We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa de Alba is a quiet and safe accommodation for backpackers”
Review of Alba's House

Alba's House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alba's House
Ranked #21 of 48 Ushuaia B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Hostel Casa de Alba is a quiet and safe accommodation for backpackers. Our room was clean, beds were made daily and the linen was changed during our stay. Shower was a bit cramped but OK.

Casa de Alba is at 20 minute walking distance from Ushuaia centre, taxis however are cheap. The lady owner is friendly and welcoming. She has all the pro’s and cons of a lady in her fifties. She kindly gave us all information we needed to visit around Ushuaia.

The hostel has a breakfast room with library. There is a kitchen that can be used for making tea. Wireless Internet is free of charge. Adequate breakfast is served by the lady-owner.

The airport pick-up service of Alba is highly overpriced, you better just get a taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Alba's House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

We spent one whole week at Albas B&B. From the very moment we arrived, we were welcomed warml by Alba. She gave us all the information we required to visit the city of Ushuais which is set set in a very beautiful surrounding. We enjoyed her warm hospitality. The room was spacious and very clean. The beds were made daily and the linen was changed during our stay. We would definitely choose Albas again, should we return to Ushuaia.
Juanito & Maria Perera
Sydney,Australia

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airamSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Stayed at Alba's in December. She emailed me about airport transfers for $25ARS. I had read the previous post that the taxi rates were only about $12ARS from the airport. I can confirm this. Alba is ripping people off before they even get there.

Once we arrived, and she fnally answered the door, she started off berating me since I did not let her know when I would be arriving. It was not terribly late, maybe around 10PM.

The next morning I was awakened to construction noise around 8AM. She is having lots of work done on the property. It is not quiet even though you are a 20 min walk from downtown.

I also did not have any cold water in my bathroom the entire 5 days we stayed. In hind sight we should have checked out but we were very busy with activities during the day.

Lastly the internet was very slow, if working at all.

I would not EVER stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We arranged to stay at Alba´s and were told they could pick us up from the airport for AR$25 per person ($50 in our case) and we waited for someone to show a sign at the airport however this was not forthcoming. We then figured there had been a communication error and caught a AR$12 taxi to Alba´s. We were annoyed to find they were going to charge us nearly 5 times the going rate for a pick up.

After the 5 minute journey from the airport we arrived at Alba´s to find no-one home and whole building locked up. We were advised on email that the reception was 24 hours but obviously this is not the case. There was no note to say if anything adverse had happened and yet we waited for a full hour in the freezing cold hoping that someone would arrive.

We gave up and went and checked in at the Tango B&B and will provide a full review in a few days!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank angieb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Very nice place!! we had a great time in ushuaia thanks to albas advices.
the first day we came alba sat with us and gave us maps and a list of all the must do things or must visit places. she also gave good adives on were to eat to save some money

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincent0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Stayed before and after a trip to Antarctica. Alba is super friendly.
It was handy to have the breakfast room to socialise as were a group of 6.
Breakfast was ok - middle of the range for what we experienced in Argentina.
Price was more than equivalent places in Argentina but it is Ushuaia and its good value in comparison to others in town.
It was quite a walk into the main part of town - 20mins or so but there is a nearby supermarket and taxi's are pretty cheap.
The rooms were cosy - some of the bathrooms quite cosy too but functional and clean
Alba was quite keen to help book various tours for you around Ushuaia and she had lots of information about things to do.
Beware the slightly rickety quite steep stairway if you aren't on the ground floor!
Free internet too

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

This bed and breakfast is a good choice, if you don't need a central location or rooms like in the Ritz.
This bed & breakfast lies in the western part of Ushuaia in a quiet residential neighbourhood. You need to 20-25 min to walk to the center of the town, but there is a supermarket nearby. If you have rented a car, the area is ideal, as you will have no problem finding parking space.
Alba, the host, will take great care of you: supply you with a map, recommend sights and offer advice. She will look after you like a mother, but won't patronize you. I rarely felt so welcome away from home.
You can also book tours with her. We booked a very memorable horse ride in the nearby national park and the price was the same that any travel agency downtown would have charged.
The rooms were basic and a bit worn, but clean. Breakfast was excelent and varied, though the portions were not exactly enormous.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank singtfalsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
1.3 mi away
Torre al Sur
Torre al Sur
#48 of 56 in Ushuaia
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viento del Sur B&B
Viento del Sur B&B
#27 of 48 in Ushuaia
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aijpel Bed and Breakfast
Aijpel Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 48 in Ushuaia
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Las Retamas Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Tango B&B
Tango B&B
#20 of 48 in Ushuaia
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mysten Kepen B&B
Mysten Kepen B&B
#2 of 48 in Ushuaia
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba's House

Address: Calle Belakamain 247, Ushuaia V9410BVA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ushuaia
Price Range: $44 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quiet simplicity, where quality service and friendship are valued. There are few rooms, so we have a very personal contact with each guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Alba's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing