We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Retamas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 48 Ushuaia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Las Retamas. The room was great, and our host, Monica, was delightful. She sat us down on the first day and showed us everything to do in the city, including prices for all the tours and buses. Breakfast was delicious every morning.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tghw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Las Retamas Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 82 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Monika gave us a very warm welcome, gave us a map and marked many locations on the map. Restarants, sport shops, supermarket, museums etc. The rooms and bathrooms have been recently renovated. The rooms are cozy, very clean and warm. The beds are great. Monika's breakfast is really good. When we were there she even had something extra on some mornings that she had made herself. Really good.
She does not speak that much english and we speak even less spanish, but that was never a problem. The understanding is always good. With some people everything just works out.
The short walk down to the main street we walked every time. The walk up is really not long - if I emember right about 40 vertical metres. Up we took a taxi a couple of times when it was raining. In a taxi the distance is very short. The location is not an issue at all. It is very near the centre.
Monika and the family, thanks again for your hospitality and friendliness.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keimo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

stayed for 2 busy days in Ushuaia, would stay much more if i knew how wonderful is this place.
the owner Monica, is ann amazing person, would help you with anything you want.
amazing delicious breakfast includes- hot drinkes, juice, cakes, croissants, different home made breads, omelet by choice, cheese, ham and more. all best quality and super delicious.
the tours and restaurants that Monica recommended us where the best in the city.
very beautiful room, very comfortable bed , warm and nice. bathroom was also great.
would come back to this place!
if you go to Ushuaia you should stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maaianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

It's a great place to stay in Ushuaia. Madam Monica is really cheerful and helpful as well as her daughters. The rooms are clean, new and cosy. The bathroom also is really clean. The breakfast was great also. As she said: we never lock the door because there is no crime in Ushuaia. Just 10-15 minutes from the center, out of the tourist places. Recommend it!

Room Tip: near by the bathroom is the best choice :) But the floor is not so big so any room is OK.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HristoIvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were in the process of being renovated while we were staying. Our room a double with ensuite was brand new! The bed was so comfy, plenty of storage for our bags and unpacked items, large flat screen tv. The ensuite, shower hot and powerful great. Feels like being at home.

Location is good about a 10 min walk to the main street in Ushuaia. Quite area. The wifi was good and speedy. Plus the breakfast had good options, coffee, juice, yoghurt, toast, cereal, cake ect. The house was nice and warm which was definitely needed even in Spring. Overall Ushuaia is an expensive place to stay so this is a reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Monica is the consummate host and a treasure. Her breakfasts are literally the best we've had in Argentina and absolutely delicious. Many of her guests speak english only, but we've really enjoyed our chats with her in spanish (necessitamos practicar!). It is a little bit of a walk from town, but once you know the route through the park/redondo, it will feel like no time at all (and a cab seems to run $3USD if you can't face the hill).

Most of all, her knowledge of the town, tours details and wine suggestions is something you must tap to fully appreciate this beautiful town at the end of the world.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here during a trip through Patagonia and thought it was great. The room was nice, plenty of storage and a TV, and always warm. Monica was super helpful explaining to us all the different tours and touristy things we could spend our days doing. I only speak basic Spanish so she was happy to try and explain things simply and great at answering questions and helping us plan our days. She even let me borrow gloves and a rain jacket! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwpaul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.7 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
0.4 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Ushuaia
704 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cap Polonio
Hotel Cap Polonio
#12 of 51 in Ushuaia
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#8 of 51 in Ushuaia
710 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Acebos Ushuaia Hotel
1.3 mi away
La Posta Hostel
La Posta Hostel
#2 of 56 in Ushuaia
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Retamas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Retamas Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle Hernando de Magallanes 1780, Ushuaia V9410ANJ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ushuaia
Price Range: $71 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Las Retamas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing