We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Start!”
Review of Hotel Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Albatros
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Ushuaia
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Start!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Although we only stayed here one night before embarking on our trip aboard m/s Expedition, it was a nice hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room had all you needed. Only problem was the temperature in the rooms was too hot, no temperature control, so we had to open the windows. Continental breakfast ok. Bar/cafe pleasant. Central location for shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    405
    275
    47
    21
See reviews for
172
453
94
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before our cruise to Antartica. Room size was average (Bathroom can be bigger) but due to some issues with the booking with Expedia, we did not get our queen or king bed, and had to settle for a twin bed. We also did not get the higher floor which we have requested.

Room came with breakfast which was simple. No big spread, only the usual toast, cereals, fruits and eggs. Dinner was pretty decent though i found it overpriced. There was free Wifi at the restaurant and the lobby.

Location was good, walking distance to the town and the mini mart.

Overall, a decent hotel as long as you do not have too high expectation!

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandagal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was a nice hotel in the heart of Ushuaia. Breakfast was nice - much better than typical U.S. hotel breakfast. Easy walk to everything. Seemed expensive, but that could have been the time of year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Carol984010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret river, western australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is the one used as a starting point for Antarctic cruises. When we arrived in Ushuaia our agent took us to The Cilene, a short distance away, and informed us that this would be our hotel. But alas after 2 nights at the Cilene (which was excellent) we were moved to the Albatross. What a disappointment. The room was dingy (dark decor) and tiny. We were below ground level and our window looked up to the pavement . The only positive thing about this hotel is that it has a reasonable bar and restaurant area overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mildenfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights pre Antarctica. Some minor problem at check-in but quickly sorted, but were too late to upgrade from Twin, which was a shame as it was for our honeymoon.

Good clean room with reasonable space, we were on first floor which is a bit noisy when people check-in or out as there is a wooden platform in and out of hotel adjacent. So best to get a higher floor if staying for any length of time.

Friendly staff - free WiFi in lobby for guest (room signal not so good) and a decent restaurant at the hotel too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTGULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here as part of Quark Expeditions prior to Antarctic cruise with them. One night included, I added one for more time to do the sights in town and Tierra del Fuego park. Beds comfortable and shower good but hotel and rooms grossly overheated. We asked for the heat in our room to be turned down but they said it was regulated at the floor level and they couldn't. The only way we could sleep was to open windows all the way, no screens of course so we had a few bugs. But better than trying to sleep in an oven. The lobby also very, very hot. Wifi okay in lobby but not in rooms. Breakfast awful and service in restaurant very poor. If you are part of a tour, I recommend you book extra nights elsewhere despite having to change hotels, it is not worth $200+ a night. Location is very good.

However, Quark Expeditions, and the tour to Antarctica, was EXCELLENT. Highly recommend this company, wonderful experience, very well organized and professional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here two nights prior to embarking on an Antarctic cruise with G Adventures on the MS Expedition (amazing product!) This hotel is pretty clearly the best property in town that could cater to large groups getting on or off ships (it may well just be the best quality hotel in town too..) Its nice enough - I think if booking direct it is pretty overpriced for what is essentially a decent Holiday Inn. That said, the rooms were clean (if a little small) and warm, the shower worked and there were some movie channels on the tv. So there is nothing to complain about at all. decent - but as a part of a package so i have no idea what it should cost. Its also ridiculously close to the port so if you're taking a ship you can walk to it..

Room Tip: ask for a room that looks out to the sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.2 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#11 of 52 in Ushuaia
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#7 of 52 in Ushuaia
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Ushuaia
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cap Polonio
Hotel Cap Polonio
#12 of 52 in Ushuaia
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albatros

Property: Hotel Albatros
Address: Calle Maipu 505, Ushuaia V9410BJK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albatros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic 4 star hotel in Ushuaia center, in front of its port.Comfortable rooms, exquisit meals at our restaurant and an excelent spa service makes the Hotel Albatros the perfect accommodation option at the southernmost city of the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing