We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional with a great view”
Review of Tolkeyen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tolkeyen Hotel
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Functional with a great view”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Seemingly geared more to group travel, the hotel is a pleasant if functional facility for a popular jumping off point in a Patagonia exploration. It is, one should be aware, 5 km out of town, in a location with a great view. They have limited free shuttle service to town, while taxis will cost roughly US $8 each way. The hotel offers solidly mediocre food, with spartan breakfasts that are deployed in limited quantities. Eat early before they run out! The dinner menu appears very extensive, but quality of preparation is haphazard, despite the enthusiastic efforts of the wait staff. Don't get your heart set on a food or drink item: it may not be available.

Room Tip: If your group travel takes you there, you will be fine, if underwhelmed. Given the choice, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picturedesk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    135
    73
    7
    6
See reviews for
63
159
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed only one night. We arrived early & were checked in no problem. Hotels is $6 cab ride out of town, with shuttle at set times. Room quite large, a bit tired but comfy. Breaksfast poor, no hot choices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gungadin3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here for 5 days in March 2011 before boarding the M.V. Plancius for a 6 week trip to Madeira via Antarctica. Cannot praise the hotel too highly. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent and the view from the dining room across the Beagle channel was breathtaking. It is a lovely, quiet hotel just a few dozen metres from the beach with all its incredible bird life. I would recommend this to anyone who loves the TDF scenery, wildlife and wants a quiet hotel away from the centre of Ushuaia.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamEkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for 3 separated nights on the way to Rio Grande during a business trip. The hotel is located a little bit far from downtown, by the Beagle Channel and with a impressive view to the mountains, quite scenic! The hotel itself is ok, the rooms need a little renovation. The staff has been always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, the best I had during my trip to Tierra del Fuego, considering two other hotels I have stayed in. Dinner was good also, but of course there are many other options at Ushuaia. WiFi works fine, but just at the reception lobby and restaurant. Overall recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

the hotel was in a beautiful location on the Beagle Channel
The room was spotless and very quiet. staff was very helpful.
the restauraunt was good and i enjoyed 3 meals there. The Breakfast was good and there was more than enough to eat . I am going to recommend this hotel to all my friends
who go to Antartica. There is a hotel shuttle to town and whenit was not availble
you could get a taxi .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allan1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Thin see through sheets, towel with big hole in it, no carpet underlay,wardrobe runners were worn. Wouldn't slide. Chips n marks walls. No mattress protector! Bidet wobbly, hair dryer off wall, bath grouting cheaply applied. Breakfast not supplied with plate. Just a cup & saucer one knife spoon. No cereal. Just stale bread roll cut 1" wide slices plate with thin cheese ham, no tongs or fork. Had to sit w workers who stay there as no other tables set! The list goes on... Go to Altos

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tintbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

On arrival reception staff were very friendly and spoke reasonable English. The room was a reasonable size although a little dated. The view from the bedroom window was spectacular across the Beagle Channel to the mountains. The room was nice and warm and the bathroom was OK with a whirlpool bath and hairdryer. There were some English channels on the TV including BBC World News. There was free WiFi in reception. We ate in the restaurant on two nights and could not reccommend it. The food was bland, tepid and the service was poor. The Hotel offers a free shuttle into town where there are many places to eat. The breakfast was average for Argentina i.e. toast, croissants, cheap ham and cheese slices and orange squash.
In summing up, fantastic location, but eat in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.9 mi away
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Las Lengas
Hotel Las Lengas
#18 of 53 in Ushuaia
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#14 of 53 in Ushuaia
677 reviews
2.0 mi away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Nires
Hotel Los Nires
#20 of 53 in Ushuaia
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolkeyen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolkeyen Hotel

Property: Tolkeyen Hotel
Address: Del Tolkeyen 2145, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ushuaia
#12 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tolkeyen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tolkeyen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tolkeyen Hotel Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing