We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...”
Review of Kalma Resto

Kalma Resto
Ranked #4 of 155 Restaurants in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Signature cuisine in the End of the World.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We were very excited by several of the reviews we read here and went to Kalma yesterday, despite some warnings from locals. The place is small but nice and Jorge, the chef/owner, appears to run it efficiently. The appetizers were good but the (four) main courses were sadly way below expectations!

Helpful?
1 Thank JGTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    127
    53
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, great chef/owner”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Kalma Resto is set in a nondescript building on the outskirts of downtown Ushuaia, so you wouldn't necessarily expect it to be one of the best restaurants in town, but it is. The food is good, but the exuberance and attentiveness of the chef/owner/maître d' /sommelier/waiter/busser Jorge made the visit memorable. The pasta dish I had was excellent, but half of our group had the paella, which they deemed to be average, not great. The special touches Jorge lends to the experience, however, put this restaurant at the top of the list for some of our group. Kalma Resto definitely deserves a visit if you're in Ushuaia for a few nights or more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprise at the end of the world”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

You wouldn't necessarily pick the restaurant by looking in the window. However if you are looking for the surprise of a chef trained at a Michelin 3 Star restaurant in Spain, featuring great presentation, personal attention, and all at a very reasonable price, go to Kalma. Visting with Jorge was a pleasure. Deserts were unusually good too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a personal touch of the chef”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The day before we went on our trip tothe Antarctic peninsula with the m/v Plancius of Oceanwide Expeditions we planned toeat at Kalma. Unfortunally it was closed that day. After we returned today (13th december) we decided to have another go on this restaurant. And that we know :-) The food was excellent and all from nearby places, some even from Jorges own garden. We ate a delicious preared King Crab and Black Hage and a salad with camenbert. The desert was as good as it was weird to me. Chocolota, ice and olive oil, if you're there trie and have some while talking to the chef in this superb restaurant which will not aim for a Michelin star but in Holland the certainly would deserve one!

Helpful?
1 Thank Martijn en Jess... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“don't miss. Creative food and great lomo de cordero fueguino”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were at Kalma by the end of October. Jorge is really nice and a great chef. The homemade bread is amazing as well as the lomo de cordero fueguino - a regional lamb but served in a very unique way, juicy and fatless. All the dishes were well explained and absolutely creative. The tasters between courses are incredible. Regional dishes like centolla very well cooked and served. Short but impecable list of wine, which increases the bill, but how not to have a great Argentinean wine to match a great meal? Don't miss the desserts. At the end of the meal, Jorge took us to the kitchen to meet his small staff. A very nice and well appreciated way of managing people.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nora2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalma Resto also viewed

Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 

Been to Kalma Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing