We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hostel in great location”
Review of Antarctica Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antarctica Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cecina, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good hostel in great location”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

we had booked a double room at this hostel for 1 night in February. The hostel is centrally located and has a very welcoming hall with nice sofas, free wi-fi and a good vibe. the double rooms are very simple, but they were warm, that was the most important thing. Breakfast was different, but nice. it wasn't very hygenic from my point of view, but there were also eggs you could prepare by yourself. this hostel would be perfect, if they also had rooms with private bathrooms. the only thing that wasn't so nice was that the private double rooms are outside (like bungalows) and to get to the bathroom you had to go through the cold to enter the main house of the hostel. But then, I knew that we didn't have a private bathroom and for one night it was absolutely fine. I think that the price is unbeatable in Ushuaia, where everything is a bit more expensive. The reception staff was young and well-informed about the activities in and around Ushuaia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    170
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
106
282
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Probably one of the best hostel we have stayed in ever. Super clean bathrooms and a great comman area. But the staff is what makes it special. Gabriel and Emma go out of their way to make sure you have a great trip - including loaning us their bikes, tents and other equipment.

Can't ask for more in a hostel!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ashchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara, Russia
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Antarctica Hostel was the 3rd and the best hostel in Ushuaia for us. Great staff (they answered a lot of my questions and order a taxi to a airport for us) and lounge area, clean room with a heater + very good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slastique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This hostel is in a decent location just a couple of blocks up from the end of the main street. It has a fantastic lounge area with plenty of comfortable sofas and really good wifi (especially for Ushuaia). Dorms are fine - beds are good and as mentioned elsewhere floors would be better with a carpet or something other than bare concrete but it's not serious. Bathrooms were fine and clean and towels provided is an unusual bonus for dorms.

Breakfast was excellent & the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Worst thing I can think of about this place was that my standard small padlock was too small for the brackets on their lockers so I had to buy a big one! That's it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

After having spent 3 nights and days in this hostel, we have only possitive memories of this place. The absolut best part of the stay was the staff was extremly friendly and helpful. The common areas were warm with a welcomming and social atmosphere, (and the choice of music was perfect!! A nice respite from all the cumbia, house and american pop that is playing everywhere else). Our room was large and warm, eventhough the matresses were a little worse for the wear. The kitchen was well equiped, and the breakfeast dilicious, with the only real problem being that there were no bathrooms on the first floor :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I (like many others who have reviewed this hostel) can not say enough good things about the staff. They answered all of my questions with a smile, helped me call Aerolineas Argentinas to change my flight, helped me with my bags, and were always friendly and accommodating. The free WiFi in the common area was fast (especially for this part of the world). And their pamphlets and maps for sightseeing around Ushuaia were all very helpful.

The downsides were mainly the price (but Ushuaia is just expensive): 90 pesos for a no frills dorm room and 270 pesos for a private room (without a shared bathroom). Plus, the bar was expensive. Better to go to the grocery store for any non-alcoholic drinks, and it is not allowed to bring outside alcohol in to the hostel. The other big downside was the fact that, regardless of which room you had, you need to walk outside to access the bathrooms. Ushuaia is COLD, and this made for some freezing after showering.

Despite the pitfalls, I would stay here again if I ever come back to Ushuaia. The excellent staff made up for all of that!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Positives: Very nice staff, pleasant common area, decent breakfast, free load of laundry with hostelworld booking, good location in town though there is a strip club across the street (but wasn't loud)

Negatives: Shared shower was dirty and did not drain resulting in a disgusting pool of water to stand in, rooms have no heat, seemed expensive for what you got compared to US hotel prices (but Ushuaia is an expensive city overall)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukhoi_584th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
0.4 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#7 of 52 in Ushuaia
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cap Polonio
Hotel Cap Polonio
#12 of 52 in Ushuaia
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canal Beagle Hotel
Canal Beagle Hotel
#9 of 52 in Ushuaia
519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Ushuaia
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antarctica Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antarctica Hostel

Property: Antarctica Hostel
Address: Calle Antartida Argentina 270, Ushuaia V9410IEF, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Antarctica Hostel. As our guest you will enjoy all the comforts of modern living at affordable rates and friendly atmosphere in the heart of the southern most city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Antarctica Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antarctica Hotel Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing