We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt like the Centollas”

Tia Elvira Restaurante
Ranked #28 of 150 Restaurants in Ushuaia
Price range: $8 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Didnt like the Centollas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We order to expensive dish Centollas (King Crab) but it came with a very thin sauce.. evryone was complaining of it.. not sure if its like this or what.. but it wasnt good..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    355
    163
    57
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We ate there twice and had all the crab dishes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We love crab so we decided to give this a try our first afternoon in Ushuaia. We had the crab in garlic, in tomatoes with garlic, cold etc We found the dishes very good! Lunch of crab with accompanying wine started our vacation in Ushuaia off well.....so well that the next day we returned. We loved the atmosphere and we found the service quite good- the first day they did not have a wine we wanted and when we returned the waitress remembered it and told us they had it available. We ordered crab dishes again- this time I ordered a plain side of spaghetti and topped it with my crab provencal -awesome! We also tried the mussels which were also fresh and very well done! We will miss the crab when we leave!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaUNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The test: we went twice in 4 days!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The food is excellent, the service is also very good. You can have sea food, the famous king crab (centolla), plus the simple and delicious food of these places.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
788 reviews
446 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Nice lunchtime venue. Packed!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

German owned and influenced. Delicious, warming big bowls of stock based soups and delicious crab done either cold or in a number of hot dishes. The place was completely full so either book or get there early. For lunch rather than nighttime although if something not too special is wanted, night-time would be fine. Mix of locals and tourists. Near the port.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
220 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food, location, service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Ate at four different restaurants in Ushuaia and for price and quality this was our favorite. The king crab with roquefort was really good. Good wine list and service. Quite popular and on the waterfront so allow time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PierreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tia Elvira Restaurante also viewed

Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 

Been to Tia Elvira Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing