We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wunderfull stay at Mysten Kepen B&B”
Review of Mysten Kepen B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mysten Kepen B&B
Ranked #2 of 47 Ushuaia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wunderfull stay at Mysten Kepen B&B”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were really surprised about all services the hosts offered to us. The hosts were also extremely friendly and we had a pleasant stay for 3 nights.

First of all, they picked us up at the airport. Already on the way to the B&B, we got almost all the important information about the area. Once we were there, we got a new, very clean and comfortable room with private bath. The rooms (the size two back-packers need) are located in their own house, i.e. you enter the same door as the owner and you cross his living room and his kitchen. Everything is very new and spotless clean.

A pretty good breakfast was also included. We were even offered to use their kitchen for cooking ourselves, but we did not do it.

Additionally, the hosts knew everything about the area and had many information at their hands. That way, we could organized very easy day trips. They would even organized it for us. Since we are generally very suspicious about these offers, we stuck to our habit and organized it ourselves by going directly to the agencies. In retrospective, I would not hesitate anymore and let the hosts book it for us. It would have turned out at least as good as our organization.

One thing about the location: at the time when we were there, google-maps did not show the correct location. It is 10 minutes by walk uphill from the main street away. The neighborhood also seemed safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShermanShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
177
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had mixed feelings about this spot simply because the reviews on TripAdvisor did not give a clear picture of what this place would be like. I think most people are touched by this extremely kind and friendly family that they refrain from giving the full picture. So, I want to give the most accurate account I can.

What to expect: To be honest, I don't think that calling this a B&B is quite right because it is much more integrated into the home of a very, very kind and friendly family. It is situated in a residential neighborhood that is a couple of blocks away from the shopping and restaurant part of town. It is possible to walk to town in about 5 or 10 minutes. When you enter the home, you enter through the living room where the family gathers to watch TV, plays video games, etc. You then go through the kitchen which is like the kitchen you'd find in your neighbor's house. The family eats in the kitchen as do the guests. You also really need to speak some Spanish because they do not speak or understand English.

Room: We had a private room with a private bathroom as well. The room is clean. I mean that it is absolutely spotless. I don't believe we stayed anywhere, ever, that reached this standard of cleanliness. The room was quite small and was not luxurious. But, it was good enough. The one annoyance was that the neighbor's dog barked a lot. So, I'd recommend earplugs.

Service: The family is kind and serious about making the stay of their guests enjoyable. They picked us up at the airport and dropped us off as well. They gave us all sorts of advice on where to go, where to get good deals, etc. Also, they even dropped us off where we needed to go to catch a boat trip. This is definitely above and beyond what you find elsewhere.

Was this the best B&B we ever stayed? It is not a B&B in my opinion so this is not applicable. It is like comparing apples and pears.

Was it a good place to stay? If you are up for staying in a private room within a family home, it is a great option. Think of it as a family that modified their home to accommodate paying guests that want private rooms. Did I mention they are kind, sweet people? If you didn't get that, I'll say it again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LivingLife2Fullest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Rosario and her son picked me up at the airport and took me to their comfortable home in the northern part of Ushuaia. I was only there for one night on my way to Antarctica but I felt like part of the family with hugs and kisses from Rosario and Roberto on my departure. Lovely people. My room was very comfortable and the bathroom modern and with all the comforts and style typical of Argentina (a great place!). Food was excellent and I was made to feel like one of the family. They had plenty of information about their city and so I treked up to the Martial Glacier the next morning (my ship left at 4pm). A long walk (with rain) but great country and a tremendous view. On return, Rosario revived me with tea and Roberto drove me to my ship. Their nice house is only a few blocks from the city centre and walking is strongly recommended (they have good taxis also) as the buildings are great...more Bavarian than South American and the people are great. The main street for shops and food is the Av. San Martin and the Banana Cafe is great for lunch ("hamburgers" are fresh and huge and their juices are great..ask for Hugo con Leche for a great fruit-milk drink)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We found staying at Mysten Kepen a satisfying experience. This from the viewpoint of middle aged couple and a couple in their 20's. Roberto and Rosario seem to find pleasure in making your stay in Ushuaia as satisfying as possible. Here you get good honest recommendations regarding the sites and activities in the area. Also they were always ready to help in the understanding of the Argentine/Ushuaia customs and ways of life. If you are private person who likes to keep to yourself, I am sure they would oblige. But we took full advantage of the situation and conversed with them during much of our idle time with them. They are very busy people who take pride the cleanliness of their B&B, and yet they happy to help with any questions you may have. There is no better way to experience Ushuaia than living along side Roberto, Rosario and their very understanding children. Roberto and Rosario speak only Spanish, so if you are looking to brush up on your Spanish, here is your opportunity. We also used Google translate when we had trouble understanding each other. Please note the rooms are a little on the small side, so if you have several large pieces of luggage space will be tight. The location is a couple of blocks north of that shown on the Tripadviser map. Although Roberto was willing to drive us when he was available, the walk to the main downtown area, gave us more opportunity to experience Ushuaia.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmillham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

In October 2011, we stayed several nights with Rosario and Roberto. Our room was very nice, and everything very very clean, including the bathroom (which we shared with the family). They were very helpful, Roberto waited for us at the airport and at the end of our stay gave us a lift to the port. If you want to book a trip, they have a lot of information and do the inquiries for you by phone. One night, they made a traditional argentinian asado for us. We cooked several times in their fully equipped kitchen. We absolutely recommend staying with Rosario and Roberto!
Isabel and Tobias, Germany

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Yeah hard to say anything negative about this b and b. Very helpful and friendly owner/family. Very nice breakfast too.We really enjoyed our stay - would recommend

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My fiance and I spent 5 nights at Mysten Kepen in March and we absolutely loved it! The owners, Roberto and Rosario made us feel like we were part of their family. Roberto picked us up at the airport and offered us some breakfast as soon as we arrived. The room we stayed in was cosy, clean and very comfortable. We booked a room with a shared bathroom, and the bathroom was always spotlessly clean. The price of the room included a delicious breakfast consisting of cereal, fresh pastries and cookies, toast with butter and jelly, coffee, tea, and juice. The owners especially enjoyed serving a delicious Calafate (local berry) jam made fresh by one of their neighbors. There were free snacks (cookies, fresh fruit) and coffee/tea available all day.

Roberto had great ideas for things to do in Ushuaia. One morning he drove us to the start of a hike and charged us a lot less than a taxi would have charged. We ended up having to stay an extra night but our room was already booked. They upgraded us to a room with a private bathroom and did not charge us extra.

Of all the B&Bs we looked into, this one had the lowest price by a lot. We would highly recommend staying here! We are writing this review four months later, and we can still remember so many great things about this place. It was our favorite place as we traveled through South America for seven months, and we can honestly say that we miss the owners.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdnguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
0.5 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#8 of 53 in Ushuaia
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#14 of 53 in Ushuaia
675 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Las Lengas
Hotel Las Lengas
#19 of 53 in Ushuaia
521 reviews
1.9 mi away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mysten Kepen B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mysten Kepen B&B

Property: Mysten Kepen B&B
Address: Bernardino Rivadavia 826, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mysten Kepen B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing