We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northbrook, IL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Although located a ten minute drive out of downtown Ushuaia, the peacefulness and great views make up for that disadvantage. The hotel sits above a beach of the Beagle Channel. The staff were, for the most part, quite attentive. A lavish breakfast buffet gets you off to a good start each day. There are several nice areas to sit outside or inside before dinner and enjoy the view with a glass of wine. The spa facilities are quite nice as well. The restaurant is o.k., but downtown Ushuaia has many more options.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
rms11
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and for the lovely pictures you´ve shared with us.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Los Cauquenes with other travelers.
All the best from the Team at Los Cauquenes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    290
    50
    13
    13
See reviews for
258
808
63
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visited mid January with three adult companions. This hotel was chosen by the tour company for a stop over on our way to Antarctica.

A nice small resort (international small luxury hotel award) located on the Beagle Channel. As part of the service from the travel agent we were met at the airport. If one were going on their own, it seemed like the best idea is to hire a cab. Cost for the cab is ~70 pesos (~ $14 USD) plus 0.50 per bag.

Accessibility: there are no stairs entering the hotel. Rooms are on several levels. There is an elevator that carries guests to any of the upper floors. Some bathrooms have grab bars. Those in wheelchairs should be able to be easily accommodated. Just be sure to specify what type of accommodation is needed at the time of booking

Check in was fast and efficient. We arrived at approximately 1130 and were informed that check in was not until 1400. The desk clerk suggested that we leave our bags and relax in the sun room. Just as we were settling in, the clerk found us and told us one of our two rooms were available.

Rooms: Rooms are a nice size with a dresser, work table and office type chair for those inclined to work on the computer (free WiFi is provided in all guests rooms, and in the business center on the first floor). Bathrooms are large and are outfitted with quality toiletries. The rooms were clean and well maintained though it was incredibly hot. Luckily one window opened so we could let in some fresh cool air. Ladies should plan on a light weight sleeper. Be sure to pull the sun block shades from November to March as it is spring and summer in the Southern Hemisphere. During this time the sun comes up at approximately 0400 and does not set until about 2200.

The views of the channel from the many large windows was lovely. There is a common area/Florida room facing the channel where guests go to relax and enjoy the view. The staff aimed to please, and quickly responded to requests for assistance.

The restaurant is situated in a pleasant area with large windows that provided a great view of the channel. We only ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. It was a buffet with a selection of cold breakfast items and juices, as well as scrambled eggs and bacon on a steam table. All of the food was quite acceptable except perhaps the bread. When toasted it completely dried out to the point that one bite resulted in the bread shattering into pieces.

Several quibbles with the hotel:
1. There are no irons in the rooms and there are none available from the front desk. While they did offer to send the items out to be ironed, they would not have returned until after we left the next day. It is disappointing that such a highly rated hotel would not have such a basic service.
2. They were not able to cash traveler checks.

If you are going to Ushuaia for any reason the Los Cauquense Resort is a lovely spot to relax and enjoy the ambiance of the city at the “Fin del Monde”.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-K-albany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Mrs-K-albany
Thank you so much for such a lovely and through out review.
It is always nice to hear back from our guest specially when the reviews are so helpful to other visitors as well.
I´m sorry we were not able to accommodate your request for the iron, it goes with Health & Safety regulations I´m afraid.
And with regards to the Travel Checks, it´s unfortunately a legal limitation - we have, in Argentina, a very strict control over money exchange regulations.
I hope these inconvenient s did not opaque you experience with us.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your visit and for staying with us while in Ushuaia.
Best regards,
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

What I Liked Most: Good views (though not from the mountain view rooms!), attentive customer service

What I Liked Least: The price, the shuttle bus
 
The hotel is presumably the best in the rather dismal town of Ushuaia, whose claims to fame include convenience for cruising to the Antarctic or Beagle Channel (correct), being the most southerly capital in the world (generally regarded as true, although Chile makes a claim), and being capital of Las Malvinas (you decide).  The location used to be a solitary building a little out of town with a nice view of the Beagle Channel.  It is now in the middle of a housing development. They have not updated the room names. We thought we were going to get a mountain view, but actually we had a view of the houses and cars across the road (see photo). If they did not want to lock horns with Google by calling it a Street View, then perhaps Houses Under Construction View would have been appropriate.

The hotel is pleasant, with a nice swimming pool and gym. The rooms are fairly OK, though I was not impressed that they had turned off all the heaters in our room prior to our arrival. The reception staff are particularly helpful. Breakfast was a bit lame, with the coffee being especially disgusting.

As the hotel is some 7km out of town, they sensibly have a shuttle bus to take guests into town. The shuttle bus doubles as a commuting bus for the staff. For a cheap hotel, this would make sense as a good use of resources. For such an expensive hotel, this is less acceptable. That it gives priority to staff - it was usually late while waiting for staff to finish chatting with their colleagues, and does the scenic route into town because of all the drop-off points - is unforgiveable. Worse still, the erratic adherence to the schedule led to it departing 5 minutes early from the centre of town, leaving us stranded in town late at night with nothing to do but wait an hour for the next one.

Overall, the hotel is not that bad, and I would have given it 3 * or 4 * if it was around USD100. But it’s not around USD100 and I could not help comparing with the Eolo near Calafate which is in the same price bracket, and the quality difference on all counts is monumental.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 984DavidA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Good afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience with other travelers.
We are sorry to hear your stay with us was below your expectations, we do work hard to achieve the best level of service.
We will try our best to improve in the areas that you mention on your review, specially when it comes to the free shuttle service.
Regards,
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent 1 night here before an Antarctic cruise and felt very pampered. The front desk staff and concierge were very attentive and helpful. Room was spacious with a bed, 2 chairs and a small table. Ample storage space if you have time to unpack! The bathroom is a good size, good shower, nice toiletries. I think all rooms face the Beagle Channel which is a fantastic view.

We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant and both were fine. A great buffet breakfast (especially compared to the other South American breakfasts we've had included) and the dinner was good.

We didn't have any spa treatments but we did visit the indoor/outdoor pool and hot tubs which were nice. The spa area was very clean and well maintained.

Overall a lovely hotel with polite and attentive staff.

The few downsides were the distance from town and the infrequent shuttles. It's close to a 10 minute drive into town (too far to walk) and the shuttle only goes every 2 hours. It would be nice if the shuttle went every hour so that you're not "stuck" at the hotel. (Or be prepared to pay for a taxi.)

Room Tip: I think that all rooms face the Beagle Channel but double check as there's a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Owner at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
daisey_1_1
Thank you for your feedback. And for taking the time to review and share your experience.
We appreciate your comments and we will work to improve our shuttle service as much as we can.
Thank you again.
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is located 20 minutes by complimentary shuttle bus from town center on a cliff overlooking the sea and over a pebble beach.
The town of Ushuaia has nothing atractive so this location is very good.
It is a wooden building of good design and cozy interior decoration. Rooms and bathrroms are of average size with a sitting corner, writing desk, etc. The rooms facing the sea are a better option than the facing the mountain which actually means facing a residential area.
The pool and Spa, the restaurant and food everything is of good quality.
The staff is exceptionally kind and well trained offering an outstanding service,
Expect to find an international rated 4 star hotel, for sure one of the first or best of the city. Ushuaia has no 5 star hotels rated in relation to international standards, but this one I guess is the best or among the two best.

Room Tip: Best room is 107 or 207 with a balcony and larger sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
guillermohoter
Thank you for your review.
We are please to know you´ve enjoy your time with us.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and recommend our Hotel.
Regards,
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful and nice, very cozy. The view is wonderful, facing the Beagle Channel and also overlooks the mountains. The service is excellent! The concierges were very attentive and helpful, very helpful to schedule the tours and dinners. We had great dinners at the restaurants listed (Kaupe, Kuar and Chez Manu). The concierge showed us a gastronomic tour in Puerto Almaza, near Ushuaia, where we met a creation of trout and mussels and had the opportunity to taste a fresh "centolla", cooked with seawater. I recommend this tour to anyone who appreciates knowing more about the local foods and fish farming.They gave great directions! Thanks to Francisco and Nicholas.
Only the breakfast could be improved, I found it very simple and with little variety.
We spent the New Year and supper was very good. Waiters are also very attentive.I would love to go back!

Room Tip: Chose a room with Beagle Channel view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yumi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
LYHD
Thank you so much for you comments, and for choosing to stay with us while in Ushuaia.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers.
I´ll pass on your comments to Francisco and Nicolas.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Ushuaia claims to be the Southernmost city in the world. Patagonia and the Island of Tierra del Fuego are just one of the most beautiful places in the world. The hotel is located outside town, which is a choice, one good for us since it is about 10' ride from / to town. It is wonderfully located, in front of the Beagle Channel, with beautiful views. The rooms in from of the Channel enjoy these stunning views, and more expensive (for us it was worth), and the rooms looking at the other side have also good views of the mountains (in fairness, not as good as the ones with the view to the Channel). The Los Cauquenes team is excellent, all cordial, willing to help. Both restaurant and bar have the good combination of excellent food and beautiful views. We also enjoyed the spa and the pool. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: View at the Beagle Cannel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and share your experience DBDu
We are always happy to hear back from our guests.
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Ushuaia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
2.5 mi away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
2.6 mi away
Los Acebos Ushuaia Hotel
3.9 mi away
Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#8 of 53 in Ushuaia
696 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#11 of 53 in Ushuaia
722 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa

Property: Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
Address: De la Ermita 3462 | Bahia Cauquen, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ushuaia
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ushuaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Luxury Resort & Spa located on the beaches of the Beagle Channel. Located at one of the most exotic places in the world, at the shore of Beagle Channel and with a beautiful view of the snow-covered peaks of the imposing Andes Mountain Range, Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa has direct beach access, and spectacular views in all areas, highlighting its unique in-out pool.. Location, distances and climate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cauquenes Hotel Ushuaia
Los Cauquenes Resort And Spa
Los Cauquenes Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing