We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, but the view from the breakfast room is amazing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alto Andino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alto Andino Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average hotel, but the view from the breakfast room is amazing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

If I could rate the breakfast room separately, I would rate it as excellent! Absolutely amazing view. The rest of the hotel is fine but nothing special. The location is good. Service wasn't great, it was a shock actually after some of the other places we stayed at in Argentina.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    294
    67
    23
    14
See reviews for
170
336
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We only stayed here for one night. The room we had was quite spacious and comfortable. The shower was fantastic, the room was warm and our room had a great view of the mountain range. The bed was large and comfortable and it was good to just sit back and relax for the first time on our trip. The view from the breakfast floor was amazing with one side looking out over the city and the beagle channel and the other side looking out to the mountain range. The service from the front desk was lacking though, with the girl at the desk seeming very disinterested. The location was very good, just a couple of blocks up the hill from the main street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deefa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hotel is well located close to the main streets of Ushuaia and local restaurants/shops. Breakfast was excellent and served in the top floor restaurant with superb panoramic views of Ushuaia - bring your camera. Our only complaint was our room - we were put in a double room on the ground floor directly behind the reception desk (there are two rooms here). Due to the proximity to the front desk, it was incredibly noisy with phones ringing and people talking at all hours of the day. The room itself was well appointed and clean (although did have a strange smell). Reception staff were helpful for the most part, but at times appeared to be busy surfing the Internet rather than assisting guests.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nexus292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Generally a nice hotel and really the view from the restaurant on the top floor is definitly impressive.

On booking - never been in Ushuaia before - we thought - most southern town, space within the town shouldnt be an issue. Well this is not the case and on the lower floors of the hotel there are rooms with no view to the scenery and the beagle canal, u simply see another hotel which was built some meters away.

Read carefully the description regarding the size of the rooms, 21 m² are categorized as a suite.

We had a 3 day stay there - and after claiming that we did not want to see some kind of emegency exit of the neighbourhood hotel we got a room on the 3rd floor which was ok.

Receiption desk, nice and friendly staff, we wanted to see the manager to sort out some "questions" which were bejond the level receiption was allowed to handle - no chance.

Room Tip: Top floors and request that u get a room with a view to the Beagle canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Others have commented on how beautiful the views from this hotel are and I couldn't agree more. The view from the dining room at sunrise (on a clear day) is breathtaking. We were also lucky to have been given a room with a similar view. The hotel is clean, modern, and the complimentary breakfast is one of the better breakfasts I've encountered at a hotel in Argentina. We stayed for 3 nights and the only issue I would note is that we had some issues with temperature control in the room, which was fixed by opening the window (luckily it's so cold in Ushuaia that mosquitos are not a concern). The hotel is within 5-10 minutes walking distance of everything you need.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay on the 3rd floor, if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregoryfishki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent the first night in another hotel which was awful so checked out and moved to Alto Andino for 3 nights thereafter.What a difference!! Service was fantastic, rooms were large, modern, comfortable and clean and the restaurant food and service excellent. If in Ushuaia this is a well located hotel about one or two roads away from the main shopping street (and accompanying noise). Close enough to be convenient, far away enough to be restful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffin257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located with stunning views of the harbour and the mountains and the dining room has a panoramic view of the harbour. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only minor thing is the knob in the toilet was very hard to press.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 330epping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
1.6 mi away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
3.5 mi away
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#13 of 55 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#14 of 55 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Andino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Andino Hotel

Property: Alto Andino Hotel
Address: Gobernador Paz 868, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alto Andino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Andino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing