We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and wonderful view of the channel.”
Review of Hotel Austral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Austral
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

While definitely not a "5 Star Hotel," we have to give them five stars because we enjoyed everything about the hotel, and the room rate was awesome. The hotel is ideally located, just a block from the main street in Ushuaia, and just a few steps from a wonderful Irish bar.

Our room was very large and comfortable, and the bathroom was great as well. The dining/common area is not very inviting or decorated, but the breakfast was very good, and the bar in the hotel is good as well. One of our best nights in Argentina was drinking a couple of beers while looking out the hotel's large glass window that overlooks the Beagle Channel and the surrounding mountains. There was enough light to watch the view until nearly midnight. Amazing.

The hotel might not have all of the amenities of a larger hotel, but its location, comfortableness, and value, make it an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZuzuTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 467 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

LOCATION
Be careful when choosing a hotel in Ushuaia because the city is on a slope. Hotel Austral has a good location in dowtown Ushuaia: just 2 blocks (or 2 minutes) uphill from main street.

ROOM
We booked a double room and it was really big with a queen bed, a small table and 2 armchairs. No frills. Neither new nor old, but clean and very comfortable. No noise. Free wifi. The room was a bit dark because it faced an inner courtyard (as the rest of rooms).

BREAKFAST
The breakfast is buffet style but not very extensive compared to other hotels in Argentina.

RECEPTION
The attention at front desk is very friendly and sincere. When we asked about the alternative of hiring a taxi driver for a few hours to go to the Natural Park, the hotel owner himself and his son-in-law offered us to do the tour in their own car. The tour had the same duration, it was cheaper (300 ARS) than taxi drivers’ (450 ARS) and explanations came from someone who has lived in the town for many many years. We were lucky, I know it is unusual for them to do something like that; ask for it, just in case.

OVERALL
Good value for money, good location and excellent attention. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joaquin1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Small family run hotel in Ushuaia. We booked early and despite inflation still received the quoted room rate. Very conveniently located only one block from the main shopping street and restaurants. Friendly and helpful proprietor who speaks excellent English. Our room, number 6, was quiet, spacious but overly warm for our liking. Breakfast was adequate but no savoury options. Good value and highly recommended for a few days in Ushuaia.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumbo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I had a wonderful four night stay at the Hotel Austral. The room was huge which I admit was a nice change of pace after several small rooms. The hotel was quiet, warm, and the shower worked great. The staff was amazing, making reservations and calling taxis and answering all questions just like a concierge at an expensive hotel. The breakfast was good, with fruit available which was a change of pace. The hotel had a small bar and sold snacks as well. The internet worked perfectly all week and the wireless worked in my room as well as in the lobby. For the price the hotel is an amazing value. And the location is perfect--a quick walk to almost every good restaurant, and easy to walk down to the pier for boat trips. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

After spending 2 nights in a very average B n B we decided to look for something alittle better and thankfully stumbled across Hotel Austral , so close to town , so neat and clean and offering everything you need with out breaking any holiday budgets ! We liked it so much we have booked in for our final 2 nights when we return from our antarctica cruise !

Room Tip: All good rooms , set away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellyandmilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

ok, that title is a corny line we saw on a place mat at a local restaurant, but it made us laugh. This was a friendly little hotel to spend 3 night at while exploring the Tierra del Fuego. We ended up in an apartment in the lower level of the building next door which worked out well as there were 3 of us. We had a separate bedroom with double bed, and a single bed in the living area/kitchen.

The room was clean and had plenty of space for the 3 of us to spread out. We didn't really use the kitchenette, but it could have been used to prepare a meal with a burner or two, fridge, and dishes were provided in the cupboards.

Breakfast in the main hotel lobby area was perfect each morning. Pastries, fruit salad, toast on demand, coffee, juice, just enough to get you going in the morning. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Ushuaia.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterlgged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The staff at Hotel Austral are really lovely and helpful. It's a lovely comfortable hotel only 1,1/2 blocks from the main street and you will appreciate that when you see how steep the streets of Ushuaia town are. The bedrooms are dark, but we are only there to sleep, they are a good size with comfortable clean beds, the whole hotel is very clean. There is a lovely bright common area with a nice view of the town and harbour. The restaurant is very big and the breakfast, traditional Argentiniane were good, staff will try to meet requirements. They kept excess clothes when I went to Antarctica at no extra charge. The living area is also here with a TV and free internet (one computer, but not a problem, seemed to be available when i wanted to use it). This hotel is in a really location, it's clean, with comfortable bed and the staff friendly. They lock the door so one has to ring to get admittance, so it is very safe - a traveller needs nothing else. I would definately stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_Sydney1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.0 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#7 of 51 in Ushuaia
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Ushuaia
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#12 of 51 in Ushuaia
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cap Polonio
Hotel Cap Polonio
#11 of 51 in Ushuaia
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canal Beagle Hotel
Canal Beagle Hotel
#9 of 51 in Ushuaia
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austral

Address: Calle 9 de Julio 250, Ushuaia V9410DDF, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range: $106 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Austral 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Austral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austral Hotel Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing