We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aijpel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 48 Ushuaia B&B and Inns
Drammen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More than just a room”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Fernando picked us up from the airport and from the moment we arrived and got welcomed by Susanna we felt home. They are really helpful and provide all kind of information. We could use the kitchen and the breakfast was good with homemade cake. Susanna is a kind person, not only to the guests but also to the street-dogs and wild birds, feeding them and kind of adopting them. We had a really good time there. The fact that it is a 10 min walk from town does not matter at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arns30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

very rarely have i stayed in a place so downright lovely. susanna and fernando are super nice people and regularly went out of their way to make me feel totally at home and part of the family. the place is a little way out of town (a nice 10 minute walk) and is completely silent at night, i slept like a log. i will definitely come back here again when i visit ushuaia next time. 10/10.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The nicest place you could stay We arrived at 2am after a horrendous 36-hour bus journey and Susanna was waiting up for us. It's a family-run b&b so it's much more homely than a hostel, we felt really safe. It's spotlessly clean and warm, and they have Earl Grey tea! We took the 6am bus out of Ushuaia and Susanna got up at 430am to make us breakfast (cheese toasties, cakes, tea and yoghurt). I couldn't imagine a nicer place to stay. Thanks Susanna!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The owners of this B&B are very kind. They picked us up from the busstation and in the morning brought us to the harbour. They also gave us advise about excursions and restaurants. Because we arrived late in the evening it was very convenient that we could book our excursion at the B&B.
We had a nice room at the first floor with a small but clean and efficient bathroom. Wifi worked in our room and they also have a computer you can use. Breakfast includes toast, croissants, coffee/tea, juice and yoghurt.
The B&B is about 4 blocks away from the centre (sightly downhill).
We found this a very comfortable B&B with very kind owners.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelloMister4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

As others have mentioned, this is a true B&B. I had a lovely room in the family's home, and the decor was homey and cozy. However, the location is in a quiet, residential neighborhood that's a bit of a walk from the town center. Walking downhill towards town took 20-30 minutes, but I opted to hire a taxi to head back after dinner, and the owners were happy to drive me back to the airport at the end of my stay.

The hosts were helpful, but friendly conversation suffered from the language barrier. Spanish is not among my language repertoire, and the email dialog in making the reservation owed much to Google translate (my mails were all in English; their replies all in Spanish). We made do, but it definitely put a damper on anything beyond the most essential communication!

This was the third place that I stayed in Ushuaia, and as a solo traveler, I definitely enjoyed being closer to the city center. The room here was definitely the most pleasant, so I probably would have preferred it more on a couple trip, enjoying the cozy room and having someone to chat with on the walk to/from town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaisatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a B&B in the traditional sense - the downstairs rooms are literally right next to the family living room. Luckily, this is not a problem in the evenings, as the host couple is very quiet and goes to bed early. However, during the day when I tried to catch a quick nap, that didn't work because of their niece coming over to play - fair enough, that's why it's B&B. The hosts were in general very friendly, but make sure you have a phrase book with you as their English is quite patchy. We had one of the downstairs bedrooms which meant we had to share a spacious bathroom with another room, which is always a little awkward. The bathroom itself was nice though, with a good hot shower. The upstairs bedroom seemed to have an ensuite.
The room itself was small and very basic (no TV, but good Wifi). The beds were somewhat comfy.
One of the more negative points was the breakfast. We stayed for 3 nights, and every day, it was exactly the same. We also believe that some of the breakfast rolls might have been the same over the 3 breakfast, as they became quite dry in the end. Another part of our travel group was lodged at a different B&B and we were always very jealous when we heard what their hosts had come up with for dinner.
Getting into the two main streets of Ushuaia is a 10-15 minute walk down a hill. It's not very far, but also not so close that you could get home quickly after a dinner. I guess being somewhat away from the centre makes accommodation a bit more affordable.

Don't get me wrong: I'm giving this 3 stars because it's an average B&B. It's not particularly good or bad, it has a few positives and a few negatives. You will have a nice stay, but I'm sure there are also better places out there.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ensuite, just so much easier and less awkward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

It´s a family run bed&breakfast with owners that go out of their way to make sure you have a good stay in Ushuaia. The only thing is that it's located in a residential area of the town, not a tourist area. But it´s a short and absolutely safe way down to the city - or else, the owners will book you a cab - really inexpensive (around 13 Pesos in February 2012), so that´s not really a problem. Well kept, clean (I'm allergic and had no problems at all), delicious breakfast and a friendly and warm atmosphere. I would definitely recommend the place to any friends and family of mine going to Ushuaia, as I would most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandre_bustamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.5 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Ushuaia
689 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cap Polonio
Hotel Cap Polonio
#12 of 52 in Ushuaia
867 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#11 of 52 in Ushuaia
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#7 of 52 in Ushuaia
704 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aijpel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aijpel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Aijpel Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calle Vicente Lisardo Canga No. 1837, Ushuaia V9410AQE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aijpel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing