We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but very dated”
Review of Hostal Malvinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Malvinas
Ranked #35 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Ushuaia
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The downtown location is pretty much perfect but there are issues with this place. It feels very dated and the room we had was tiny and the mattress by far the worst of our South American trip. On the plus side, coffee (of marginal quality) and tea are available 24 hours a day.

Our bus to Ushuaia was delayed by high winds on the Magellan Straits, and by the time of our arrival at 4:30am our room had been given away. However, the owner took us to another property (which was fine) and we moved back here for subsequent nights. He was generally helpful during our stay, as were his two assistants.

All in all, a very mixed bag.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giantaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 109 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very good price/quality ratio, located 2 blocks from the pier to take the tours to the Islands and lighthouses. And one block from the main street where are the best restaurants.
Nice cafeterias one block away from the hotel: Tante Sara, and Andino

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The posted price in march 2013 is 495 pesos, and that's what we were charged. It's worth half that,with dirty carpets, thin sheets and a dank Odor. In the States you would pay $40 and not be happy. I hate giving a bad review, but this place needs a major rehab for what they charge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wideopenimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

As the Hostel/Hotel is listed with the tourist information, we thought it should do. It does, the location is good, close to the main Street (St Martin just one block away), it seems safe (locked 24hrs) and the staff is friendly. Though, the room is very tiny, the bathroom as well. The door to the bathroom can't physically be closed in our room (defect door frame). Heating works perfect (gas heater) and hot(!) water is always available. Except the size the room is ok, it even has a minibar/fridge. Tea and coffee are free in the Hostal, breakfast is poor compared to other hostels but according to local standards. The overall appearance is alright, although, they could clean the carpet once in a while. For payment, they accept credit cards and WiFi is free of charge. If they would ask reasonable prices it would be ok, but they want the rate for a hotel but have facilities for a hostel. We paid about 70 USD which is a bit too much for a Double Ensuite.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dummdidumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here in march 2010. Room was very dated but well priced.

Don,t really have too much to say as there wasn't much point staying in the hotel. I can sum up the issues we had, tv didn't work, wifi barely worked, curtains fell off the wall, shower knob came off the wall, last morning we had a power cut and no hit water.

Having said that we had a brilliant time in Ushuaia, engine tour, great hike in the national park and a freezing experience on the mountain chair lift!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Las Malvinas is an hostal, not an hotel. Rooms are a bit small and old. The staff is nice and helpful. The breakfast room is also kind of family room and the atmosphere is cool. It is perfectly situated in the town center. All in all it's a good hostal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cimballi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The rooms here are tiny for the price but Ushuaia is hugely expensive so that is to be expected. The location is great and the front desk staff were very hospitable. The breakfast is terrible - only a couple of medialunas and toast. All in all, average.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rcka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Austral
Hotel Austral
#14 of 51 in Ushuaia
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#8 of 51 in Ushuaia
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#15 of 51 in Ushuaia
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canal Beagle Hotel
Canal Beagle Hotel
#9 of 51 in Ushuaia
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antartida Argentina Hotel
Antartida Argentina Hotel
#49 of 51 in Ushuaia
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
MIL810
MIL810
#28 of 51 in Ushuaia
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Malvinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Malvinas

Address: Calle Gdor Esteban Deloqui 615, Ushuaia V9410BDM, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Ushuaia
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Malvinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing