We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, excellent location!”
Review of Hotel Austral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Austral
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This small mid-range hotel located just one block away from the main street and not too far from the tourist dock, so you can be anywhere you may want to go in Ushuaia in a matter of minutes.

The layout of the place is a bit special - you have windows that open on a wide, patio-corridorish area, but it's quite nice, the views are great and the place is well maintained.

The rooms are spotless, quiet, comfortable and quite large and the place is designed to remain warm and cosy even in the somewhat cold and fickle Ushuaian weather, which is not always the case in Chilean and Argentinian Patagonia, where isolation and double glass windows are usually abstract concepts.

The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful, whether to help plan an excursion or find a panaderia before going on the said excursion. They really make guests feel at home!

And as an added bonus, they are very close to the best pub in town, but they are just far enough to ensure guests are not disturbed and can sleep without problems.

The only thing (and it is a bit far-fetched!) is that the corridor is made of tile, which means that any noise that is made there will reverberate all over the place, but it is only a small grain of sand in a desert of utter satisfaction.

If I ever go back to the end of the world, I will stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanLeonLePrevost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Austral
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 462 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Attractive, clean and quiet hotel that is centrally located and within walking distance of all points of interest in Ushuaia. The lobby and dining room are spacious with comfortable couches to sit on as well. The beds are large, comfy and have wonderful sheets. The staff are all friendly and helpful. If we ever come back to the end of the world we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Warm and cosy, friendly, family run hotel with nice homely touches - they even have handmade knitted penguins for sale - very cute!

Lovely spacious lobby/dinning area. Rooms spacious too, nicely decorated.

Breakfast was standard Argentine fayre but with the added treat of home made banana bread and pie.

Location is uphill from the main street (couple of blocks), but this does give great views out over bay.

Next time I visit Ushuaia I'll stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying here. Good walking distance to shopping and eating. Room very clean. Breakfast good too. Staff knowledgeable. Would recommend this place. I Would stay here again if we come back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tsquared1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights after a cruise and before moving on to El Calafate. The hotel fit the bill perfectly for convenience and value. It is located just north of the main east-west street with all the tourist facilities but on a rather steep one block incline. If you`re getting off a cruise with luggage make sure to take a taxi the short distance as the hill is not friendly to a luggage carrying tourist! The hotel is not luxurious by any means but is clean and comfortable. It is managed by a friendly couple who can help with the booking of tours and other things. Make sure to step outside in the very small green space and check out the view of the church steeple fronting the lake. I thought it was enchanting. The only drawback here is the breakfast that could use more inspiration. We also found that the hotel offered a decent exchange rate for USD. Overall, a pleasant place to return to after a day of sightseeing and good value added.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great. Very close to center though not on a main noisy street. Rooms are very specious and sparkling clean and the owner and staff are really kind and helpfull. Great choise for accommodation in Ushuaia for quite a fair price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Comfortable, conveniently central Hotel Austral has all the necessities for the " end of the world" visitor - clean and spacious room, plenty of hot water for showers, in room safe, free wifi, continental breakfast and common room computer access.
A 24 hr manned desk ensures security and accessibility.
Helpful with information when asked the hosts provide a relaxed, laid back, family style operation while maintaining great customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pmariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.0 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#7 of 51 in Ushuaia
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
0.4 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Ushuaia
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#11 of 51 in Ushuaia
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cap Polonio
Hotel Cap Polonio
#12 of 51 in Ushuaia
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canal Beagle Hotel
Canal Beagle Hotel
#9 of 51 in Ushuaia
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austral

Address: Calle 9 de Julio 250, Ushuaia V9410DDF, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range: $97 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Austral 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Austral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austral Hotel Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing