We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located in the heart of town”
Review of Hotel Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albatros
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Ushuaia
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
414 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Centrally located in the heart of town”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Ushuaia is a fairly small town and the standard of hotels is not what is available in large cities. We stayed one night and while the rooms were small, they were comfortable and adequate for our needs before boarding a cruise ship for Antartica-it's directly opposite the cruise ship dock so saves time and cost getting from your hotel if that is your intended destination.
Being near the centre of town, the Saturday night revellers kept us awake until the very early hours so if you are there on a Friday or Saturday night try to get a room that doesn't front one of the 2 streets.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast selections reasonable. One of our group fell sick had to return to the hotel after checkout and before we boarded the boat late in the afternoon-the staff made a room available at no cost which we really appreciated

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    396
    269
    46
    21
See reviews for
166
447
91
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, NH
Level Contributor
325 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

After a 9 day cruise to Antarctica with minimal internet connectivity, we asked the ship's staff where can one go in Ushuaia and connect. The consensus opinion was the Hotel Albatros, and we saw many of our fellow ship travelers doing just that in the lobby cafe. Most of us had several hours to kill before flying out of Ushuaia, and this place is right across the street from where the ships dock, very convenient. Internet was great, coffee and rolls hit the spot on a typical rainy Ushuaia day, and it was the perfect place to catch up to the world after a week away in Antarctica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NH_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel has basic but nice rooms and a good resturaunt. Hotel staff are very accomodating. One problem is that Housekeeping uses a very strong scented deoderizing spray each time the room is cleaned. The odor builds up and can be overpowering if scents bother you. We needed to fold up the bedspread and put it away and prop open the windows and door for a few hours to reduce the smell.

Room Tip: Street sice rooms give you a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
597 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel. The room is clean, but no view. The bathroom extraction fan was not working. The TV has only one English chanel and the free WiFi in the room was very slow and not working half of the time. The hotel is well situated, close to everything. The breakfast was sub standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

To make a criticize of a place which is visited by a great number of people that come around the world, isn't simple. Everybody has their own values and criterion which differs from the others related to hotels, meals, sights, and so on. And at the same time, every place on the world has their own temporal problems and advantages. I guess if we consider the average of hotels in Argentina, such as their services, if it is cozy or not, well located, etc on a city which stays all the seasons almost fully booked, The Albatros Hotel should on the average of them. On the other hand, its price does not justify their excuses to not invest in improvements which certainly is charged on price, for example: the water in the bedrooms is "green" (not treated) but definately is not a "green" hotel, there is no higene on the restaurant area, old furniture and not preserved (tubes tv set), the wireless network is unstable and reachable only at the lobby, there is no security on parking area (neither cameras) which is open to the streets behind the hotel and they do not consider themself responsable to the vehicles parked there, there are no other public areas just rooms, lobby, restaurant and parking area, etc. For all of these (despite its location which is the best in town) I guess makes it one of the expensive hotel in the town and I should say in South America (comparing it to other international cities like Rio de Janeiro). If you don't mind to pay for a five star hotel's price and access your e-mails at the cafe on other side of the street, this could be your hotel once at Ushuaia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneLouise_Marcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've stayed in 3 hotels in Ushuaia and Albatross is least comfortable and least friendly. Third floor room and bathroom are small for two people. No space for any but minimal toiletries. Few plugs for charging electronics. Couldn't get wi fi in room, but is good in lounge. Quiet, and windows open to clear stuffiness. Immediate access to tourist street and port. Lobby, restaurant, and meeting rooms lovely. Breakfast extensive and includes eggs. Receptionists passable in English. Cleaning staff enter room 2 hr. before checkout. It seems to be major hotel booked for Antarctic tours of people who have been in transit for 24 hr. Staff periodically come through lounge and wake up sleepers. It would be an OK place for 160 pesos.

Room Tip: Go to Hotel Austral or Hostel del Bosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethnCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Let's face it. You will probably only stay at this hotel because it is part of your Antarctic cruise package. We booked at this hotel for two nights because we wanted to be sure to get to Ushuaia in time for our Antarctic cruise. Due to a general strike in Buenos Aires, we lost one of our nights staying at this hotel. No great loss.
Ushuaia is obviously a very cold place and the hotel has adequate heating. The rooms were small and so was the bathroom. Our window looked out over the hotel car park. Not terribly scenic. Reception service was adequate. Undoubtedly the worst thing about this hotel was the breakfast. What breakfast? We got down to the breakfast area early, only to find no dishes, no cutlery,no food. A lot of people had been there before us.The waiting staff weren't particularly interested in replacing anything. If there had been any food, all tables were strewn with dirty dishes and cutlery. We went up to the main shopping street to find a coffee.
We were booked in to stay another night at this hotel when our cruise ended. Due to changes in our flight itinerary ( this can happen often in South America ) we also lost this night at the hotel. No great loss again. A shame we also had to waste our money.
Unless you need to stay close to the dock for a cruise, there are far better accommodation opportunities outside the township, up in the hills.

Room Tip: Don't stay, if you can help it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LionessGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ushuaia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.2 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#11 of 53 in Ushuaia
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#8 of 53 in Ushuaia
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#14 of 53 in Ushuaia
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Lengas
Hotel Las Lengas
#19 of 53 in Ushuaia
521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canal Beagle Hotel
Canal Beagle Hotel
#10 of 53 in Ushuaia
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albatros

Property: Hotel Albatros
Address: Calle Maipu 505, Ushuaia V9410BJK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albatros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic 4 star hotel in Ushuaia center, in front of its port.Comfortable rooms, exquisit meals at our restaurant and an excelent spa service makes the Hotel Albatros the perfect accommodation option at the southernmost city of the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing