We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Met by pleasant lady who showed us to our room and gave us time to settle there before we checked in when she made us a drink which came with homemade cakes. Room pleasant, light, plenty of space, good view of Beagle Channel from large picture window. A little noise from the next door room. Wardrobe space with plenty of hangers. Bathroom excellent with good toiletries. Shower powerful and hot, though a little difficult to get the temperature right.
Pleasantly surprised to find "snacks" served early evening consisting fresh fruit juices and savoury snacks. The breakfast was good with fresh OJ,cereals -cornflakes, Frosties or chocolate flakes. We would prefer something healthier, but know now that this is normal in Argentina. Lovely sliced fresh fruit platter. Basket of warm croissants and bread brought to table. Toasting bread available and lovely jams. Cold meat and cheese platter. Homemade cakes. Also scrambled egg and bacon on buffet. Coffee good.
Greeted by owner at breakfast every day and last morning met his wife who was very friendly and chatty. Lots of nice little touches in the rooms and public areas - local info' and local objets about without being cluttered.
Much better than an Hosteria.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyendas, Propietario at Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks a lot for your time to write about us! We are very happy to hear that you enjoy very much your stay with us. Regarding breakfast, lately we have made a survey at our facebook page to find out what our guests preference are at breakfast time as we host so many different nationalities with different tastes- We encourage future guests to become fans and let us know they preferences before arriving. Also a small note regarding the world Hosteria, here in Argentina means a hotel with less than 10 rooms, it is really difficult for us as it is confused with basic service that is why we are using also boutique hotel, but for law we have also to include the world Hosteria. All our best and we are looking forward to host you again. - Maia and Sebas - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    72
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
91
321
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent the past 3 days in Ushuaia. Maria could not have been more helpful in helping to plan our daily excursions in advance. She took care of everything we could have needed and even shifted the excursions at the last minute when we missed our flight from BA. The staff was warm and accommodating. Sebastian prepared the most delicious and hearty breakfasts - perfect for days filled with long hikes and canoeing. When we returned in the evening, we were greeted by name and reminded of the details of the itinerary for the next day. The hotel is nestled 5 minutes outside of downtown and features the most exquisite panoramic mountain views. Tierra de Leyendas features the charm and warmth of a mountain lodge with all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyendas, Propietario at Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We would like to specially thank you for such a nice review about us, and hope to be part of the best memories of your trip to Argentina. All our best, Maria (or Maia) and Sebas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Tierra de Leyendas-Team treated us like friends - taxi shuttle from the airport, a warm welcome, any possible help in organising trips & restaurant reservations (they even found a table for us on Valentine's day - and the proposed restaurant "Volver" turned out to be a real gem!), excellent dinner at the hotel (Sebas IS a real chef, try his Centolla), nice rooms with a magnificant view on Beagle Channel (only the bathroom could have been bigger, but then again, what do you do there?), small "lessons in Patagonia History"-cards at breakfast (great choice!) and on the bed every evening ...

Ushuaia itself is a nice, cosy town in the middle of a great landscape (don't miss the Penguin Island).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SZIM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyendas, Propietario at Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review and for taking your time to share your experience with us with future travelers. And specially we would like to thank you for appreciating every detail and all our daily work, We do our best every day to be the hotel we would like to arrive if we were travellers. Thanks! Maia and Sebas, and the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here. Ate in both times. Wonderful food. Hosts very welcoming. Excellent comfort and lovely decor. Stunning view from dining room. Very helpful with advise and booking of boat trip on begle channel which is a must. Also recommend walk up form chair lift on martial glacier for stunning views.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyendas, Propietario at Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks a lot for writing about us and for sharing your experience with future travelers. We are very happy that you enjoy your stay at our ¨home¨ and hope to host you again. All our best, Maia and Sebas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Everybody at the hotel was friendly, hospitable and helpful on what to do and where to go in and around Ushuaia. The location away from the town centre was not a problem - taxis are easy to call and relatively inexpensive, and the 10-minute walk down to the Beagle Channel was not unpleasant so long as you don't mind the dust thrown up by the occasional passing vehicle. We had deliberately booked a superior room so as to be sure of having a view of the Channel, and while it was comfortable, it was quite small. The bathroom had a jacuzzi which was wasted on us. The dinner was good with a (sensibly) restricted menu, but we found that having eaten there one night, we were more attracted to go out for the other two nights - which the hotel people were very happy to book for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyendas, Propietario at Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks a lot for your time to write about us. We really appreciate your comments and that you had a nice stay with us. Just a small detail that I reconfirm every time when people contact me to boo the hotel, all our rooms are exactly the same size, the only difference between a standard or a superior room is the Beagle Channel view and Jacuzzi. Regarding our gourmet restaurant, we keep it open for two reasons, because the owner is a Chef and to provide a better personalized service to our guests (as it is a restaurante only open for guests staying at the hotel). It is just not affordable to have a restaurant in a small hotel, and you may find that there is no other small hotel in town with a gourmet a la carte menu with such a variety of options as trout, king crab, lamb, etc. All our best. Maia and Sebas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of our hotel, Tierra de Leyendas. Due to our rescheduled flight we arrived in Ushuaia at 8.30 in the morning. The hotel had organised a taxi transfer for us, and had a room ready even though official check in time was not until 2pm. The hotel is a little way out of town on an elevated site with outstanding views across the Beagle Channel. There is a large modern supermarket conveniently situated at the bottom of the road. A taxi to the centre costs about 40 pesos, or you can walk there in 45 minutes. We were given one of the few standard rooms facing the Beagle channel with superb panoramic views from our picture window. The bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful and hot. There are only 7 rooms in the hotel so you have to be lucky to get a sea facing room, or pay extra and guarantee the view from a superior room.

Even though we were not entitled so on arrival, Sebastian, the Owner, offered us a delicious homemade buffet breakfast with a good selection of hot and cold food. He very helpfully recommended tours and hikes and then made the bookings and taxi arrangements for us. The hotel had already emailed us a fully comprehensive pack including a list of tours so we had a good idea what we wanted to do. The free wifi and comfortable lounge area with Internet access were added bonuses, as was the extensive library of DVD's available to watch in our room. All the staff were constantly helpful and willing to do that little bit extra to make our stay comfortable.

Sebastian had trained as a chef in a top hotel and his influence was evident in the menu and the presentation of the food in the restaurant. We ate here on the first and final night. I can highly recommend the pacific salmon, and the brochettes de langoustines with curry sauce was simply outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandAKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had an enjoyable 2 night stay in Ushuaia at Tierra de Leyendas. The smaller, intimate feel is what we were looking for. The entire staff is very friendly and helpful. We felt like we were staying at a friends home. We were disembarking from our ship early our check-in day and didn't want to just roam the streets. They did a great job accommodating us showing up at 8:30 AM.

Our stop in Ushuaia was the "middle break" of a longer trip. We were tired and just wanted to get laundry done and relax. This was a perfect choice. Their in-house laundry program was a little pricey, but the laundry was done and no effort on our part. Our room had a great few and was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobTrav3400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.8 mi away
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
1.8 mi away
Los Acebos Ushuaia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#10 of 54 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
2.2 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#13 of 54 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Las Lengas
Hotel Las Lengas
#19 of 54 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel

Property: Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel
Address: Tierra de Vientos 2448, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Green Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have created the place we would like to arrive at if we were travellers...Outside, we are surrounded by the purest views in South Patagonia.Inside, we enliven the rooms with myths and tales hidden in the timesAs a whole, a rustic style boutique hotel decorated with fine local materials, creating a warm and informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra De Leyendas Ushuaia
Tierra De Leyendas Hotel Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing