We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax here before your expedition”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Albatros
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Ushuaia
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
388 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Relax here before your expedition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I enjoyed this hotel. The expedition company booked this hotel for my sister-in-law and I prior to our trip to the Falkland (Malvinas) Islands, South Georgia Island, and Antarctica. We arrived a day early and stayed two nights in single rooms. The location was great--just across from the boat docks (and Tourist Information Center) and located in the central part of town. The room was clean with the usual amenities. The window opened to the outside to let in fresh air. The bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly. The food in the restaurant was tasty. The hotel had free Wi-Fi. My sister-in-law has stayed in other hotels in Ushuaia, and said she liked this one. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandc8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    388
    265
    46
    20
See reviews for
164
436
90
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curacao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel really needs to be upgraded. Rooms are old and smell. The steam bath in the spa doesn't work, the whole feel and look inside is of a rundown hotel. In short; you should have stayed here 15 years ago, but you're to late now!

Room Tip: don't know if any are updated... mine was old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marniks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ushuaia hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

The rooms are very spacious (we shared a triple). My only qualm with the hotel is the room temperature. It was SO warm and we were not able to control the temperature. The location is excellent and there are numerous good restaurants within the vicinity. If you are in Ushuaia or heading for an Antarctic cruise, this is worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charismaticxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

If you are staying here, you are probably going on an Antarctic sea trip (or variations thereof). This is a good place to stay. It is central, close to the dock, has comfortable rooms with all the basics, breakfast was ok, plumbing worked, staff were friendly - what more can I say. Our room was at the cheaper end of the scale (near the gym), but it was fine for our purposes.

Other people on our ship stayed either here or at another hotel a bit out of town. I'm glad we got the better hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you are staying for a few nights, the cheaper the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, New York
Level Contributor
280 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

This hotel is in a good central location near where the cruise ships leave for Antarctica. It was also easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. However, the rooms are small and outdated. Breakfast was included but was mediocre. They have a mini bar in the room but no ice machines and they wanted to charge us for a glass of ice at the bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazzillp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed here 1 night on NYE before an Antarctica trip it has the best location, walking distance from all the museums and shops, tour offices, cafes. Furnishings were old, but comfortable, we had a quiet night (ushaia is very quiet on new years eve). Reception was helpful, and free wifi worked. Also had no problem organising a late check out so we didn't have to wander around before our cruise left at 4pm. Only glitch is brekfast room is a real scrum when the hotel was full, you need to allow extra time as the staff struggle to keep the serving plates full.

Room Tip: Try for the end room on a hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

From the reviews that I read on Tripadvisor I did not have high expectations of this hotel, it is outdated but it is clean. I spent one night there. It is very centrally located and it was the meeting spot for pick up for the Antarctic expedition. The walls are paper thin and the non smoking restriction is not enforced, the smell of smoke is very strong, but there are large windows to let in fresh air. Continental breakfast is included in the price - don't wait around to be seated - just walk in and help yourself.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.2 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#8 of 55 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#14 of 55 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#13 of 55 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Canal Beagle Hotel
Canal Beagle Hotel
#10 of 55 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.9 mi away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Lengas
Hotel Las Lengas
#19 of 55 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albatros

Property: Hotel Albatros
Address: Calle Maipu 505, Ushuaia V9410BJK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albatros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic 4 star hotel in Ushuaia center, in front of its port.Comfortable rooms, exquisit meals at our restaurant and an excelent spa service makes the Hotel Albatros the perfect accommodation option at the southernmost city of the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing