We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first experience at a parrilla!”
Review of La Rueda

La Rueda
Ranked #97 of 151 Restaurants in Ushuaia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
874 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
“Great first experience at a parrilla!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were drawn inside 'La Rueda' after window shopping for a place to have a local dinner. It was our first time seeing this type of BBQ. Whole lamb, pig, and chickens being cooked on the large, open fire pit, glassed inside with a view to the street outside! It smelled so delicious, we had to go in and try it! The man cooking the BBQ, was very friendly and delighted in giving people extra large portions of whatever meat they asked for. We had to try a little of each along with the sausages. We found the lamb and chicken to be very juicy and tender and our favourite, although it was all very good! The rest of the food was buffet style with a good variety of salads, cooked, hot and cold vegetables and various desserts. The servers were kept busy as this place packed in very quickly with large groups of tourists and locals. We ate early and were done before the rush started around 8pm so had no complaints about our service! It was a great Argentinian food experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    57
    30
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
718 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Great Buffet, Good Price, But It Was Crowded!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I did not know what "Tenedor Libre" was until someone explained that it was buffet. There was a variety of salad, vegetables like beans, corn and potatoes and meat- pork, sausage, beef and the famous Patagonian lamb. If you can find a table, be prepared to have good food for a reasonable price.
You will have to bring a plate and fall in line to get your meat but the line goes fast. The service was okay but because they were extremely busy, they servers were in a hurry. They had delicious "flan" (custard).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“All You Can Eat BBQ”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We passed by this restaurant and saw the big open oven roasting whole pig/lamb. We had to try it. It was $26 per person All You Can Eat. I'm not much of a meat eater, but their meat are pretty tender, especially the chicken and brisket. I enjoyed it but with the money that I paid, I'd enjoy a seafood that I can have there in Ushuaia more. But it's just my personal preference.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elainequang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Just bad”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Relatively expensive for bland food, and poorly cooked on top of that (I ended up with food poisoning). Much better options in Ushuaia.

Helpful?
Thank mochileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good cordero al asador”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a place to go when you are hungry. Tenedor libre (all you can eat for a fixed price) of cordero, vacío, chorizo, chicken and morcilla. Included french fries, mashed potatoes, salads, and other dishes. You have to go and get what you want from the salad bar and the asador. This is good as you get to pick exactly what you want. The guy at the asador is very friendly and accepts exactly what you request. The morcilla and the lamb are a must. It has a price from Monday to Thursday (AR$110) and AR$140 for the other days. Plus beverages.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank flaco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rueda also viewed

Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 

Been to La Rueda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing