality products & services with an outstanding level of care. We are the first 5 stars luxury hotel in central Ecuador, and together with our 40 partners we share and live by these 5 values: • Professionalism • Responsibility • Honesty • Transparency • Creativity We are stronger together and we all strive to reach a common purpose: To be the best luxury hotet, Spa & Resort in the Ecuador. And we succeeded as we reached our milestone: we have been awarded the "Travelers' Choice™ 2017" by TripAdvisor! Welcome to Samari Spa Resort, the new and best way to enjoy the pleasures of life in Banos de Agua Santa, in beautiful Ecuador! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Samari Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samari Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing