We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Patagonia
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rio Gallegos
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Decor is great. Rooms very clean and a great star to av adventure. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is right downtown near some great restaurants ( see The British Club). A great place at a good price

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynDanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    97
    60
    13
    0
See reviews for
35
48
8
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was a bit nervous about booking this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. Modern, clean, not overly generous but decent sized rooms. It looked like it had been recently renovated. The first room I was assigned had three twin beds instead of a double bed, but the hotel staff changed it promptly. My main complaint was having to argue to get the price quoted by booking.com.

The town of Rio Gallegos is horrendous: broken sidewalks and garbage and graffiti everywhere. The hotel felt like an oasis of civilization.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athena222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The room itself was not bad after all (thank god given that we paid us$113) but the bathroom was extremely smelly and its door had to be closed at all times in order not to think to be close to a dump.
The lifts of this hotel are a joke (warehouse style lifts) and extremely dangerous too: I opened the door of the lift as I thought it was arrived but it wasn't: as a result I could have fallen down - I am sure this issue would shut the hotel for safety reasons in another country.
Service was cold too, the receptionist saw our passports but didn't even bother to try and talk in English to us. Lucky for him I can speak a bit of Spanish otherwise I would be still there wandering what he was talking about. Also, he didn't smile.
One good thing: free wifi that worked very well.
The price paid for the room was, like I said, 113 us dollars which is too high given the aforementioned experiences. I am happy not to recommend this hotel and urge families with children to avoid it because of the lifts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GioinoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed here one night on a business trip. The hotel is very modern looking. There are a few issues though - air conditioning is central so there is no way to adjust your tempature of your room. I found my room stuffy - you could open the window but then the street noises came in. You also could here the TV in the room next to yours perfectly, which is not the way I want to be woken up at 2 am when someone comes back to their room and turns on the TV. I also had a twin room - the beds were singles and really not sure how a larger person could sleep comfortably in - i am not very tall and thought I would fall out. Although the bed and pillows were comfortable. They do have a nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Western70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after being stranded by airline delays and were very tired and stressed. The staff were amazing, they did everything possible to help us. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_Mark_and_Hansel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

Hotel was good, comfortable and modern, dinner was VERY DISAPPOINTED!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdo_de_muc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio Gallegos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aire de Patagonia
Hotel Aire de Patagonia
#3 of 7 in Rio Gallegos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Austral
Apart Hotel Austral
#2 of 7 in Rio Gallegos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amerian Rio Gallegos Apart & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sehuen
Hotel Sehuen
#5 of 7 in Rio Gallegos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#4 of 7 in Rio Gallegos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Liporaci
Hotel Liporaci
#7 of 7 in Rio Gallegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patagonia

Property: Hotel Patagonia
Address: Calle Mons Jose Fagnano 54, Rio Gallegos Z9400MRD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > Rio Gallegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rio Gallegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patagonia at Rio Gallegos, hospitality and comfort. Opened up in the year 2008 the Hotel Patagonia is located on the main commercial and financial center of Rio Gallegos city, capital of the province of Santa Cruz, Argentina.Concieved by the members of Guatti Girometti family, creators of Hotel Posada Los Alamos, the only five stars hotel located on El Calafate, the "Patagonia" was designed as and executive, urban and modern hotel.For its privileged location, is the best environment to organizate meeting or corporative events without missing the chance to spend an excellent season of tourism and relax.85 rooms and suites, decorated with a modern and functional style.The Patagonia has main halls: restaurante, coffee shop, fitness room, spa, private parking and conventions rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Patagonia Rio Gallegos, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing