We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refuge at the end of the world”
Review of Hotel Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Albatros
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Ushuaia
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Location: Conveniently located several blocks from the harbor and one block from the main tourist shopping strip (Avenida San Martin). 10 minute walking distance to La Anonima Supermarket (on the west end of Avenida San Martin past Sarmiento.)

Hotel: Reminiscent of a wooden ski lodge. Well-maintained. Clean. Has 4 floors with elevator. Contains a restaurant with seafood/ lamb/ beef at $25-30 per entrée. Includes free continental breakfast (toast, pastries, yogurt, coffee). Tiny gym (with a stationary bicycle, jacuzzi under construction, sauna), Three computers with free internet. Free wifi. Free luggage storage. Hotel is primarily geared towards tourists of the Antarctic ships (i.e. Quark). Currently exchanges 6 Argentinian pesos to 1 dollar. Check-out is 11AM. Most Antarctic ships leave around 3:30PM. Late check-out for an expensive additional fee.

Rooms: Adequately sized, European style rooms. Decent furnishings that are clean and comfortable Has mini fridge, shampoo/ conditioner.

Overall: Albatros Hotel is a fine resting spot at the end of the world.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 973 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for 1 night before boarding a ship. The rooms are clean and comfortable but rather cramped. The restaurant serves an excellent lunch and dinner, but lacks intimacy and is rather bare. It's central for the port and main road of shops, but is over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here as part of my cruise to Antarctica. Couldn't fault the room. Wifi in most areas around the hotel. Good buffet breakfast. Nice central location to spend time wandering the streets and the hotel accepted large number of guests sat around waiting for boats. Only issue was the toilets in the restaurant area were being worked on is hopefully they will be better soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel itself is ok, however the staff have absolutely no concept of customer service. I had some trouble with my booking and they made me pay for two nights when I only stayed for one night. When I said I wasn't happy about this they threatened to call the police on me. This was completely unprovoked and was extremely upsetting especially being a lone female traveller.
When I asked to speak to the manager he said and I quote "Your complaint doesn't mean anything because we get thousands of people staying here a year anyway". No one should be spoken to like this and as a manager he was extremely rude and unprofessional.

To top things off it takes an hour just to receive a simple order of scrambled eggs, this happened to me and other people I spoke to who were staying there.
Although the location is good, it is completely overpriced, and forget about decent internet connection.. it takes ages just to send a simple email.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nomadic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel which is located in the tourist section of Ushaia one street from the busy pier. The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Some other reviewers had mentioned that the rooms were too hot, but I found that opening the windows provided a nice breeze and made the room very comfortable. The breakfast included cheese, ham, rolls, cereal, yogurt, fruit, milk, coffee, and tea. I felt that it was a decent breakfast. I would stay here again if ever in Ushaia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night while in Ushuaia. The room I was in had two queen beds and was a bit on the small side for the price of the room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The free Wifi worked great everywhere I was in the hotel. Everything in this hotel was overpriced. A small bottle of water cost about $3.50 in the hotel restaurant. There was a spa, but I didn't use it. I didn't eat the included breakfast but received average reviews from others who tried it. The staff spoke good English, but seemed to always be busy and over worked. The service in the restaurant was horrible. I ordered scrambled eggs and it took 45 minuted until I received my order. The waitress kept saying that it was coming. This hotel is in a great location on the waterfront, but Ushuaia is so small, almost every hotel is in a great location. I would look for a better value option next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danimal2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Only spent one night here before boarding our ship to the Antarctic but everything was perfect. Nice big room, great location and first class service. Couldn't have picked a better hotel in town. Close to harbour and shops, very friendly and helpful staff, used to making everything easy for their guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Lengas
Hotel Las Lengas
#16 of 50 in Ushuaia
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#8 of 50 in Ushuaia
739 reviews
0 mi away
Canal Beagle Hotel
Canal Beagle Hotel
#10 of 50 in Ushuaia
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Ushuaia
728 reviews
1.9 mi away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
0.2 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#12 of 50 in Ushuaia
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albatros

Address: Calle Maipu 505, Ushuaia V9410BJK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range: $114 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albatros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic 4 star hotel in Ushuaia center, in front of its port.Comfortable rooms, exquisit meals at our restaurant and an excelent spa service makes the Hotel Albatros the perfect accommodation option at the southernmost city of the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing