We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and hosts”
Review of Ahnen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ahnen
Ranked #45 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Ushuaia
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
“Lovely rooms and hosts”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Given the high prices around main street it is definitely worth to walk those 10 minutes not only to get the good value for money their rooms offer (and what spacious apartments, fully equipped, they are!) but also for the hosts Eduardo and family. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomirope73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Eduardo is a great host, so is his wife! We were given genuine and helpful advice about Ushuaia. The family is very friendly and at the same time gives us a lot of privacy. Eduardo is someone you can rely on. He tried his best to make our stay memorable. When we told him we want to collect Argentine coins and were unable to get them from any of the banks in Ushuaia, he offered his help and found us 10 sets of complete collection. This may sound easy, but if you did try getting coins in banks, you will discover that they are usually NOT available. We waited hours in different banks and none of them have a supply of coins. As for the accommodation, we stayed one night in the twin room in their family house and another two nights in the apartment next door. The twin room is of a decent size with a private bathroom right next to it. The room is clean, cosy and comfortable. As for the apartment next door, it is spacious and fully equipped. Very comfortable with good heating and strong shower. It’s just perfect! However, the location of Ahnen is not in the center, so you have to walk down a slope to the main street (San Martin). But given the expensive accommodation in Ushuaia, Ahnen offers good value for money.

Room Tip: Personally, I would pay a little more for the apartment instead of the twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeze213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed at Eduardo's place with my girlfriend. We took the private split room because there was no other choice, the room is inside Eduardo's house and is in a private area which contains bathroom, hot tub, shower and the room.
The room is not big but contains TV, closet, heating and beds and very comfy.

Eduardo is a great host, he will help you as much as he can. His wife makes the breakfast which includes hot water for tea or coffee, warm milk, croasons, mini sandwiches which are great, jam, butter, sweets etc.

Overall we liked it and liked Eduardo.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

This was a fairly expensive b&b, at 65 US a night, and it really wasn't worth the money.

On the positive side it was safe and warm (very,very warm in fact) and there's a reasonable hot shower. Gladys, the owner, seems nice enough.

On the not so positive side:
1) Location. It's a good half an hour or so walk to anywhere you might need to go.
2) Dogs. A german shepherd lives here. And it barks all day long. Apparently it isn't the dog that barks all night but it sure sounded the same...
3) The Breakfast. Is rubbish. Stale bread toasted to within an inch of its life, accompanied by apricot jam and instant coffee with no offer of milk? Quite the worst breakfast we've been given in six weeks in Argentina.
4) False advertising. The room is described on hostel world as a double en suite. It isn't - it's a twin room with a private bathroom which you have to leave the bedroom to use.
5) Cleaning. Could try harder - the bathroom was cleaned once in four days, the bedroom wasn't cleaned at all and there were no bins in either room. And this isn't for environmental / recycling reasons!
6) Location. Let's put it like this, it's a good way to get some extra exercise - it's a good 30 to 40 minutes to town. Also, don't be put off by the street signs which suggest this block doesn't exist. It does - just keep on walking. And walking...

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silkakt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

This place was okay. The owner is VERY, VERY friendly and we absolutely appreciated all he did for us. And from the reviews the apartments separate from the main house must be great. . . but the room in the house that we stayed in was just okay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed two nights at this cozy one-bedroom apt (bedroom upstairs with kitchen and bath downstairs). There is a double bed and a set of bunk beds, so would be great value for a small family. There was a small tv and a computer which you could use to access internet (we didn't use it tho). Kitchen was fully fitted out and there was a small fridge. The host, Eduardo, was very helpful and brought us nice baked goodies for breakfast each day. The apt is an easy walk to town (about 10 min walk to center of town) and is in a pretty quiet residential neighborhood. It is located in the backyard together with another apt next door, with Eduardo's house in front.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latitudechanges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2009

If you want to wrent an appartment in Ushuaia Ahnen is the place. With great owners really unique in there way. Two story appartment including cable tv, internet, fully equip kitchen with washer and dryer. Close to everything, 10 minutes walk to the center. Edouardo & Laly are the best persons we`ve met on our trip.Helping out with what there`s to do around, if there questions always there to answer. He`ll even go with you around the city if you like. When it was time to go after 2 weeks I just didn`t want to go back on the road. I wanted to stay right there with Edouardo & Laly.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_cyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
3.3 mi away
Arakur Ushuaia Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Cormoranes Youth Hostel
0.8 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
1.2 mi away
La Posta Hostel
La Posta Hostel
#1 of 56 in Ushuaia
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahnen

Property: Ahnen
Address: Calle Pastor Jose Maria Beauvoir 1870, Ushuaia V9410AUH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duplex flats for temporarily rent... Attention by the owners. All included: Freezer, Microwave, TV, Radio, Bathroom, Internet HI-FI: Free 24 hours. Washing machine, Telephone, Sommier-Bed (Sheets included), Individual entrance, Excelent position in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ahnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing