We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and understaffed hotel”
Review of Samari Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samari Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Uberaba, MG
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful and understaffed hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The hotel grounds and pool are beautiful and suite lovely but hotel was understaffed. Front desk wasn't very helpful. When we arrived no one was there to welcome us of help us with the bags. I asked for a plug adaptador and front desk said they would provide one later that day. When I asked for it again later, it was the waiter from the restaurant who provided me with one (it seemed like front desk wasn't really able to find me one).
Food at the restaurant was good but pricey for Baños. During breakfast and dinner we were the only people at the restaurant. In fact, I suspect we were the only guests at the hotel for the entire stay as we didn't really see anyone else around except for one family at the pool the day we arrived.
But all in all, Samari is a great escape and a choice I did not regret.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RodrigoHueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    96
    36
    7
    11
See reviews for
318
226
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I traveled with a group of friends all the way from Australia to Ecuador where we joined the rest of my family to celebrated my 60th birthday in May this year at the Samari hotel in Banos and it was my best birthday ever, from the moment we arrived at the hotel we were enchanted by the hotel itself and its location, it is on the picturesque town of Banos, a hot spring resort town surrounded by beautiful waterfalls, sub tropical rainforest and to top it all the hotel is located on the footsteps of the Tungurahua volcano which has been erupting for over 11 years, that alone added a degree of excitement to our stay.
The hotel was previously a monastery built in the 17th century and lovingly restored by the current owners and let me tell you it is absolutely beautiful, we were a party of 34 people so we were given one of the most beautiful wings of the hotel and 4 cabins, the rooms were big and absolutely beautiful ,restored to their original 17th century look and yet they had all the modern conveniences you expect in a 5 star hotel and more, there were fresh flowers and a basket of fruit in every room, the furniture matched the theme of the monastery look with carved doors on the closet and on the bed head, the view from the rooms was lovely and in the gardens there were several peacocks running free and let’s not forget the swimming pool and spa and steam baths just wonderful.
The party was held in the main hall and nothing was left to chance, from the pre dinner drinks to the finger food, to the main dinner was the best quality, for entertainment during dinner we had a string trio who played all my favourite music from Opera to concerti and finally traditional Ecuadorian tunes, and of course there were the dancing (which I love) and the “crazy hour” this is the time during the party when one lets the hair down and throw caution to the wind and we all put on fancy hats and masks and garlands and whistles and confetty, etc were all excellent.
The staff was so friendly and worked so efficiently that they made it look so easy but I knew they were working very hard and always under the watchful eye of the general manager Mrs Tania who supervised the whole event.
All in all, it was the best birthday money can buy and it was worth every cent of it, my family and friends were so impressed by the whole experience at the hotel Samari that they have not stopped talking about it.
Thank you to all the staff of Samari resort for making my birthday an event to remember.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EdieFiallos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This place is not something one might would expect in South America, a beautiful property against the mountains of Baños, Ecuador with a wonderful staff, excellent spa and beatiful rooms. With fireplaces in the rooms and 5-star bathrooms it is one of the most comfortable places I've stayed. The spa treatments we received were very professional and relaxing, excellent techniques. The perfectly heated pool is amazing with a glass roof and view of the mountains, the adjecent hot and cold jacuzzis are a perfect compliment. The grounds are beautifully maintained gardens great for walking and enjoying the scenery of the dramatic mountains of the area, and the restaurant serves some of the best food in the city. As far as a relaxing spa/resort experinece we've not experienced anything better anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AwakeningLotus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansville, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

With acres and acres of beautifully manicured gardens, this 300 year old monastery converted to a world class spa resort is something to behold. We stayed here 4 nights and felt like part of the extended family upon leaving. A wonderful peaceful oasis to stay just outside the noise and chaos of Banos with exceptional service and a fabulous restaurant. Thanks again to Felipe, Paulina, and Elbe and for making our stay extra special !!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Danjodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We walked the grounds, toured the spa and saw the facilities. We were already booked so we reserved for dinner, and what a dinner it was. I tried to enter this as a restaurant but it only alsowed me to enter it as a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank yourtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Sadly we only stayed here one night. Room was how I expected it to be, Large, clean and well decorated, with plenty of hanging space for clothes.
Restaurant meal was agian very good, hot, well served and of good quality.
Based on the room rates it was better than other places we stayed.
Restaurant Manager willing to talk and show he wanted to mix with Customers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zackadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Great find, most special setting we ever have been, magical

only negatives is spa becomes pricey with 22% TAX

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jerrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.7 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#5 of 27 in Banos
311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#14 of 27 in Banos
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samari Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samari Spa Resort

Property: Samari Spa Resort
Address: Av. de las Amazonas | Km 1 via al Puyo, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banos
#2 Spa Hotel in Banos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samari Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Samari Spa Resort - Where Luxury & Serenity Meet! An oasis of luxury & tranquility amidst the vibrant energy of Banos, Ecuador. A true marvel and jewel among Ecuador's luxury hotels. In Quechua Samari means "relax and feel at home". Samari Spa Resort is the result of 10 years of hard work with a vision and purpose: taking into consideration thousands of details to offer to every single guest an exceptional destination, with a unique style and outstanding experiences of relaxation, well-being and amazement. Our mission statement is to embody a new point of reference for Ecuador's luxury hotels & Tourism, offering high-quality products & services with an outstanding level of care. We are the first 5 stars luxury hotel in central Ecuador, and together with our 40 partners we share and live by these 5 values: • Professionalism • Responsibility • Honesty • Transparency • Creativity We are stronger together and we all strive to reach a common purpose: To be the best luxury hotet, Spa & Resort in the Ecuador. And we succeeded as we reached our milestone: we have been awarded the "Travelers' Choice™ 2017" by TripAdvisor! Welcome to Samari Spa Resort, the new and best way to enjoy the pleasures of life in Banos de Agua Santa, in beautiful Ecuador! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Samari Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samari Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing