We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this one!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteria y Restaurante America

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hosteria y Restaurante America
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Avoid this one!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our room was extremely small and pokey and the minimal storage space was virtually inaccessible. The bathroom was small but adequate. Outside the window were the tops of ventilation chimneys churning out recycled hot air.
We arrived in the evening to be told that the restaurant wasn’t open as it was a holiday. We were directed to a restaurant in the town which we were told was 3 minutes walk away but turned out to be 20 minutes in the biting cold winds of Ushuaia.
The photos used on the internet to “sell” this hotel give a better impression than the reality. We cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel nearer the centre of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindria42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hosteria_America, Propietario at Hosteria y Restaurante America, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
We appreciate your review for tripadvisor, we regret that your stay was not pleasant, your room is 3 x 4 meters in area, and has two closets (one for ladies and one for gentlemen) with two drawers each, also has 2 spaces of 1 cubic meter to place all the equipment you want, which enters enough for a stay of 6 nights. Also the room had a king size bed and one single bed. We are just one block from the center, any passenger who enters into google maps can see all the shops / restaurants / etc that are just a few meters from our hotel.
However, their criticism helps us improve our services and will be taken into account to make the changes necessary for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. We wish we have them again as customers to see our changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    65
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
42
75
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

I had to take this as all other were full. Got the worst possible room, next to the reception, where I could here everything happening late at night and early in the morning. I also could hear the couple in the next room very well....
Extremely overpriced at 120 dollar.
Staff friendly and helpful though

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mb10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

The accommodation was excellent for us. We called a day before and the reception guy spoke English, what is not usual in Argentina. The staff helped us also with information about excursions. It was a really pleasant stay in a nice room with a great view. And this after a terrible stay in a Puerto Madryn hostel. We can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnoukS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had to call the police and could never stay in this hotel! we had a proper and confirmed reservation for 3 nights made on the internet but at arrival (10pm!), the owner told us that there was a problem: there was not a room for us but we had to change room every night! He did not let us stay just for 1 night (it was very late), he said that we could either stay the 3 nights (changing room every day) or leave. As we were trying to insist because we had a proper reservation accepted by the hotel, he said to us to go away! so we had to call the police and only then he booked another hotel for us (a miserable one, we found out later on!). When leaving he shouted that we should not go to Argentina!!!
They don't deserve to have hosts!!!! how can they live without tourists?!?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonima11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

I was unsure about booking at this hosteria due to the lack of reviews on trip advisor. But, we could not get into the Austral on the dates we needed and they suggested we try hotel America. I was pleasantly surprised with our stay. Ushuia is a very expensive town. For the money spent, i think this place was a good value. First of all the staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us with iphone internet connection and when it would not work in the room , the owner let us use his personal laptop since someone was on the one provided for hotel guests. I was allergic to the down blanket and they got me a different one. They were just friendly when you were around. We were on the second floor and the view of the Beagle channel was amazing. . Let me be clear, this is not a fancy place. But considering most hotels cost around $150 and above, Hosteria America for around $90 - 100 was pretty good. The rooms were cute and clean, the view was good, the walk to the start of town was only 5 minutes and the staff was helpful. The bed was a little on the soft side but i slept well. I was in room 302 and besides the incredible view from my bedroom window, I could see the Beagle Channel when i took a shower due to the windows being frosted only part way up. I loved it! The negatives would be, the breakfast was pretty lame, and there were some scuff marks on the walls, there was some weird things like the table was connected to the wall so you could not move the curtains correctly. You could hear traffic at night but if you stay on the main street it would be way worse. So, i hope this helps anyone worried that this hotel might be a dump. Its not close to a 5 star so if you are a picky and spoiled traveler this is not for you. But if you can handle some minor flaws this place is pretty simple , cute, clean and a good location with a great price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdict35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
399 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

All the tours book out of the port at the center of the town. This hotel is a 20 minute walk to that area. (Uphill return) The view was good, room was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was stingy - and slow. Nothing to do near the hotel.

  • Liked — Average
  • Disliked — Too far from town
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Lengas
Hotel Las Lengas
#19 of 54 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#13 of 54 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#9 of 54 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ushuaia
Hotel Ushuaia
#38 of 54 in Ushuaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Les Eclaireurs
Hosteria Les Eclaireurs
#29 of 54 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Brescia Hotel
Villa Brescia Hotel
#18 of 54 in Ushuaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria y Restaurante America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria y Restaurante America

Property: Hosteria y Restaurante America
Address: Gobernador Paz 1665, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria y Restaurante America 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hosteria America is one block from the center of the city. With new standards, suites and penthouse rooms with view to the canal The Beagle, served by its owners Hosteria America is the best option for the traveler, with the best attention and trust. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hosteria y Restaurante America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing