We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alba's House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Via Rondine(Ushuaia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Monaco(Ushuaia)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
La Posada(Ushuaia)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
15
17
14
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
17
14
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 50 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Experiencing some B&B and Hostels you will find the guestkeeper sometimes very hearty and interactive with their guest, sometime you'll find them down-to-earth and transaction-orientated. The latter counts for Alba B&B.

Considering the room and the private bathroom (towels included) everything was all right. The room was spacious and the bathroom had everything needed.

Breakfast was already organized for every table in the morning- guest were on their own and could serve themselves.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The location is not so bad. The city is small, so everything is close. The place is about 10 minuts from the main street - on foot.
The hostess is not friendly. She gave me some ironic speechs for little things, like when i called her by the ringbell as she hasn´t given me my keys.
She tries to push some excursions. I dont know if they are more expensive. As she was unpleasant i refused it.

The rooms are nice. Clean and warm. Not noisy.
The bathrooms are ok. I could see the bathrooms from two others rooms.
The shared bathrrom is ok as well. Clean.
There is a room for one person as well.
The breakfast is good and fair. Coffee, milk and yogurt. There is cereal, bread, butter, jam and also a piece of cake.

The price is good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

A great little ´house´about 20min easy walk to the main restaurant´and shopping precinct....good walk to work off the icecream!!! We have been staying here for nearly ten days and just loving it. Breakfasts are served every morning from 8am -10pm and include the most delicious coconut cake as well as toast, cereal, yoghurt, tea and coffee. The rooms are clean and when we re-booked she made an effort to convert the 2 single bed room into a double bed for us. Clean towels and shampoo and soap included. Rooms are incredibly warm and showers are hot and very soothing. Aftter we returned from our trek we had all our dirty and smelly clothes washed and cleaned in 24 hours. She is very very helpful in booking taxis, local tours etc for you and when you arrive will provide a map of the town as well as info on local attractions and tours. You are rovided with a key to the gate, house and your room and you can come and go as ou please. She also has a small lap top and wifi you can use at anytime at no extra cost........i just wish we could speak spanish to get to know her more.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flick30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

The room is very simple: bed, chair and coat rack.
Clean linen and towels, a good heater to withstand the cold.
Shower with hot water and relatively clean. There was a bit of slime on the tiles, but nothing that compromises.
The hostel is quite simple, with few bedrooms. Is nothing more than dining room , where we take the breakfast and the bedrooms. There is a tv in the lounge, some board games and books, but not enough to be a living area.
Ms. Alba was attentive, explained about the activities in the city and handed us the key to enter the hostel and dormitory.
It looks exactly like the site: a big house where they used part of it to an inn.
Distance to city center is not really big (20 min), but with very cold and rain is not pleasant.
The breakfast is very good, cereal, juice, coffee, milk, bread, butter and jelly cake.
There is no fun or entertainment, but if the interest is sleeping well for a walk the next day is a good choice. The place is extremely quiet and sleep is sure to be enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naty_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Hostel Casa de Alba is a quiet and safe accommodation for backpackers. Our room was clean, beds were made daily and the linen was changed during our stay. Shower was a bit cramped but OK.

Casa de Alba is at 20 minute walking distance from Ushuaia centre, taxis however are cheap. The lady owner is friendly and welcoming. She has all the pro’s and cons of a lady in her fifties. She kindly gave us all information we needed to visit around Ushuaia.

The hostel has a breakfast room with library. There is a kitchen that can be used for making tea. Wireless Internet is free of charge. Adequate breakfast is served by the lady-owner.

The airport pick-up service of Alba is highly overpriced, you better just get a taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews