We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Cantera Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Quick over night stay on our transit between Argentina and Chilean Patagonia. Room was very comfortable (~10-15 min walk from bus station and downtown area). Good recommendations and they picked us up after dinner to bring us back to the hotel. Clean rooms with great showers and comfortable beds. Very quiet - we didn't hear anyone else! Breakfast was fantastic buffet with hot and cold options and even bubbly! Service was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at La Cantera for 2 nights and found the service excellent together with the rooms. We booked a Superior Double Room which had very comfortable arm chairs where we could sit and look out the window with a great view over the lake.

We requested a late check-out due to a late flight and this was accommodated.

We had read the great reviews of the restaurant so we ate there both nights and although the food was OK we would not say it was as good as the reviews we had read. They seem to only offer a 3 course set menu for dinner but on our second night we just ordered soup and rolls through room service.

We walked to and from town which took about 15 minutes.

Would stay there again should we visit El Calafate again.

Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful little hotel. Good breakfast, lot of sweet treats. Excellent service. It is near the main street, not very close but good enough.
If you buy the lunch box to take it to the excursions, keep in mind the sandwich is kind of small and for us it was not enough, you should take a few snacks extra. I would come back for sure

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ximena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
571 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were only in El Calafate for two days and picked this hotel due to the great reviews and the reasonable price. We were booked in for the mountain view room. We arrived way before check in, but that was no problem. We were promptly checked into our room. I was surprised to see that our room had a partial view of the lake, I was so pleased! They name their rooms after the glaciers and we stayed in Upsala (in my opinion the most spectacular glacier!). The room was nice and cosy and immediately felt at home. The hotel staff were very professional and we were given a quick guide to our room. Complementary water was provided by the hotel as we were advised that the tap water was not drinkable. The hotel has all the facilities you may need. They even book tours to see the glaciers, we had already booked our tour so I cannot comment on their services. The main street is only a ten minute walk away, it is uphill on the way back. If you don't fancy the walk the hotel provided a free shuttle service from 20:00 to 24:00. This was a lovely touch. We however walked despite my fear of dogs! (trust me el calafate has it's fair share of stray dogs!). The breakfast is served from 06:00 to 10:00 which is great as most tours leave at about 07:00, so you can fill up. The hotel also provide a packed lunch service for your trips. The breakfast was wonderful, a great selection. I have a sweet tooth so the home made cakes were a welcome treat!!! My two criticisms are, firstly you had to let the water in the shower run for a fair while for the hot water to come. Secondly, during breakfast I felt "under the microscope" I didn't feel relaxed as the staff are constantly present and watching you. Apart from that I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saintlysinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our accommodation at La Cantera at El Calafate certainly exceeded our expectations. The lake and mountain views were stunning, especially at sunrise /sunset. Our room was spacious with plenty of room to unpack, relax and at times just be messy. As others have mentioned staff efficiently booked tours and were very helpful. The breakfast was excellent, foods included fruit (fresh, dried and cut fruit salad) juice, cereals, variety of eggs dishes, freshly baked breads and pastries. We did enjoy the lemon pie too, whilst not something we would normally have for breakfast, we were on holidays so why not?
The most enjoyable part though was our evening meals. Chef, Augustine, planned various appetizers, entrees, mains and desserts that were simply superb. After the first evening, we actually had dinner each evening (4) in the hotel which we have never done before on our holidays. It was enjoyable to taste chef's modern flavours and traditional regional dishes. He also very quickly realised the type of wines we enjoyed and made excellent suggestions. Loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms with lake views in the main building on the end were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allison2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last October and found the staff very friendly and willing to help out in any way to make our stay pleasant. The manager even arranged to book and pick up the tickets for the glacier cruise of our choice, which saved us considerable time. The breakfasts are very good.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable with views across the lake, town and the Andes. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DansTigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights in El Calafate, wished could have stayed longer to extend the stay at La Cantera. Service was perfect, Giorgina in particular made our stay soo easy, smooth and hassle free that made us happy to be there. Recommendations for excursions were right, breakfast was very good (ask my gf for the homemade cakes), room big and clean. Location was not a big issue as per other reviews: most of the tours come to pick you-up, car service is provided for free between 20-24h and when not available they even refund your taxi bills! Walls are a bit thin, so depending on your neighbors, it might get a bit noisy.Two thumbs up for a great hotel and a great staff. Well done!

Room Tip: Superior: not big difference but Jacuzzi in the room is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplendor El Calafate
Esplendor El Calafate
#26 of 71 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#16 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
1.5 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#2 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#14 of 71 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
#17 of 71 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
0.9 mi away
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit
#1 of 71 in El Calafate
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the amazing environment of Argentine Patagonia and its Glaciers, La Cantera Boutique Hotel Calafate is built on the top of the city, ensuring a seamless perspective and having access to both the city's shopping center and any attraction you may want to visit. Inaugurated in 2004, it was the first Patagonian Boutique hotel in the area. The building was thought to provide such a cozy feeling that our guests can intermingle with the environment without isolating themselves from it. Let us guide you along the Hotel, we want to provide you with hospitality and an exclusive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your La Cantera Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera El Calafate
La Cantera Boutique Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing