We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil setting at end of the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay a few nights at Los Cauquenes prior to our Antarctica expedition. Lovely setting on the Beagle Channel - looking out the window of our room, we felt as though we were directly on the water. The restaurant had very good food and service. Breakfast was quite good. We did not use the pool or spa but it looked very attractive. Although the hotel is out of the city center, there is a frequent and reliable shuttle into town. There are wind protected small terraces outside that are wonderful for having tea or cocktails or reading.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Gerente at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

KRB81
Thank you for choosing Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa for your stay in Ushuaia.
And for taking the time to share your experience with other members of the travel community.
We appreciate your feedback.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Los Cauquenes for a week while exploring Ushuaia and the surrounding area. I would definitely recommend a room with a view across the Beagle Channel. Truly spectacular. The hotel is a bit out of Ushuaia central - but this was not a problem as the hotel provides a regular shuttle bus to and from town. While in our room we could hear the waves on the shore, enjoy bird watching from our window and relax. I was grateful to be able to return to such a quiet location after our hectic days exploring.
I would particularly like to compliment the concierge, Francisco, on his assistance with planning our excursions. He was excellent - extremely efficient and knowledgeable.
Breakfast is included in the room rate. The breakfast itself was fine consisting of a combination of buffet style hot and cold food or eggs cooked on request (very good omlettes). However, the coffee served with breakfast was truly terrible. I learned quickly to order an espresso with milk (extra charge for this) rather than to drink what was being served.

Room Tip: Definitely a room with a view of the Beagle Channel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplesable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Gerente at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Fulford M
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Ushuaia and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure to welcome you at Los Cauquenes, we enjoy hearing back from our guests.
I will take back your comments about breakfast, and discuss it with the Team. we are always looking to improve our service and the quality of our products. Thank you for pointing it out to us.
Warm regards from all the team at Los Cauquenes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights so we had a chance to sample everything the hotel had to offer, all of which was great. it started with a friendly welcome, a modern well equipped room with mountain view, and a good meal at their restaurant the first night.

Breakfast was served in the dining room with a great view over the Beagle Channel, and was very comprehensive. There is a shuttle bus to town so you don't need taxis. If you want to stay in, you can use the complimentary spa and pool.

WIFI is available for guests and worked well. The staff are helpful and attentive.

I was very impressed and recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Gerente at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

DavidH118WH
Thank you for choosing Los Cauquenes for your stay in Ushuaia, and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers from the Trip Advisor community.
Is always a pleasure to hear back from our guests.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards,
The Team At Los Cauquenes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed In a mountain view room (204) for only one night having travelled nearly 7 hours from a day beginning at 37°C in Iguazu arriving to be met by a windy & wet 6°C in Ushuaia. The welcome and amenity of Los Cauquenes was like an oasis after an arduous day. This is a resort of style and substance with well-trained and friendly staff helping to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The complimentary WiFi code offered with the room keys a very nice touch.

Whilst our very comfortable room (204) didn't have a view of the Beagle Channel the glass roofed conservatory on the ground floor with it's inviting chairs and sofas certainly afforded perfect views of the Chilean snow capped ranges across the channel. These same views were on offer from the other sitting room, bar area and dining room where the included breakfast was served. Breakfast comprised a nice range of fresh fruits, parties, cereals and fresh smoked salmon! There were hot offerings of scrambled eggs and bacon whilst the only annoyance of our stay was having to pay for a "real" coffee - which turned out to be of the pod variety - at breakfast. Come on management when there is complimentary sparkling wine available with juices at breakfast this seemed penny pinching in the extreme - you're much better than that - especially when a requested late check out was granted without any fuss.

The dinner we had on arrival at 10.15pm was OK but nothing to write home about - the waitstaff however were very well-trained and accommodating.

The gym and spa with indoor pool also have a great view across the channel.

Would definitely return for another dose of Los Cauquenes!

Room Tip: With the public areas so inviting a Channel-view room is probably not an absolute necessity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Gerente at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Los Cauquenes with other travelers from the Trip Advisor community.
It was a pleasure for us to welcome you at Los Cauquenes. We are glad you had a nice stay with us, and you were able to enjoy everything the Hotel has to offer.
is a shame you were only able to stay with us one night, we hope you are able to visit again soon.
Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your comments.
We appreciate your feedback.
Regards,
Los Cauquenes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

very efficient ,elegant hotel.
best before embarking on your patagonia or antarctica boat trip. the shuttle to town very confi.
room over looking the chanell.you fell the remotness of the place.
great king bed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosAngelesSnagov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Gerente at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you very much for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor, we appreciate that you chose us for your stay in Ushuaia.
Too bad one has been able to enjoy the Hotel for one night. Thank you for your recommendation for Rail travelers.
We hope you enjoy your expedition, it was a pleasure to have welcomed you at the Hotel.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here two nights following the Australis cruise from Punta Arenas. It's a very nice hotel/spa. We don't use the spa facilities, but they look very nice. The hotel is a bit out of town, but offers shuttle service every two hours into town. The town isn't much: souvenir shops, mostly, and of poor quality.
The only quibble that I have with the hotel is that we had poor wait-staff service at one meal out of four meals. Just totally out of keeping with the image that the rest of the hotel tries to project.

Room Tip: The odd-numbered rooms have a view over the beagle Channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Gerente at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you very much for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor, we appreciate that you chose us for your stay in Ushuaia.
sorry have been found with the Restaurant service was not with the rest of the hotel, we will send feedback to the team to improve in the areas mentioned.
Again thank you very much.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Los Cauquenes is a well run, small hotel, situated 6-7 km away from the town centre. The hotel is well maintained and staff is helpful, but this hotel is over rated. The rooms are - comparing with their prices- actually small. The swimmimg pool is also small and not much of a use. The restaurant has a limited menu and is average in taste. The breakfast is quite average. (Either pay extra for cappucinos or drink a poor quality coffee) the front rooms facing the bay has very good views. The hotel management's corner cutting frustrated us time and again. Nice hotel, but considering the charges, it represents a poor value indeed.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank erolys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Gerente at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you very much for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor, we appreciate that you chose us for your stay in Ushuaia.
I regret that on this occasion we have not met your expectations for the Hotel. We take note of your comments and try to improve in the areas you mentioned.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
2.5 mi away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
3.5 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#7 of 50 in Ushuaia
730 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Los Acebos Ushuaia Hotel
1 mi away
Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#12 of 50 in Ushuaia
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa

Address: De la Ermita 3462 | Bahia Cauquen, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ushuaia
#1 Green Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range: $193 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Luxury Resort & Spa located on the beaches of the Beagle Channel. Located at one of the most exotic places in the world, at the shore of Beagle Channel and with a beautiful view of the snow-covered peaks of the imposing Andes Mountain Range, Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa has direct beach access, and spectacular views in all areas, highlighting its unique in-out pool.. Location, distances and climate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cauquenes Resort And Spa
Los Cauquenes Hotel Ushuaia
Los Cauquenes Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing